We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for Indians”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haveli Atithi Bhavan
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I had very good experience with this hotel. Very corporative staffs, rooms are above average, there was a talented cook at restaurant. He can make very tasty north indian dishes, but on pre booking food order. There was something wrong with hot water regular supply. we called reception 3 or 4 times for the hot water supply in our two night stay. I recommend this hotel for Indians. Sorry Western & European guests, it may not meet your standard especially on external noise problem. It give more than we pay compare to other Indian cities.

Room Tip: Just ask manager he will help on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

1. Breakfast is free (u gonna get Idly,Vada,Sambar,Puri, Sabzi and Bread butter and Tea)
2. Bread will be unfried (we requested to fry it but we got NO from them)
3. U gonna get Complain or Milk (extra charge for this not included in complementary breakfast)
4. Service tax worth 10% and VAT of 4% will be on everything (except breakfast)
5. Rooms are big in size but Claustrophobic because there are no ventilator in the room.
6. Little far from Ooty main city so hotel near by will be very lonely and no lights on the road way to the hotel
7. No Non-veg items and for Veg also limited choice (better try to take food from another hotel)
8. They will arrange conveyance for u (it could be Auto/Side scene Taxi or Bus)
9. Hot water (only between 7 to 10 AM) but the funny thing is very few can take bath during that period of time in any Hill station :) u have to request them again and again to get hot water (that too for short span of time) no hot water in the night also..

This is to give u a blur pics on some details..

overall it's an ok kind of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subrata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATITHIBHAVAN, Owner at Haveli Atithi Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thanks for your patronage and your review. It is certainly would help us improve the areas where we lack. Though we are one of the budget hotels in Ooty, we still try to provide the best of choices for Breakfast. We cannot afford provide Milk or any other health drink at this price. We may have to do it provided we go up on our prices which we are not planning at present. Regarding ventilation, we are quite surprised at your review as all the rooms in the hotel are sufficiently ventilated with windows. The hotel is just 2 kms from the main bus-stand !! Being Vegetarian Hotel we are not intend to convert the hotel into a Non Veg joint. Hot water is being provided in the morning as well as in the evening. We do have an issue which would be sorted out very soon as already the work has been resumed. Hope you would extend us another opportunity to serve you again as we would ensure that the genuine points raised by you are being seriously viewed and would be rectified very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Staff was friendly and allowed us to check out late even though check-out time was 12pm. Staff provided us tips to schedule tour spots based on location and time of day. Overall it was very pleasant experience. Breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sachin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATITHIBHAVAN, Owner at Haveli Atithi Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We are thankful to you for having patronised us. We are indeed grateful to you for having spent your time on reviewing. We would certainly maintain the standard in the days to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We went to this hotel on 2nd feb 2014.we were scared about the facilities the hotel will provide at the time of boarding in after a long travel of 570 km in car from chennai..got a warm welcome from the reception. .guided by mr.rajan...comfortbly checked in a suite provided by the in 1st floor room no-105.Very neat rooms, clean bathrooms with towels, soaps and shampoos ready.Nice room service with hot water on a call even at 5pm in the evening.Restaurant is good with nice idly, sambar, bread, butter and jam, poories with sabji and nice doosas..we enjoyed their unlimited breakfast with a cup of tea/coffee...!
Really a nice hotel...with heavenly service...good staffs..with cute smile in their faces...

Note-I reccomend people to have their dinner at haveli restaurent itself as it is delicious. .and cheap when compared to other hotels in the city which we have experienced.
My whole hearted thankks to the whole team of haveli adithi bhavan
.who made our ooty trip memorable. ..our sincere thanks to mr.Rajan.
Hotel management pl make some sign boards to make the people reach you easier..at the entrance of ooty.

This hotel is back side of hotel darshan...exactly opposite to ooty boat house..500 metres wakable from boat house in short cut route.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Imraan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATITHIBHAVAN, Owner at Haveli Atithi Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest, Greetings from Team Aithi Bhavan. We really appreciate your time and effort to share your experience with us. We are extremely happy that you really enjoyed our hospitality. We do hope you would extend us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The rooms were real clean and cozy. The stay went a lot better than i thought. The Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful in all ways. The Manager of the hotel made sure were heading towards the hotel in right direction. I mean any hotel would do that, but at 11:30 Pm in the night. I mean what else one do make their customer more happy. I have made a request for a 24 hours check in, which was accommodated, as there was availability. The dinner was really delicious, especially the phulka's, breakfast was good as well (not many varieties though). But for the price charged, everything available was real decent. I would definitely make a visit to your place again with friends or family Mr. Rajan.

For Travellers: Please follow directions on google maps only till Hotel Darshan, it is better to have the hotel people guide you to the destination rather than asking random guys.
The location is pretty decent as well, close distance to Rose Garden, Tea Factory, Boat Club and Botanical Gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms are not sound proof. As the place is located in a very quiet spot, definitely not recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvarmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATITHIBHAVAN, Owner at Haveli Atithi Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thanks very much for your feed back. The draw backs observed by you during your visit are quite genuine and I am trying to rectify slowly. Most of my guests in the past have felt that the varieties in our Breakfast is not much. I viewed this issue seriously and have started already to provide a couple of extra items. Hope to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Loved and enjoyed my vacation...Beautiful and very budget hotel..Loved the service and hospitality. Very close to ooty lake,Bus stand and train station. While comparing food is not very expensive.Do visit the Ramubaba ashram.. its breathtaking and u will feel blessed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Mohammed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATITHIBHAVAN, Manager at Haveli Atithi Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thanks for posting your review. We extremely happy to learn that you had thoroughly enjoyed our hospitality. Not much of our guests had been to the Ashram. It is a multi regious trust and truly you will be blessed by the Ramu Baba who does a great work in this hill station for the poor and the down troden. Look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

It was a wonderful experience staying at this hotel.We went in Dec 2013.It was very cold..But we did not have any problem, as we got Hot water, Good Food, Good Room Service.
We went with family. It was a good stay.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P2B17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATITHIBHAVAN, Owner at Haveli Atithi Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you very much indeed for patronising our hotel. We are extremely delighted to know that you had a satisfactory stay in our hotel. We are still trying to be the best in this category of hotels in Ooty. The constrained facing by many our clients with regard to the approach road will be completed by this month end. Looking forward to serve you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#15 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
0.0 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#28 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#27 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
814 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anmol's Cottage
Anmol's Cottage
#84 of 169 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
La Flora Amberley Resort
#19 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haveli Atithi Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haveli Atithi Bhavan

Address: Hadfield Road | Near Abu Babaji Charitable Mission, West Lake, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £15 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haveli Atithi Bhavan 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is 15 Room budget hotel located just 2 minutes walking distance from Ooty Lake. The hotel is located in side Shree Abu Babaji Charitable Mission Trust (a multi religious trust. The Hotel offer accommodation with Bed & Breakfast with pure vegetarian food.The hotel offers neat and clean accommodation with hot water at scheduled timing. The hotel is not attached to any major chain of Hotels. The hotel can assist the travelers for the local sight seeing in and around Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Haveli Atithi Bhavan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haveli Atithi Bhavan India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing