We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Roads, Incorrect Location...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Berry Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berry Hills Resort
Ranked #8 of 134 Ooty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“Horrible Roads, Incorrect Location...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The location/address as shown on the hotel site in not correct. This hotel is not near to Dodabetta Tea Factory.
Property was very nice, new building.. but just that does not make your stay comfortable.. other things also matter.
The biggest con of this place is horrible approach road.. After reaching the area mentioned in the address we were unable to find the hotel and on calling the hotel people they immediately sent a person to escort us to the hotel..We followed him on a narrow muddy lane.
Since we were not comfortable with the road condition we did not stay here and immediately moved out.
You will have to take a cab every time you go out on your own. I am not sure if hotel provides shuttle service to and from the city.
If you are a person who likes to hang out in market, nearby places, restaurant in the evening, this is not the right place for you.
Also it is not a resort.
God forbid if there is an emergency at night.
I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Gauri_Nishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort ooty

Many thanks for taking your time and reviewing our property in Trip Advisor. We are dissappointed to know that you were unhappy with the roads that lead to our property and we have also acknowledged the same in all our earlier responses. We have not mentioned anywhere that we have an access through the tea factory although we are closely located to the same but the approach road is through the main road but the GPS guides you through the factory.Thanks for giving us an oppurtunity to explain the same. Also we would like to clarify that we are not a city hotel situated in the market crowd , we are secluded in a hill and could be reached by driving 1 km uphill. Also I hope it is understood that when all the reviews state that there is a good view from the property, we cannot be inside the town. We have enough facilities to take care of in case of emergency during the stay of any of our esteemed guest.
However we would like to welcome you on your next visit probably if the roads are repaired by the government and give us an oppurtinity to serve you. Many thanks for appreciating our building and location



Best Regards
Team Berry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    52
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
73
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent place to stay with family & for couples...View is simply superb....Rooms were superb with good interiors, LCD TV, Round the clock hot water, amicable staff, Food quality is good in restaurant but over-priced..If you want to have food in your room..15% service charge were levied on ordered bill appears to be very high....Room heaters were provided @ 330 Rs per night (not free of cost)...The biggest con of this place is horrible approach road...We can't call it as a road it is a rocky, muddy path way...other than this...our stay in berry hills was very good..Will surely visit next time...

Room Tip: Ask for Room Number 304. View is great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EshwarRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort ooty

Many thanks for taking your time and reviewing our property in Trip Advisor. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and also the service rendered by our staff. We shall definitely pass on your appreciation to them. With regard to the service charges and room heater charges , it is a common practice an all properties in ooty.

We are happy to welcome you on your next visit to serve you

Best Regards

Team Berry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great place to stay. Room 101 had an open lawn and great view. Food was good and service was excellent. The owner himself takes effort to meet the guests and take opinion. The road to the resort was not worth being called a road and that is the only negative point. Till the road is ready, they should send an escort from the main road for every guest.
Rajan TD

Room Tip: Room 101 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajanTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort ooty

Many thanks for taking your time and reviewing our property in Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed resort your stay in our property and many thanks for appreciating room No 101 in which you stayed near our open lawn. It s reviews like your that help us in enhancing our service to the future guests. Already our staffs are escorting the guest who visit our propert and your suggestion well taken

Many thanks for your appreciation of your overall stay. Looking forward to serve on your next visit.

Best Regards
Team Berry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights on our trip to south India and felt nothing great or enjoyable about this place except beautiful aerial view of Ooty.
We booked online deluxe room and when we reached there we were given room with the view of restaurant (according to them only this deluxe room was available).Since there was no privacy and we can't even open the curtain of our room,we demanded another room.They told that another room is available by paying Rs 1000 more per night.We were stuck after booking online and were left with no other option.
I will say food is overpriced because the quantity of food is very less and you will have to order your dinner by 7 pm to be served at 9 or 10 or whatever time. Tea is of Rs 30 and plus tax.Since this resort is 3 km away from main road,so there is nothing nearby.You will not get even a auto-rickshaw or anything.
Staff are not very responsive.I have to call 3-4 times to get my room cleaned.
Rooms are neat,beautiful and well maintained.
I will not recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Demand for room facing aerial view of ooty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mugdha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort ooty

Many thanks for taking your time and reviewing our property in Trip Advisor. We are dissappointed to know that you were unhappy with the roads that lead to our property and we have also acknowledged the same in all our earlier responses.

We would like to clarify to the benifit of the future guests, that you had booked a deluxe room which is a base category room. The online site in which you had booked also clearly mentions that there is no view from deluxe rooms therefore we feel you were very much aware of the same prior to check in or you should have failed to read the same in the description of rooms. It is obvious that none of the hotels would provide an upgraded room without an extra charge, and that is what even our staffs have mentioned to you.

Also at this forum , we would like to clarify that we are a luxury property situated on a hill and it is left for the readers of this review to judge if Rs 30 for a tea is expensive.Most of the visitors visit us to enjoy the seclusion and serenity of the property away from hustle and bustle of the town. This property is for nature lovers and not for those who like to stay inside the town very close to the market.

Before clarification , I would like to appologise for the delay in cleaning your rooms.We had done a detailed investigation of the delay and it was noted that we request all our guests to handover their keys before leaving the property to clean the rooms since we do not open the rooms without the permission of the guest. I am sure you would admit that you had not left the keys in the front office and you wanted the cleaning once you reached the property later in the day during which time our staffs were cleaning other rooms and our housekeeping team has responded to you within ten minutes of your request and the same had been intimated to you as well.
We would like to welcome you on your next visit probably if the roads are repaired by the government and give us an oppurtinity to serve you. Many thanks for appreciating our building and location

Best Regards
Team Berry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Berry hills is a nice small resort with a great view. Food was good, not great..The staff were very co-operative. I really enjoyed my stay there, it was a soothing experience..Ideal for privacy and relaxation seeking individuals. Real minus point is the approach road, hope to see it in a better shape next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakeshkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Been there for 2 nights 3 days stay with the family, booked 3 superior rooms. As most of them say the approach road was bad, however good things comes with a cost. It has to be understood that the road is something which government is to be blamed on, and not the resort owners. However I was made aware that the last stretch of the road towards the resort was done by the resort management, which is highly appreciated.
All of us enjoyed the place to the fullest, let it be Service, View from the Balconies, courteous room service and taste of the food.
There was a bit of delay on the first day when we had ordered for food, however when I informed this to Mr. Karthik, MD of the resort I was made aware due to the crowded situation that they had to manage with all of the orders. Having said, things became fine from the very next requirement and we were attended at the quickest.
I would like to thank Mr. Karthik and each one of the employees and wish them all the best.
We are sure to visit the place again.

Room Tip: Please book the Superior rooms, or first class rooms for a wonderful view from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hariharan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sir

Greetings from Berry Hills resort Ooty

Firstly I would like to mention our heartfelt thanks for taking your time and writing an honest and realistic review in trip advisor.
I guess you are one of the very few guest who had taken the effort to understand the problem of a particular situation and to be very honest we dont expect them to take that effort as well, but in your case you understood the reason for our poor roads and have also brought it in this forum for the better understanding of future travellers.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in our property and have carried some good memories of your stay in our property

Your apprecciation about our quality of food, service, location , view is well accepted and your appreciation will definitely be passed over to our entire team.

It is reviews and suggestions like yours that keeps us motivated to take an extra effort to give our guests a pleant and memorable experience during their stay with us

Looking forward to serve you on your next visit


Best Regards

Team Berry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel online after checking out a couple of reviews and photographs. After reaching the area mentioned in the address we were unable to find the hotel and on calling the hotel people they immediately sent a person to escort us to the hotel. We follwed him on a narrow muddy lane. To our utter surprise the man took us on a very narrow kachha road which was actually not meant for driving at all. The driver carefully drove through the rocky hilly road to reach the hotel which is located on the top of a hill. The hotel looked good. After checking in we were impressed by the rooms, arrangements and service of the hotel people but the best part was the view. Being on the top of a hill the hotel offers breathtaking views from all its rooms. The view compensated for the pathetic approach road. Food wasnt great. Didn't have much choices and was overpriced too. Complementary breakfast had a wide spread and was commendable in terms of taste and services. Overall a nice experience staying at this place which can turn great if they work on their approach road and menu.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanghamitra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.2 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.2 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 79 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mount 'n' Mist
Mount 'n' Mist
#1 of 134 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Hills Resort

Property: Berry Hills Resort
Address: 333 Old Ooty | Stone House Hill Post, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berry Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berry Hills Resort Ooty is an ideal leisure destination suitably located facing the picturesque ooty town and the blue mountains of the western ghats .The Resort is craftfully designed with mordern luxury and colonial antique style.The luxury resort is affordable and scenically located though not far away from the city centre. The resort is situated on a pristine environment on one of the many slopes of Dodabetta ( the highest peak of south india).The cool and calm surroundings of the lawns of Berry hills and the variety of birds to watch for makes a stay in Berry Hills a memorable one. The wooden flooring and private balconies from the superior rooms with amazing view of the western ghats as a complement would be a dream come true for an avid vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berry Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Hills Resort India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing