We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Heritage Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Heritage Property!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Dating back to the 1830s, this is one hotel you must experience for the colonial charm and the exquisite landscaped gardens! Spend your evenings reading by the fireplace or laze away your afternoons in the sun and eat heavenly meals in the old dining hall.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samra1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Samra,


I thank you very much for the positive feedback which you have given.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed our colonial charm exquisite landscaped gardens! Your positive comments have been shared with the team & this will go a long way in ensuring that we meet the expectations of our guests. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continually improve our guest satisfaction. I thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will definitely encourage my team to perform even better.

Do come back to The Savoy hotel Ooty for your next holidays. Looking forward to see you soon.


Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    353
    112
    30
    15
See reviews for
445
320
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

i stayed there in jan 2014 wit my wife n its the most beautiful property in ooty i hv seen ,,,staff is very good wit good nature ,always ready to help,,,bbf was excellent ,,hygene is maintained n the best part of the room is the fire place in the room...just loved it..thanx for beautiful experience on my honeymoon trip

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linusrodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Rodrigues,

Greetings for the day !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a positive feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services to your liking especially our hotel fire places. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite (Sunnyside 308) which has 1 bathroom only (slightly tricky in the mornings). Ooty was wet through out our stay but we bared the weather and ventured out.

Positives -
1. Taj property - so you can expect decent class in it.
2. Away from the madness of the Ooty town - quite in the nights.
3. Colonial style - though a bit rundown
4. Fireplace was a great idea .. kept the rooms warm. Complemented the electric heaters well.
5. Decent sleep quality in the twin bed room (kids used it)
6. Great breakfast spread - good mix of continental and Indian breakfast.
7. Pony ride inside the campus - my son loved it and went on the horse all 3 days. 100 rupees per long ride - worth it.

Negatives -
1. A bit rundown rooms - can be better maintained. The sofas & chairs look old & I could feel the springs in the double bed. I had to sleep in the twin bed one night due to my backache from the double bed
2. Lunch & dinner in the restaurant are not great. If you are a foodie like me, you won't appreciate the food here. Quite unlike Taj but I guess this is a perennial problem as you see from other reviews here.
3. We ordered pasta for the kids and told them to make it bland. They made it spicy & kids could not eat it. They took it back and did not return for 20 minutes. They brought it to the room later but spicy still. I complained to the reception & the F&B manager (Avinash) called me immediately to apologize. He came across as a service oriented person & reversed the charges for this item - good gesture.
4. 1 bathroom for 2 bedrooms is not sufficient. A bathtub would have added more glamour ... @10,000 INR a night, this is something that would make guests feel good. Shower area needs a good scrub - we could see black mold buildup in the corners.
5. Room service bit slow for everything - ask them for anything & they needed 1 more reminder on most occasions
6 Wifi is not free - INR 660 per day. Taj should look at providing this free to the guests.

Rating - 3.5 / 5

Visit again ? I don't mind if they fix the rooms a bit more and change the kitchen staff :-)

Room Tip: Lawn facing rooms are a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sriluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings for the day IIII

Thank you very much for posting your experience at The Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor and for appreciating our hotel

The team and I are delighted to read your positive review of our product, colonial style, Fire place, B/Fast and facilities like pony ride in our hotel.

Also I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your stay as the sofas and the chairs are very old. Food and pastas were not up to your expectations also black mold buildup in the corners of the bathroom in the corners . Your feedback is really important for us and I have personally shared the same with my team to ensure corrective action

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel. Please feel free to write to us as savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com if you visit Ooty again. We will be glad to have you once again with us

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, Assam, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Heritage property no doubt, but sadly has seen its best days. For people sentimental about colonial style this property is apt. The service and food lived up to the Taj expectations. Do not expect the spic n span of newer Taj properties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikramrajkonwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Mr.Konwar,

Greetings for the day !!!!

Thank you very much for posting your experience at The Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor and for appreciating our hotel

The team and I are delighted to read your positive review of our product, food and facilities.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel. Please feel free to write to us as savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com if you visit Ooty again. We will be glad to have you once again with us.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at the biggest room in this hotel during a family visit trip to Ooty for 2 nights. The room was spacious and built in the English style (in 1829, from the hotel records). There is a lot of history associated with this place and a lot of English touch left here and there.
The hospitality was excellent and the manager from front desk personally introduced himself to every guest.
Initially the hotel was booked for 3 nights, but due to some complications on the trip, I had reschedule to 2 nights. The hotel rules said that they could not return the 1 night payment due to the booking being via a travel website and not through their own, which is correct as per the terms and conditions.
However, the manager from the front desk was a very reasonable guy and he adjusted our room rent with the meals charges that we would incur during our stay. This was a very good move from him, which made me stay their without thinking about any money hassles.
You can imagine the rent being high as I had booked the biggest room available in the hotel.

The dining room was spacious, a bit dimly lit, but the food was pretty good on the first day. The breakfast is complete. However, the second day we felt that the food might not be freshly cooked and pre-cooked/heated and served to us. We were fairly early for dinner I can say.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I would love to recommend this place for a holiday to everyone. It is worth the spend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmajumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mr. Majumdar,

Greeting for the day !!!!!

I thank you very much for the positive feedback which you have given.

Your positive comments have been shared with the team & this will go a long way in ensuring that we meet the expectations of our guests. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continuously improve our guest satisfaction. I thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will definitely encourage my team to perform even better.

We have also noted your feed back about spacious & colonial style room and a lot of history associated with this place and a lot of English touch. We have shared your comments to our Front desk manager and certainly he will duly recognized for his services.

We sincerely apologies for the second day food which was not be freshly cooked .we have taken this up seriously with our Executive Chef to brief and train the respective staff accordingly in reworking and taking corrective actions in our preparations and

We request you to kindly not hold anything against us and do give us another opportunity to present the best of the experience.

Do come back to The Savoy hotel Ooty for your next holidays. Looking forward to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porvorim, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The property Taj Savoy is very well kept . The service there is really great . Nice place to unwind for few days .

They made sure that our food was to our liking and since i mentioned i prefer Chicken legs they made sure each chicken dish we ordered had the same .

They constantly enquired if we needed anything apart from what was there on menu . It made the stay great .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SushilKaurNama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Nama,

Greetings for the day !!!!

Thank you very much for posting your experience at The Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor and for appreciating our hotel

The team and I are delighted to read your positive review of our product, food and facilities.

Also we are happy to notice that your preference in the chicken dishes are met as you like

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel. Please feel free to write to us as savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com if you visit Ooty again. We will be glad to have you once again with us

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were here to celebrate our Dad's 75 th birthday with our whole family. We stayed here for 3 nights , our family experience was very good and excellent service by total staff . Chef Joseph was very good and he has seen that what ever we need is available . Overall we all had a unforgettable family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goyal385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Goyal,

Greetings for the day !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a positive feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services, to your liking. Also you celebrated your Dad's 75th birthday with your whole family. We have also noted your comments about chef Joseph and certainly he will duly recognized for his services.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.8 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 82 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Property: Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Address: 77 Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty
#4 Family Hotel in Ooty
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing