We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to unwind”
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King's Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After a hectic work schedule for nearly 3 months,was looking for a place where I could really relax and happy to have found King's cliff at Ooty for the same. Location, property, rooms all are so very relaxing and staff is very courteous and is willing to go extra-mile to make the stay even more comfortable.

Room Tip: Recommned Windsor room and the others situated at the outside of the main property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank v2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great colonial bungalow with a couple of wonderful suites. Go for Windsor and Midsummer for a grand 4 poster bed. The lounge also benefits from a superb period fireplace and the gardens are nice to linger in, weather permitting. One of the best features were the real fires that they lit in your room at night. The hotel is on the hillside fringes of Ooty so be ready for a 20-30min walk into town and a rick to come back
On the down side, the bathroom in our suite suffered from very poor drainage. By the end of the shower, you were standing in a pool of water. The shower screen bizarrely was a good 6 inches away from the bath so the floor got flooded too. Breakfast was a bit inconsistent. It was a buffet but some days were definitely better than others in terms of what was on offer. The housekeeper was very friendly but hung around for tips at the end of our stay, which considering he hadn't really done much for us, was a bit much. The biggest fiasco was over the bill. We had a booking.com discount voucher which they didn't apply at first. It took them ages to finally authorise the refund as one manager after another got brought in, only to delegate it to someone else. We got there in the end, but it was a wearisome way to end our stay.

Room Tip: Windsor and Midsummer suites are best for colonial grandeur
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indie-Brindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Kings cliff.We are glad that you enjoyed the colonial ambiance of the property.

We have noted that whilst your overall experience at our resort met your expectations, there were certain services and facilities that did not. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and your feedback has already been forwarded to the team for corrective measures.

Looking forward to welcoming you again
Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I will keep the review very short.

Pros -

1) Amazing property
2) Some victorian era door handles, tables, sofas and fire place still preserved.
3) Very well located.

Cons -

1) Terrible food and very overpriced. The mozzarella cheese we ordered was made of stale cheese. GARLIC was mixed in our tea - Disgusting.... Brekfast - Poories were cold, Chole had a very Red color color taste which put us off.
2) Front office people did not have a clue about the current market rates of taxis - Twice when we tried for help from them to arrange taxis.... we were asked to pay more than market rates.
3) No hot water in our room - Someone had closed the main pipe which brings hot water to our room (Wonder why)
3) Quite expensive - I paid Rs 5,000 for each day
4) I was given the sapling as promised in our package......

Conclusion -

1) Stay in this property if you can eat outside and want see the british property well preserved
2) Some good professional people - like Ms Jeni from Reservations and the guy who places firewood in the room.


Personally, I will not stay again.

Room Tip: Choose only Macbeth or Hamlet room in 'Deluxe' category as these are the only rooms which pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgsiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Kings cliff

We have noted that whilst you enjoyed certain aspects of the property like the ambience and location, there were certain services and facilities that you did not. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and your feedback has already been forwarded to the team for corrective measures.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back so that we can provide you with a more positive impression.

Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel is located opposite to Willow Hill and before Hotel Monarch. The last leg of the approach road is narrow. The hotel is on a hill with a good view of the Ooty town. Though the view is available only at the end of the property where there are 3 deluxe rooms. The hotel has parking area, garden, and restaurant. The main building has 3 deluxe rooms (Windsor, Midsummer and Tempest). These rooms are large with bathtub in bathrooms. Also there is adjacent building which was constructed later and has 3 deluxe rooms (Othello, Hamlet, Macbeth). These 3 rooms have the valley view. All deluxe rooms have functional fireplace and the service boy was generous in supplying logs. Though the wood was damp and took an effort to keep it burning. But that itself is an experience to be cherised. The bed was comfortable. I will not rate the service too high for some minor misses. Apart from deluxe rooms, there are standard rooms which is strictly no unless you want to use the room just for sleeping. But for that better and economical option will be available right at the Charring cross, heart of the town.
The in-house restaurant is named Earls Secret and is quite famous in Ooty. A preferred dining destination to celebrate special occasions. So it is on costlier side and on the average, a single meal will cost 1000 - 1500 for 2 adults. The breakfast included in the tariff is tasty and healthy with various options. Overall, the food is tasty and authentic.
Directions to reach the hotel:
At Ooty you will have to come to the St Stephens church junction. At this junction if you face the St Stephens church gates, to your right there will be a road going along the compound of the church. Take that road and after about 250 mts at the next junction you can see a blue colour Kingscliff board to your left. Follow the arrow on that board and also the Kingscliff boards you will see thereafter. Hotel Monarch board (white color) is more prominent and easier to follow. Willow Hill is a red color building that comes on the right side. Just opposite to it, there is a sharp U-turn on the left for Kings Cliff gate.
In GPS, the lat, long of the hotel is 11.420077,76.698271. But this coordinate need to be used as a guide and the route suggested by any GPS device should not be followed blindly without prior study. My garmin unit 50 LM many times does not suggest the right roads. Some roads are narrow and very steep and so not suitable for cars.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe rooms. Standard rooms are not spacious, not adequate ventilation and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritwick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for taking time to give your positive comments on the ambience and food of the hotel. We sincerely look forward to the privilege of serving you again.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The place is nice, but I don't think it deserves all the good comments present on the website.The room is very humid, the walls have some mold. Too expensive.Also the breakfast could be improved. The service and people are nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback following your stay at Kings Cliff, Ooty

We do appreciate your positive comments about the Service but are sorry to note that there were some aspects of your stay that you did not enjoy and that we were not able to meet or exceed your expectations in some of the hotel services.

Guest feedback is of vital importance to us to improve on the services and facilities that we provide to our guests and your comments have already been taken up with the relevant department for corrective measures.

Thank You
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

An en joyful experience....Overall from rooms till food, enjoyed each and every moment.
The ambiance and the beauty of the hotel makes us to come back..
Excellent food again gives an identity to the resort..
We had a great time one small suggestion kindly fix signage as it is very difficult for a tourist er to get on top of the cliff from the city and include some in house activities..

I would recommend this to be the best at Ooty..

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomboy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Kings Cliff , Ooty

Your kind comments about the location and food as well as your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated and has already been discussed with the team at Kings Cliff
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

one of the best places to treat your taste buds in Ooty. an old bungalow converted into a hotel. Good food and amazing ambiance. try to book early and get a seat next to the fire place. the Continental selection is good.

Room Tip: book early as they have limited rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RahulDMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Kings Cliff. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the location and ambience but also the food our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#4 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,012 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
816 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Address: Havelock Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £36 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing