We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do much better.”
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King's Cliff
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
540 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Could do much better.”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

To start of with, dont let them flog you the Verona suite, a blind, dark room looking out on a pile of rubbish at the back of the hotel.
After being shown the room and threatening to go and sleep somewhere else, I was upgraded to a front facing room with a decent view. The ceiling was very high and the room terribly cold at night despite the log fire. There was a dangerous hole in the floor leading to the bathroom. Hot water is only available at times...
I found the place interesting but quite uncomfortable.
Breakfast was very nice. The staff were charming.
They need to spend some money upgrading their accomodation. Heritage does not have to be shabby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    138
    34
    18
    15
See reviews for
156
124
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

It is once of the oldest Hotal in Ooty,It is a nice atmosphere , good hospitality , Very good accommodation, and Tasty food , ALL IN ONE PLACE. If you want to know the "Earls secret , please see the photo attached with this review..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGVenkateshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here for a day. Each room is named and we stayed in Hamlet. Hamlet had a small veranda with chairs to relax and have tea/coffee facing the lawn outside.
Spacious bathroom and TV was provided. We could not find any plug points for charing the mobiles, had to remove the bedside lamps and use that to plug and charge.
It has the fireplace with chimney and no extra charges for the fire. Johny is the person who helps you with these. Very friendly person.

This is located on top of a hill away from the traffic, crowd and noise. Yet very close to the down.
Just get down the hill you are close to collectors office in ooty, go up the hill and have a quiet stay and best view. If you get up early morning, you shall sit on the lawn and see the birds around.
Bullbull, sparrows and hummingbirds are commonly seen.

Very beautiful house which was constructed 150 years back, now converted into a place to stay. Good british style interiors, Glass house, dining room again with a british interiors.

One of the finest place for food. Many just walk in for food alone. Ask for the rooms facing the lawn and garden. There are rooms which are inside the dining area with little privacy.

Food is excellent.

Points to remember

1. No plug points for charging mobiles (one need to remove the bedside lamps and then plugin your stuff)
2. No mineral water bottles, local water served in flask.
3. Hot water available from 6:30 am/pm to 9:30 am/pm (during other time, you need to inform them)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kthanigai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent 3 nights here and very much enjoyed the atmosphere. The rooms do vary somewhat and I would recommend the deluxe rooms inside the main building as the best. Service was great, the restaurant has a great menu and everything we tried was excellent. Wifi sort of works around the lounge area but intermittent. Shekyr, the house keeper is a gem, always there to help and get your fire going in the evening and the live music in the evenings is unique. A great place to wind down for a few days.

Room Tip: Only go for the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is an atmospheric property in a nice location in the hills above Ooty. The lobby, lounge and restaurant rooms are full of antique furniture and very welcoming. The open fireplaces, lit at night, are a very nice touch. The menu in the restaurant was extensive, excellent value, and the food of very good quality.

The rooms, however, seem to vary in quality and comfort. The ones featured on the hotel's website look very nice; ours was somewhat less so. We did not have a view over the valley (some do have a partial view). The room was not quite as clean as we would have liked - some stains on the sheets, and the whitewashed walls were very dirty and desperately needed painting.

The quality and selection of food at breakfast was a little disappointing given how high quality the food at dinner had been (for example no fresh fruit or fresh fruit juice). However it was acceptable.

The staff were generally helpful and friendly, especially the housekeeper. There IS wireless internet (despite the hotel's website saying there isn't).

Overall we really enjoyed our stay; it was excellent value for money, a little rough around the edges, but perfectly acceptable for the price charged.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We had an exquisite lunch in the beautiful glass restaurant in the well kept garden of this nice hotel. Indian cuisine at its very best served by professionel and very kind waiters. We did not stay in the hotel but they showed us a couple of their rooms - British colonial style, very charming. When we ever go back to Ooty we shall definately book this hotel.
Peter, Copenhagen, Denmark

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aasesylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Well, for starters, it has been a year since our visit to King's Cliff and all I can fondly remember about the place is the courtesy that was extended to us and the wonderful food. The place, as such was under renovation mostly when we went there and our room was not that very comfortable. I loved the steak though.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 82 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Property: King's Cliff
Address: Havelock Road, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing