We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zest Danish Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zest Danish Villa
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Poor location out of town, room was cold despite fan heater which had to be requested and, we were initially told, would be charged for.That didn't happen. Restaurant deserted, food was good. Credit card wouldn't work on check-out so we were told we would have to go into town to draw cash. That didn't happen either but had to use partner's card.
Would have preferred to not stop there.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donkeede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    40
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
55
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband is a club member at Zest and had a lot of good things to say about them and being a travel enthusiast, I agreed to stay at Zest Ooty. There were initial glitches during our stay. My husband had specifically asked for a room on the first floor and he was told it was available, but when we arrived we got one on the ground floor. This was a disappoinment as we were told it's available, then back- tracked and my husband had to have a harsh word with the manager.
However, the next day we were given the room of our choice. Since it is very cold in December, we had requested a room heater and got it too.
We also took the Spa activity to rejuvenate ourselves and relaxed well.
We took the breakfast and dinner combo during the last days of our stay as we were mostly hopping around Ooty during the majority of our stay. Buffet was good. They could however, provide room service with an Ala Carte menu. I believe the Ala Carte might not be feasible for them as they are a small property.

Overall, the rooms were excellent, view was good from the first floor and the staff very helpful provided you kept reminding them twice or thrice. You get hot water mostly but there were times when you had to wait for a while after one person has taken a bath.

The quality of service is very important in the hospitality industry. The management should take this into heed. When you have a brand name, customers expect more than clean rooms and good food. I could get clean spacious rooms and good food in other resorts in Ooty too. I believe that more than customer satisfaction, Zest Ooty could differentiate itself only on Customer delight with excellent service quality and friendly staff. There exists a thin line between providing privacy and at the same time being helpful when customers have a need. This is what makes good word of mouth and repeat customers.

Pros : Spacious and aesthetic rooms, Heaters on request, Good food in Buffet, Spa, activities for families

Cons: Must improve their customer service.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms offer a view of the hill tops and city. Rooms 1106-1108 also have privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Nomads424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Well maintained property - wonder why they don't advertise as a heritage location!!
Away from the mid-town madness, tucked away atop a hill on Sheddon Road
Check-in / check-out was smooth; well maintained room, hot water available, helpful, friendly, well-informed staff; all staff starting from security, cook, room service, etc, behaved very well and patiently explained whatever was asked. Event manager doubled as driver, and showed us around explaining in detail (as much as he knew); toy train booking is a little higher if their help is chosen (this too was informed honestly).
Evening events were conducted well, involving all guests present/willing to take part.
Food is costly (as in any Mahindra property, but the packages offered seemed VFM.
Good buffet spread - breakfast, lunch and dinner; sometimes on weekends they have live counters too!! delicious food (both veg and NV); kitchen staff took special care for us veg, while all other guests were non-veg. So much for customer-service!
Parking is at a premium, when all rooms are full.
Good for families (my little daughter was specially taken care). There is also a little play area for kids.
If you expect 5 star falling-over-toes-experience, look elsewhere. This compact property (villa converted hotel/resort) is way better than any so called 'well-appointed resorts' in the place. Sometimes, the limited staff on duty do multiple roles and that could be a hassle when you are in a hurry, but who is-when on a holiday?!
Overall, enjoyable and a must visit!

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view of either the valley or the well maintained garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terminattor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The stay was a thoughtful gift from a family member for our Honeymoon. The horror started with the check-in.

Day 1: The room was terribly cold with no heater. On enquire, the first person told us there is no heater facility. We were aghast, in the cold of December, in Ooty and no heater facility. The second person told us all heaters have gone for servicing and will be back in 3 days. The third person got us a heater after we created a ruckus. The heater just about kept us warm if we sat near it but kept the room cold. They said we have 24/7 hot water but there was no hot water. Then they said, it takes 30-mins to get hot water, we waited over 2 hours without hot water. Then they said, use the tap to get hot water sometimes the shower does not work. Finally, we asked for 2 buckets of hot water to be brought to the room. The hot water finally started working from next morning. The place was run by a bunch of staff who seemed temporary or didn't have the ability or the wherewithal to solve our problems and there was no manager in sight. Each staff member gave us different reasons but didn't solve the problem. we asked to talk to the manager and we were told, he is based out of another property and is not available. We asked for his name and number which we didn't get. During the night we complained again about the room being too cold but too no avail. We tried to seal the front door from where cold wind was blowing into the room ourselves. During dinner time, we get a call from a kitchen asking us about having dinner at their in-house restaurant. We were lured by stating that we can get a Combo Offer for dinner and breakfast at Rs. 590 per head. We agreed and went for the offer.

Day 2: In the morning we complained about the cold room but still no solution was offered. The person at the reception told us that all couples prefer this room because of the view and our complaints seemed unusual. He finally offered to move us to another room on the ground floor. We said this was not a solution but we will consider it and left the hotel for sight-seeing for the day. A concierge from the hotel had booked us into the Toy Train to Coonoor and had told us to be at the railway station at 11:45 am. We got to the station promptly at 11:45 and this person had already left. The hotel redeemed themselves by sending someone else on the bike to get us the tickets and they had the arrogance to tell us that we waited for you and when you didn't turn up the person left. When we came back in the evening and asked for a change of room, we were told that all rooms are full. If we needed to change the room, we should have told them in the morning. This person didn't have the courtesy to tell us that we would have to decide in the morning if we needed a change since rooms might not be available later on. Again, lack of communication and basic customer care and the person who spoke to us in the morning had not done the transition to the next person. We asked again for a solution and no solution was offered. In the evening, we got a call from the kitchen about dinner and we asked if we could we served in the room. The person said Yes but only the items on the Buffet. He read out the menu and told us to order anything from the buffet and we will deliver it to the room. Since my wife was not hungry, I decided to order one buffet and some items from it. The kitchen staff took the order and confirmed it. 10-minutes later we get a call that we cannot serve buffet for one person, it will have to be for 2-people or that we will have to come to the restaurant and have food and that we could not order Al-Carte. We have stayed enough in hotels and resorts to know that we can always order room-service with an Al Carte menu and this was refused to us. We were furious, canceled the order and asked to speak to the Manager again. The chef who was supposedly the Acting Manager finally came to our room. When we explained our issues to him, he response was that the cold is just a MEAGER issue and we have never had this issue with any other guest. He still didn't give us a solution. We were furious and ready to leave but it was 10 pm so we decided to sleep the night and check out the next morning (a day earlier than booked). We even enquired with other hotels in Ooty for a room but decided to just sleep the night off. My wife did ask for a glass of milk that night and after much fighting we got extra blankets and just one water warmer for 2 people. we finally did get the office number of the manager who was obviously not available that night. We were not given the mobile number even after repeated requests. The kitchen staff did bring the buffet ordered as damage control at around 1045 pm which we had canceled but I was so furious at their callous attitude towards their customers that I sent it back.

Day 3: We checked-out by 9 am. I called in at 830 am saying we are checking-out by 9 am and to keep our bills ready. At 9 am, no bell boy to take our bags, we took our bags down ourselves, two-floors, in two trips. No one was present at the reception. Someone later hurried in but he didn't have access to the password protected computer and our bills were not ready. The restaurant finally sent in their bills and they had charged us extra from the combo dinner-breakfast package. We refused to pay that and we were told that we are not eligible for the combo package. The person who had sold us the combo package was on their day-off so could not be contacted apparently and we were made to sound like liars. When we refused to pay, they reduced the amount and said that this will be deducted from the person's salary who had given us wrong information. We didn't want that person to lose Rs. 400 so we made the payment and left disappointed.

On our way back from Ooty, we called the Manager at the office number given to us. We told him that we were terribly disappointed and left a day earlier. We even mentioned that the problem was not so much the staff but the complete lack of management and client focus. He said if we had stayed back, he would have personally come and met us and that he was not aware of all the issues we had for 2 days. One more management failure if the staff are not communicating to him and if he is not reaching out to his staff. He said he would talk to this staff, understand the issues and call us back. The call back never happened. We now know why the staff have a callous customer focus too.

We came back to Bangalore salvaging whatever good memories we could have about our Honeymoon.

For all the big brand talk of Mahindra Zest, it was a nightmare of an experience. Thumbs down to Mahindra Zest for not having the basic customer care courtesies.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VishalTalreja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed our weekend stay at this Mahindra property. The tree house became my favourite spot to sip hot tea and get a glimpse of the amazing view. The call of the birds, the flowers at their best bloom was truly a wow factor. The property is small and cozy and no one to disturb you, which is my ideal vacation spot. The staff were caring, food was good.

You got to take a long walk in the morning somewhere around the property. I went wandering somewhere around the place, found 2 cute puppies around.

The spa isn't all that great. I wouldn't recommend it, but the staff promote it. The games room is pretty small, the dj and karaoke is good. But,there weren't much takers for either of them though. The bonfire is fun.

I would say it was a peaceful stay away from the hustle-bustle of the city. A good break to relax and read a good book.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vividity2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prasanthi Nilayam, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Danish Villa is ideally located, spacious with high ceiling, well-furnished rooms amidst greenery of Ooty. The Gardens around the rooms and elsewhere in the property are well preserved. You can also relax from a small tree house.

If you are driving your own car make sure not to park below a tree in the parking area. The strong bird droppings can discolour the paint of your car.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padmanaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days this october and had a very plesant time at the resort. Good service, caring staff. They have made a lovely high rise sit-out which gives a very nice view of Ooty. Very nice spot to spend time during dawn and dusk.
Though the property is not very huge, its neatly maintained, only thing i saw missing was the participation by the hotel occupants in the activities arranged for us.
Would surely love to visit once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohanmonu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
1.6 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#6 of 79 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zest Danish Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zest Danish Villa

Property: Zest Danish Villa
Address: 30 Zest Danish Villa Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zest Danish Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zest Danish Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zest Danish Villa India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing