We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful heritage property, perfect getaway place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful heritage property, perfect getaway place”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Went for a quick weekend getaway and we stayed at the Savoy. Reservations through the Taj Reservation office, was quick and efficient.

Check-in/out is an odd 2pm/12pm, so it requires some juggling to do to maximise your time at the property!

Savoy is pretty centrally located, slightly more than a km from the ooty station/bus stand and an auto should be 70-80 Rs, if you don't have your own transport.

The property is gorgeous, very well maintained gardens and spaces. The main building retains the colonial structure and the art-deco lounge space and bar, brings in an interesting blend of architectures!

We stayed at 312, which was housed in a colonial style row houses with really high ceilings! It was a lovely room, with a small side extension, where a rocking chair was placed. Sadly I couldn't use it, as it was unhinged on one side.

The room itself was large, beautifully appointed with classy bird prints and a super comfy bed. The bathroom is a little wee in comparison, but with the marble and glass fixtures, was modern and classy and again a nice mix of the old and new.

Needly to say, the service through and through, was highly professional and poliete. We requested an early check in and got our room by 12pm, which was nice.

My only crib was that the food served (we had almost all meals in the two day period there), wasn't wow inducing. In fact pretty average at best, but the dining room setting is so quaint, that you are left mixed. Of the menu, the best thing we had was the brilliant spicy figs desert. Yum!

The Canterbury bar is tiny yet cute and they have this awesome rum toddy with spices, which is perfect for the evening nip.

Highly recommended for a quite, relaxing time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijaykrishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Mr.Vijaykrishna,

Greetings from Taj Savoy Ooty!!!!

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your detailed and a positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly improve our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to the chair in your room which was unhinged and you could not use it. Also we have noted your feedback about the food and we are working on improving it. Your feedback has been shared with my team to ensure corrective action.

Please do let us know whenever you travel to Ooty next, it will be pleasure to be of service to you again. Please write to us at savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    356
    114
    30
    15
See reviews for
452
320
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Old but nice property from the time of Britishers now taken over by Taj group. I have stayed in this hotel on 1 ocassions so far for 3 nights.... While some of the rooms are worn out, Overall it's an super hotel with super service and hotel staff also very nice... Enjoy Taj hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9richAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Savoy Ooty !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a positive feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services and our heritage style property are to your liking .We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Regards,

Pathyi Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The surroundings in a big garden were fine and with beautiful views to the hills. Our first room was a Little rundown but had a charming fireplace which was lit every afternoon when it got chilly. Due to some restoration we were moved to another room in a much better state of repair. The restaurant was charming in a colonial style and the menu allright. The bar and lounge area were very poor both the furnishing and the choice of drinks. Service in the restaurant and at the front desk was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aasesylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Savoy Ooty!!!!

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly improve our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to the bar and lounge area both the furnishing and the choice of drinks..we are working on the mentioned areas to improving on it. Your feedback has been shared with my team to ensure corrective action.

Please do let us know whenever you travel to Ooty next, it will be pleasure to be of service to you again. Please write to us at savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Regards,
Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Every experience of a hotel is different, this one has the colonial charm and aesthetic beauty. I really enjoy my stay at this hotel every time I go there.

The Front office Manager, "I call him the "Guest smile manager" Mr. Ansari makes sure that you have the best stay ever. You have an issue with any thing, he makes sure that it is attended and fixed "To your satisfaction". The hotel staff would make sure that you minutest need is taken care off. There is no compromise about quality and service. The hotel rooms are not modern, however are very comfortable. The Rooms are priced very well.

Room Tip: Take the Premium suite rooms. They have two bedrooms and very spacious for family stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhilbhansali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day !!!!

It is our pleasure to recieve your compliments for the hotel. Entire team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Taj Savoy, OOTY and especially loved our clean rooms and helpfulness of our associates. Ansari is an asset to our organization and he will be duly recognized for his gesture.

Your words of appreciation are highly motivating for the team. We will eagerly look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had 4 nights at the Savoy and enjoyed every minute of it. We were met and greeted my the General Manager Mr Pathyil Vibhaker and he later pointed out some of the beautiful carved doors and glass in the building. The hotel is a series of very old bungalows around well kept lawns and gardens. It started life off nearly 200 years ago as a missionary school and became the Savoy Hotel in 1841. It is being sympathetically maintained . The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and we were offered fires and hot water bottles in our room every night .
The staff are excellent and the food and service was good.
We were able to walk out from the hotel and made our way to the Botonical Gardens and then got a Tuk Tuk across the city to the lake. We also walked into the city on a couple of occasions so although the hotel is quiet and peaceful the rest of Ooty is accessable.
On the day we left all the Tuk Tuk drivers were on strike ( but they could have been attending a funeral - I could not make out which !! ) so without being asked and with no fuss Mr Vibhaker arranged for his driver to take us to the airport. Just an example of the level of service you can expect,
Its worth visiting Ooty just for the Savoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from , Taj Savoy Ooty !!!!

It is indeed our great pleasure to recieve such fantastic compliments from you. My entire team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at TAJ SAVOY, OOTY and especially loved the services. I thank you for your kind words about me, which is much appreciated. . We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Best Regards,
Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is around 160 KM away from Heritage City of Mysore. We travelled by road. It takes about 4 hours from Mysore. There is a short cut route which saves about half an hour, but the road is narrow and steep. The hotel is located in a good elevated location.
The hotel building is a heritage building built during British time, still in good condition. Just in front of the reception there is a vast green lawn with colourful flowering plants which gives a pleasing appearance.
The rooms are old type with wooden flooring and a fire place, but well maintained. It is a nice experience in the winter night to have the fire place lit and sit beside it sipping a favourite drink.
The rooms are spacious and well maintained as per Taj Group standards. Staff are courteous and helpful. Food is good with good service. There is fire place in the restaurant also which is lit in winters. It is a different kind of experience to have food sitting next to fire place.
If the room is booked under family get away package, it includes bed, breakfast, al limited meal credit and a free tour to couple of nearby tourist spots.

Room Tip: Garden -lawn facing suites have good view and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinetra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings for the day !!!!

It was a great pleasure to have your stay with us in Ooty. We thank you for taking your time to give such a positive feedback for our hotel.

I am happy you found our services excellent. The entire team is happy to get such a motivating feedback from you, which will certainly help us to strive even further for excellence. We are happy to know that you like our rooms with old type wooden flooring and colorful flowering plants in the garden.

I thank you once again for your time & look forward to having you once again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards,
Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Tucked in the rolling hills, amidst lush green, peace and quiet, the Savoy is a relic from a distant that promises immense tranquillity and delightful comfort even as one begins to settle in. This historic edifice has an old world charm that will remain unmatched and within its minimally, yet tastefully appointed cottages, even the widely travelled find a story of time having stopped.

Set about in six acres of well-manicured and landscaped greens, the hotel offers a very personal touch in terms of experience, which is delightfully far from being commercial and stereotyped. Its cottages, from the colonial times, invite one into another world, embracing with comfort and charm, as if to convey the true feeling of a home, a sacred personal space where one meets oneself unhindered by time and the elements.

Courteous, warm and friendly, the staff entourage is a shining reflection of the carefully choreographed customer centricity, at every level of engagement, that the Taj is famously known for.

Splendid, delightful, charming and cherished would be some very appropriate words i would choose to describe the Savoy as i fondly recall the wonderful experience of my stay savoured amidst tall eucalyptus trees, trimmed lawns, brightly coloured flowerbeds, quaint cottages, a more than appreciable décor supplemented with local art and craft and delectable cuisines - in short, warm and gentle refinement of the countryside English kind.

Room Tip: Ask for the Chalet that overlooks the driveway for its commanding view of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakeshv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings for the day !!!!

Thank you very much for posting your experience at The Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor and for appreciating our hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read your positive review of our product, food, services and facilities available in Taj Savoy Ooty.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Please feel free to write to us as savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com if you visit Ooty again. We will be glad to have you once again with us.

Warm Regards,
Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
995 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Property: Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Address: 77 Sylks Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing