We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Nearby Hotels
Ponmari Residencyy(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Flora Amberley Resort(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Treebo Yantra Leisures(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
King's Cliff(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sherlock Hotel(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gem Park-Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount 'n' Mist(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveller rating
511
397
132
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
397
132
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmchef josephom prakashheritage propertyevery eveninghot water bottlesbritish erasuperior roomdining hallgarden viewthe cottageswooden flooringhill stationfamily vacationtoy trainbon firemain building
Filter
Updating list...
754 - 759 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a team offsite at Taj Savoy and it was a memorable occasion. Visiting pristine and clean Ooty in December enjoying the winter was a great experience. Taj Savoy is within the city, close to Charing Cross. But the disadvantage is we were forced to eat only at Taj since there are no good restaurants outside near it or generally in Ooty town. Othrewise, the British style of cottages, the staff, the landscaping were all wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramachandran_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your experience at The Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor and for appreciating our hotel.

The team & I are delighted to read a positive review of our product,food & facilities.

Thank you once again for your recognition & we hope to have the pleasure of your continued patronage to our hotel.

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

An interesting hotel with an amazing history. Staff are welcoming and very helpful. There was a great choice of dishes on their menu and the food was very good. The gardens are well kept and a nice place to walk and relax. It was quite cold when we stayed and a great addition was a hot water bottle to warm the bed. If wanted guests can also have a log fire lit in their room. A very enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: The cottages were lovely to stay in.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest

It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us in Ooty. We thank you taking your time to give a feedback about our hotel

I am happy that you found our services excellent. The entire team is happy to get such a motivating feedback from you, which I am certain, will help us strive us for even further excellence.

I thank you once again for your time & I look forward to having you once again at bThe Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is a real treasure if it was cleaned up...oh the potential. Everything is dirty except the sheets and shower. I have stayed in many nicely maintained heritage hotels; this is not one of them. The hotel is old and so is the dirt. The food was very nice and well flavored...the food serving room was dirty. The juice containers were sticky to the touch. Even the hotel manager was in a rumpled suit of clothes. The grounds are well maintained but the outside tables and chairs were dirty. The staff was polite and attentive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterfall9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

I thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your stay. Your feedback is really important for us and I have personally shared the same with my team to ensure corrective action. We are working on the points which you have mentioned about the upkeep of the hotel

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service. Such precise feedback act as a guiding light us on the path towards guest satisfaction

I thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was the best Heritage Hotel I have been too and the best place to be on a New Year, We have enjoyed every moment in the Hotel except that the food was everyday the same except for a few changes. I would recommend the Hotel management to make changes to the Food category, apart from that everything was the Best.

Room Tip: The Suites are too expensive but worth for a Honeymoon, I would recommend for a Cottage or a Sunny Side view as a better option.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siri1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

Dear Guest,

I thank you for choosing Savoy Hotel Ooty for your stay & ushering the New Year with us.

I am happy that you found our services to your liking. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better. I have shared the feedback regarding the food with my kitchen team & try to rework the same

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is situated in nice surroundings and has a very colonial atmosphere to it. Reception was very matter-of-fact and despite the warm towel and hot toddy, it lacked the warmth and friendliness of other hotels. Our cottage was built in 1965 and was spacious with a separate dressing room and bathroom. There is no “service with a smile” culture and service was very slow. We found the hotel very run-of-the-mill.
Positive points:
There was an open fire place in the room which was lit upon request. There was also a hot water bottle service, also on request. Both services were much appreciated as it was fairly cold at night and in the early morning.
Negative points:
* There was a strong smell of drainage in the bathroom.
* You had to pay for WiFi.
* The bar was open from 11am to 11pm but there was never anybody there. We waited a good 20 minutes before anyone appeared.
* The buffet was mediocre, as was the service.
* We had the worst over-brewed cup of tea ever! Poor show for a tea producing region.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zortean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us & I do appreciate you taking time to share your recent stay with us.

I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your stay. Your feedback is very important to us. It is such feedback from guest which helps us in improving our standards. We will work upon the points which you have mentioned. It is sit is such precise & frank feedback from guests like you which help in in identifying our strengths & ironing out the weaknesses which we have.

I thank you once again for your feedback & look forward to having you back at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews