We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit place if you go to ooty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Upper Bhavani Lake

Upper Bhavani Lake
Ranked #7 of 64 things to do in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Must visit place if you go to ooty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The place is amazing. Its actually the backwater of Upper Bhawani Dam. The difficult part is reaching this place. Private vehicles are not allowed and hence you have to rely on govt Eco-tours. First you will need to reach a checkpost which is around 25kms from ooty. There you have to give your name and wait until they call out your name. Then you will get tickets which cost 150 per person and again you will ride for about an hour to reach this place. But all this is worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anas_Hadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    69
    17
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Truely divine , can't afford a miss !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

After reading humongous +ive reviews about upper bhavani lake we decided that we have to be there and we are glad that we finally managed to see this picturesque lake. So starting with our journey - UB lake is about 25-30 kms from ooty depending upon the location of your stay.One has to drive down till Avalanche from there forest deptt buses will take you ahead. It took us an hour to reach there. We drove down in our car else one can also hire a taxi.Most of the drive is good as roads are good expect tye last 5 kms where the roads are bumpy and broken. The first check post comes 3 kms before the bus boarding point. After crossing that there's a dense forest which needs to be crossed and roads are even more worse and narrow. Once you reach the boarding point you will see proper signages for vehicle parking and tickets.a small canteen is also there which serves dry eatables. The eco tours are available between 9.30 to 3 pm. As soon as the bus gets filled the bus starts. We reached at around 10.10am and fortunately we took the bus wich was ready to leave. One trip already left 30 min backs. The ticket cost for bus is 150 pp and 1200 for a jeep for 8 pax. The bus journey is around 45 mins. the first halt is at Sholas, a steep valley which is full of trees which look like cauliflower/broccoli from top.bus halts for 10 mins. 2nd stop is the UB lake and as soon as you get down you witess this beautiful lake.This lake is basically the backwaters of UB lake. For visiting that part of lake you have to further travel 27 kms but I guess there wouldn't be much of difference. Its such a peaceful calm and beautiful place that you wouldn't mind staying for hours but unfortunately the bus halts for 20 -30 mins so you have to fulfill your desires within that time. the water is greenish blue in colour,  crystal clear and cold. We enjoyed throughly and would love to visit this place again. Best spot in ooty.
I have also added some pictures which might be helpful to travellers.

Helpful?
8 Thank Ishmish17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“View is just awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Once you reach Upper Bhavani lake, nature lovers can get lost in the sheer beauty of this place.

Lake is so clean and the view from the place is simply breathtaking.

Only difficult part is to reach the forest check point.
Forest officers it seems are there only for money.

So until and unless you have close to 15 people to visit the place , you might end up waiting for 2-3 hours.

Please carry sufficient water and snack items if with kids or if travelling in summers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Really Blue hai pani!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Its clean, blue, amazing, clear, scenic and eye soothing. Its going to be a memorable visit. People looking for far from city noise then its a great place to visit. Dont miss this one!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kush1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highly Overated with painful ticket booking process”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

First thing first - This is a HIGHLY Overrated place. If you have been to Nanital, Manali, Tehri dam you will surely regret your visit to this place. (Regret not coz of the place attributes but coz of govt. process and regionalism)

The place is ~40 Km from Ooty. The drive from Ooty to Avalanche is ~ 23Km with decent roads. The last 8 km stretch is a mess with road broken at multiple places and its a single lane road hence one needs to often go off track to give way.

After reaching Avalanche point one has to park the vehicle somewhere (there is no proper parking) and from here the nightmare starts. There is a small hut converted into ticket point where there is a govt official and a clerk. There are only 3 trips in a day with 3 eco vans. First trip is at 1230, then 230 and finally at 4. These guys will not take immediate payment but will only write your name on a random paper and will ask you to wait for the forest eco van to arrive.

Once Eco van arrives the clerks start calling out names and trust me if you are from North .. you will wonder why on earth your name is not being called. I had to wait for 4 hours where as my brother and sisters from South came and boarded the bus. I shared the same faith with couple of other north Indians and we decided to board the next 230 bus by any how. When the bus arrived there was again huge rush at the counter but we managed to be at front and had to actually shout and screen to force the clerk to call our names.

It is a~45 mins drive in Eco van to reach Upper Bhavani lake. One can trek down and take a dip in crystal clear water. Swimming is not advisable !! The Eco forest van takes a hault of 20mis and then back to Avalanche point.

+ive

1. Crystal clear water.
2. Undisturbed habitat
3, Scenic view

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Seepij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upper Bhavani Lake also viewed

 

Been to Upper Bhavani Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing