We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Luxurious”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Hotel is very good. Its like a Heritage Hotel. I love the cottages which has in-built bonn fire place. Also its away from the noise of the City and If you are looking for a peaceful and Luxurious place. This is the place to go. The food is awesome. Ask for the Danish Pastry its yummy delicious and the evening Snacks and Bar is worth to spent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Rachit,

Greetings for the day !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a positive feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services & food to your liking. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    350
    110
    30
    15
See reviews for
437
317
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The property is beautiful.....Taj Hotels has managed to create a good mix of modern comforts while retaining the charm of an old heritage building. The rooms are very well laid out with all necessary amenities. The lawns and gardens are beautifully kept. The roof tiles could do with a fresh coat of paint. The food both at the restaurant and in room dining was really tasty and served promptly and hot.

But the best of all is the service staff. Every single person I interacted with offered great service. What made the experience memorable for me is the genuine warmth with which they dealt with and the fact that every member of staff exuded the same warmth. That consistency in service is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Kingsley,

I thank you very much for the positive feedback which you have given.

Your positive comments have been shared with the team & this will go a long way in ensuring that we meet the expectations of our guests. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continually improve our guest satisfaction. I thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will defenitely encourage my team to perform even better.

We have noted your feed back about the roof tiles we will do the fresh coat of paints for all the roofs.

Do come back to The Savoy hotel Ooty for your next holidays. Looking forward to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have been staying at The Savoy for many years, when our children were studying at the Lawrence School, Lovedale. We have stayed here at different times of the year, in rainy months, in dry weather, and during the cold season. We have enjoyed every stay, at this magical place, that manages to cocoon the visitor in the undefinable Raj atmosphere the moment you pass through the gates. This time too, the service was warm and friendly, the rooms cosy and well furnished, the housekeeping excellent, and the restaurant serving excellent fare. Evenis at the bar before dinner were a treat. The head of the hotel, Mr Vibhakar, and his team went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Thank you!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the drive and the ones near the tennis court are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBalagopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for the positive feedback which you have given.

Your positive comments have been shared with the team & this will go a long way in ensuring that we meet the expectations of our guests. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continually improve our guest satisfaction. I thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will defenitly encourage my team to perfrom even better.

Do come back to The Savoy hotel Ooty for your next holidays. Looking forward to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Quaint little cottages around pretty gardens,
The cottages are just gorgeous and very comfortable.
The fire put at night is welcome as it can get very cool in the evening.
They will come and light a fire in tour cottage which is lovely .
The food is good but the bar is very shabby which is a shame .

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage away from the main reception. Only because they have their own little garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to the bar . Your feedback is really important for us and I have personally shared the same with my team to ensure corrective action.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

Please do let us know whenever you travel to Ooty next, it will be my pleasure to have you back again. I request you to please give us another opportunity to serve you. The team and I shall ensure that your experience will be vastly different. Please write to us at savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com if you visit Ooty again.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

in today's day and age, its very difficult for people to take a break and not check out d ratings of that place.... well, we were no different ... it was a quickly planned trip over a weekend with bare minimal preparation.... and den trusting the name of Tata's we just decided to go ahead with Taj Savoy... it was long drive from bangalore... were totally exhausted by the time we reached Ooty.... and den d fun started... we tried navigating through Ooty with our GPS... and poor GPS got confused... couldn't locate Savoy... it took us through the most sheddy and too quite an extent scary roads... and i den started yelling/abusing all the freaky people who had rated it like d most wonderful place ever.... the sign board for this most exotic place was like in the most tiniest of letter possible... people like me who can't even see a hoarding could easily miss this.... it took us greaaaaattttttt efforts to locate this hotel... and it has the most sad road leading to it.... but trust me.... once you enter the place... the efforts u wud' ve put to reach this place seem quite minuscule.... its totally worth it.... YO YO TAJ SAVOY... their welcome drink, hospitality, breakfast , food.... 10/10.... if u r in OOTY... it has to be Taj Savoy

Room Tip: facing the garden... with a good round wooden table... typically british...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riddhi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings for the day !!!!!

It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us in Ooty. We thank you for taking your time to give such a positive feedback for our hotel.

I am happy you found our services excellent. The entire team is happy to get such a motivating feedback from you, which I am certain, will help us to strive even further for excellence.

Also we have noted that you found some difficulties to reach our hotel as sign board are not visible.we will certainly look into this and do the needful for more visibility of our sign board

I thank you once again for your time & look forward to having you once again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After having a tiresome ride we reached this hotel, it was like the long journey had paid off. Located by a serene and a beautiful nature surrounding this hotel was the best choice I made for this trip. we stayed here for 2 nights. I wish I could stay longer.

We booked for a standard room. Entire staff and management is very friendly. Right from the front office to restaurant staff to the chef to the manager to the housekeeping to the room service, every one greets you with a smile and are very prompt in their duties!

I was very much satisfied with the service provided by the Savoy Hotel. Ooty doesn’t really have many great hotels for a normal budget as per my research, I truly believe this is one of the best options

Thanks for the great stay at Savoy Hotel! Would definitely like to come back!.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chethan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Chethan,

Greetings for the day !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a positive feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services to your liking. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
376 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Driving into the Savoy in Ooty, its refreshing to see that you are not at a concrete, glass and steel edifice but at a place with a character of its own. The hotel is made up of a number of Raj era buildings, going back to the mid nineteenth century, spread over five or six acres of lovely gardens. It was a lot like the place where we stayed in the Lake District in England a couple of decades ago. “Colonial Charm” more or less sums it up.

Check in was smooth with a welcome drink. Our accommodation consisted of a small sitting room, a spacious bedroom and a dressing room all with wooden flooring and colonial furniture, a world of difference from what most hotels offer. The bathroom was as modern as it gets with good toiletries. They had tea/coffee making facilities and a safe deposit box - two things that I like to see in a hotel room.

A fireplace added to the charm and, when you step out of your room, you find yourself, not in an endless dreary corridor, but in the bracing Nilgiri air, your eyes resying on emerald green lawns, flanked by a row of birds of paradise blooming in brilliant orange and surrounded by picturesque beds of various flowers. The lawns are dotted with wrought iron chairs and tables, which make a perfect setting for afternoon tea or for leisurely reading a book. In the evening, just as it gets a bit chill, the bonfire they light on the lawn tempts guests to sit around and chat a bit.

Kids are kept busy with horse rides, a magician and some pet rabbits.

The service was friendly enough but the younger members of staff probably need some more training to reach Taj standards of efficiency. However, they made up in enthusiasm what they lacked in experience. The food, unfortunately, was a let-down -not bad but definitely not up to what we expect at a Taj hotel.

This is not one of the Group’s luxury properties but it makes up in charm what it lacks in grandeur. If you have a sense of history, you are sure to love the colonial atmosphere. This is a hotel where you go on holiday and lose yourself in the magic of the hills and enjoy the whole experience. I could happily stay here for week or two!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesuthasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Greetings for the day

It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us in Ooty. We thank you for taking your time to give such a positive feedback for our hotel.

I am happy you found our services excellent. The entire team is happy to get such a motivating feedback from you, which I am certain, will help us to strive even further for excellence.

Also we have noted your suggetions that the service of the younger members of staff probably need some more training to reach Taj standards of efficiency. We will certainly do the necesary training programmes to meet up Taj expectations.

I thank you once again for your time & look forward to having you once again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.8 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 78 in Ooty
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Property: Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Address: 77 Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty
#4 Family Hotel in Ooty
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing