We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BEST OPTIONS TO STAY IN OOTY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sagar Holiday Resorts
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We started to ooty from thrissur in my car with my wife and 2 children by 730 am and reached ooty by 1.30 pm on 30 th October.Though we found it a bit difficult to locate the resort,after reaching there,we were very happy on entering the cottage in the resort, soon after an easy check in..When we opened the glass doors to the balcony ..ooh breathtaking view of Ketty valley.Soon we went out to have food from outside and made some purchases and came back by 7.00pm.

Next morning we woke up hearing the ooooooooh sound of the train from ooty to mettu,We ran to the balcony to get a glimpse of the toy train passing by.Then only we realised that we are in midst of clouds and mist.Very nice experience....By nine we got out to see the beautiful ooty which was only 4 km from the resort.[charring cross} In the night ,when we came back the view of the valley, well lit ,was amazing.

Second day morning started by the sight of sun peeping into your room amidst,the mist and fog.We had a game of snooker in the game area when the children engaged in playing caroms, chess,and video-games.Then we went out for sight seeing by 11:00 am.
The overall experience in the resort was very good. We were careful not take any food from the resort as the choice of food was less.The room was spacious, clean withgood room service. And as many people have written I feel that Sagar resorts is a very good choice for stay in ooty,as it is not too far from heart of the town, but a quiet place for a relaxing leisure holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UDAYAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2010

We booked Sagar resorts(Ooty) online and went on first week of April 2010 from Chennai to Coimbatore by flight and from Coimbatore to Ooty by Logan(Booked from travel desk of Sagar resorts). Logan was with us for entire 3 days of our stay. It costed us 6000/- .The entire booking process was smooth and had proper response from management.

To our surprise, they even collected the entire fees only at the time of check out. (Includes Stay,Travel Desk,Food,etc).

The place was little away from Bustling Ooty town(2-3 kms) and surrounded by hills and green patches. The construction was made in such a way that every room was private to its users. The resorts is out in the slope of the hill and the view was simply spectacluar.

We can even see morning/evening mist passing through the cottage(Again subjective to the season!!!). Deep down valley, distant railway line(Ooty Toy Train), hills are the eye catchers from the hotel.

Food Quality in the resort was good, we can chose to either have it in our cottage or in restaurant. Dont forget candle light dinner in the cottage(Buy some aromatic candles ;-)). Liquor served on request in the cottage for extra cost. There is a ayurvedic massage center inside resort for those chose to relax. Having a car is advisable as this is not very close to city and for everyting you will definitely need to travel. This is subjective for those who loves trekking may not need a car. As i said, this is the best place to relax and do nothing.

There was a small issue with Heater which was rectified immediately by the resort staff.

Overall it was a nice outing for us.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VasanthK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

First Of All join Health Cub Before Go Thre Then You Must be Fit Becozz Your Room Is At 300 Ft Depth ....Its Too Bad Resorts...No Hot water No Service....Black Towels Means Diry Towels......We Stayed Here 2 Days Feels Too Bad ......Please Avoid This Plzzz.......

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kushalmansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

we had been to resorts for holiday trip. Such a nice stay there with lot of greenary around, good spacious rooms and accomodation. very good excellent service with lot of view. Built on the slippery part of the land. place to play for the children at the bottom of the rooms, nice view. Railway track between ooty and coonoor can be viewed from the place. children can spend their time with playing items in the park. Trally is provided which can be helpfull for the older people to go to rooms and come back for ooty side seen.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chida884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

excellent in all amenities and good n tidy rooms and good sight seeing view too

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We had booked this hotel online and were a little wary of about how it would turn out to be. It is about 10-15km away from the main town of Ooty. We reached at 7AM and had to take an auto from the bus-stand to reach the hotel costing us 150 bucks. The reception people were quite courteous and alloted us a room almost immediately although our check-in time was at 12PM. The view from the reception picture window was breath-taking. The hotel has cottage-type rooms spread downwards into the valley. Each cottage has its quite large personal balcony with a stunning view of the valley. We had to take an elevator to descend down to reach our rooms. There was a nice green terrace with a childrens playground and arrangements for a bonfire at the end of the slope where the cottages ended. The rooms were mediocre compared to the tariff rates, not really worth the 3K we had shelled out for it. But I guess they were charging for the view from the balcony and the ambienceas well as they totally made up for the room ! Room service was okay but they charged extra as it had to be brought right from their restaurant at the top of the slope. The only con I can think about this hotel was the steep ascent while climbing up towards the reception or restaurant. We had complimentary breakfast with our package. It was quite a sumptuous spread with English style as well as South Indian food. The hotel had arrangements for car hire to visit Ooty town or for local sight-seeing at quite reasonable rates. All in all, our stay there was quite comfortable and the location of the hotel is simply awesome !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamalika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Sagar was a hotel we moved into after having a terrible experience at one Nahar.

Saagr is away from the main town and hence you are really in a hillstation atmosphere with excellent views facing south east ranges and lower towns in the valley. The hotel is peaceful, serene and offers spacious rooms. The room service and restaurant were excellent. The common staff friendly.

But as it happens with any hotel in India, the management had "big bad attitude". They don't even have the courtesy to speak to you looking at your eye. The shower curtain was dirty so I asked to change calling the reception where the management is. They said they can't do it now but when I requested the room service boy, he immediately changed it without even a tip.

The managers at the reception also screwed up a nice stay at the resort by asking to charge Rs.160 for a scanty breakfast we had. That was cheap money for them still they wanted it. Don't opt for their buffet would be my recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#24 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
67 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sabol Holiday Resorts
Sabol Holiday Resorts
#26 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
2.4 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagar Holiday Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagar Holiday Resorts

Address: Valley View,Grand Duff Road, | Lovedale Post, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £30 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagar Holiday Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sagar Holiday Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagar Holiday Hotel Ootacamund
Sagar Holiday Resorts India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing