We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms , parking needs improvement and also hotel tariff is high”
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A short trip to ooty with my team mates was indeed good. We made the stay at the Holiday inn resorts. Hotel is located in a silent locality, a few kilometres away from the main town .We made bookings from Antilog Vacations online as they give good hotel rates & cheap packages as well for sightseeing etc.Taking booking from hotel is highly priced and you also don’t get the required service

The resort facilitated fine services. The staff was polite rather than friendly. We had a drive from cochin to ooty via our tour operator. We were a bit disappointed for not being served welcome drinks. But the beauty around the resort made us compromise that little part. .From the room one looks either into the mists and fog or surreal beauty of a green oasis depending on what the day brings. It is a good property with great views. It is not newly constructed but have been maintained well. It has indoor swimming pool & maintained garden area.

We ate in both restaurants (Indian and Chinese) and had excellent meals. Breakfast provided a wide choice from the buffet. Bedroom had 2 queen beds and a lounge area with good views. Room decor is of a standard 3 star hotel. Old style TV ( though we did not watch the TV, some would prefer a good one). and the wooden flooring has started to show the age.

Bathroom was adequate. Air con did not seem easy to adjust. The rooms were well appointed and were always clean and the plumbing worked well. The Maharaja of Mysore's summer palace is near by which also offers accommodation but best for a visit for coffee or evening drink with a return to the absolute comfort of the Inn. And the car parking priority was for the cabs and buses coming in with tourists, rather than for people staying. This was a matter to be disliked as we were not properly served the parking facility though our agent managed it .

The band would play instrumentals of old Hindi songs. The service of Hotel staffs are also very nice. Overall its a lovely place to stay and next time if go Ooty.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Anand M,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

Lovely foyer and beautiful gardens but the rooms need refurbished.The swimming pool was overun by monkeys so would not fancy going in The first night there a corporate .party was going on so no sleep until that was over,soundproofing needed,as said gardens are well looked after but no seats to sit in it and enjoy A beautiful sunset to see though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rita1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Rita1948,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the accommodations you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were given rooms in the basement despite me requesting rooms on a higher floor. However the rooms we were given had great views and access to a garden. The rooms amd bathroom desperately needed to be updated and the floors were not clean. Couldn't walk barefoot in the rooms.service in the main restaurant was slow. I would have only given this hotel 2 stars but had to give an extra one for the excellent views from all the rooms including those in the basement. Also watch out for the dangerous lift which closes when person is half way through. It injured my mum twice in one day!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rishigudka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

rishigudka,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Ootacamund.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Nice location. Very nice staff specially at restaurants. Hotel seriously needs renovation. Rooms have basic amenities but they are really old and don't meet the traveller as mine expectations. Bathrooms are renovated however the fittings don't work.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinu235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in 10 hotels across India and this was one of the best. Situated in a most famous southern hill station town at 2240m in the western Ghats.From your room you look either into the mists and fog or surreal beauty of a green oasis depending on what the day brings. Beautiful local food produced in the rich volcanic soils of the area is provided plus spacious rooms most with views. The Maharaja of Mysore's summer palace is near by which also offers accommodation but best for a visit for coffee or evening drink with a return to the absolute comfort of the Inn. Maybe the freshness of the cool mountain air after the rest of our stays has skewed our thinking but the cleanliness and quality of food is still remembered. The visit was in November and any later could result in 0 degrees C.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located a distance from the dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griffo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Arrived after 9 hour drive from Cochin. The hotel is slightly out of town- you could not walk at night as very dark. However it affords fantastic views from its high position.The staff were polite rather than friendly. Bedroom had 2 queen beds and a lounge area with good views. Bathroom was adequate. Air con did not seem easy to adjust. We chose a la carte menu for dinner which was fine and am sure the buffet option would also have been good. The was a man playing a keyboard badly whilst we ate which was rather amusing! Breakfast was buffet and good choice. The outside of hotel looks worn. We did not use the indoor pool. Overall we had a comfortable night' stay but I think next time we would seek a more traditional hotel in town.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just back from a stay at holiday inn. The stay was memorable with corteous staff and great service. Felt at home with great attitude from all the staff. The restaurant (Toda cafe) staff are very corteous and eager to help.

The only gripe i had was that the pace of room service and house keeping started slowing down on the second day, when more people were staying in the hotel on weekends. And the car parking priority was for the cabs and buses coming in with tourists, rather than for people staying.

The food was delicious, but sometimes reptitive menu. The valley views were good, but if the main windows opened, it would have a been a splendid experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junaidnavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
574 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,045 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
845 reviews
1 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#5 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £43 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing