We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting property in a quiet location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King's Cliff
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enchanting property in a quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My review of King's Cliff is quite overdue. It's been almost 5 months since we spent a couple of nights at this property. (last week of Dec). The drive to the Ooty from Bangalore was fairly straight forward. However, it did take some time to locate this property since there wasn't much signage available on the roads. I wish that were a little better. I would also recommend that you have proper transportation if you were to locate this place.

We reached this property well after their lunch hours (around 330 pm). Despite that, the staff at their restaurant (Earls Secret) went out of the way to ensure that we were served as if it were just past noon. Not to mention the food was delectable. Coming to the property, it would make you feel as if you were in a Dickens book. Takes you back in time. We were booked into a room with a private sit out named Othello. Loved the fact that all the architecture from the original mansion was preserved with minimal restoration. The fireplace in the bedroom was the icing on the cake. You could have it lit during winters. In addition, the hotel would also place an electric heater in your room should you require. The bathroom was large with a separate shower area. However, it would have like it to have brighter lighting. Menu at the Earls Secret is quite elaborate and quite affordable. Not to mention, food is brilliant. No wonder the restaurant is listed #1 in Ooty. You could order food to be served in your room or else eat at the restaurant and soothe your ears to some live music. The property is conveniently close to most attractions in and around Ooty. Finally, we were gifted with a couple of saplings of Periwinkles from their garden while departing. With subtle improvements to signage, lighting and online booking experience (currently, you cant book online) this B&B can quickly move up the ranks.

Room Tip: Recommend Othello (Deluxe room). The room comes with a really nice sit-out with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epicurious263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    134
    34
    18
    15
See reviews for
150
124
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked this hotel directly though the Little Earth group reservation desk. Being away from the town centre of Ooty is a blessing in disguise. With no honking cars and fresh, crisp mountain air you will feel refreshed. The boutique hotel retains the character of the original 100+ year old bungalow. With fireplaces in every room and in the common rooms, live music and a great restaurant will keep your evenings delightful. If you do not have your own car and still want to visit Ooty, take a short downhill walk to the Auto stand opposite St. Stephens Church. If a relaxing holiday is what you seek, this is a cosy place. Some of the staff in their effort to ensure your comfort become too inquisitive. If you have young kids with you, do carry board games to keep them entertained (although there's TV in the room). Overall a good place

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Kings cliff is a colonial mansion converted to a bed and breakfast. We spent a night here recently and had a nice time. We stayed in " othello". The room was clean looked recently painted. Bathroom was modern. The best part was the view and sitting in the lawns in early morning sunshine! Lil far away from the town but that's what we liked! Our visit was marred by the food though. The restaurant which has such rave reviews was probably having an off day. Food was cold both for dinner and breakfast and not so good..

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SJluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Booking done through Goibibo website.
Check in on 19/4/14 and check out on 20/4/14.
Difficult to find... faraway from town... go only if you have your own transport... no signboards.. u need to used gps/maps...
The Place is old and not well maintained... heritage property is when it is old and well maintained...
On arrival front office clerk says ...they said no booking in my name. I called goibibo helpline and Goibibo website helpline person says room very much available and booking was confirmed by the reservation clerk called jenny, payment also made.
Front desk lady was totally not interested in helping as if it was my mistake in coming there. Goibibo helpline says mistake is on the hotel and they have given my room to someone else...which the hotel did not accept... usual DENIAL mode as expressed in many of the other POOR reviews here on trip advisor.
I saw a neatly dressed guy in a coat leaving the place and stopped him after he got inside his car and asked him if he was the manager. I have never heard of people in trouble going in search of the manager and escalating the issue to him instead of the people working there. I was forced to do this as the front office lady was a not interested in helping. Had she escalated the issue to the manager herself i would not have wasted an hour of my holiday time there.
Finally the manager said the same... its not his fault... booking.com, goibibo.com are all cheats he says... and finally said there is a vacant room in another nearby hotel, within my budget of 4k, he said go there for tonight and get a refund from ibibo.
The goibibo helpline people repeatedly called to say not to leave kings cliff hotel as it is the hotels mistake and they will arrange the alternate accommodation at no cost to me.
Having waited an hour and seeing it start to rain I surrendered... with broken spirits... i was coerced to leave. No auto / taxi available nearby too. At least they helped me by giving me a lift to the alternate hotel.
The goibibo website people were very helpful and kept following up with me and the next day while checking out of the alternate hotel I was surprised to note the room and breakfast was paid by Kings Cliff hotel. None of this was mentioned earlier to me.
Not a word of apology from Kings Cliff, but they took care of my bill of room 3500 and breakfast of 400 which shows what kind of crooks they were... they probably sold my room to someone with cash as it was a long weekend being good friday / easter weekend and made a good profit on my booking.

Room Tip: Go only if you have your own transport... I heard the food is good but expensive in the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farhatjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,
At the outset we are extremely sad that you had a bad experience.Very honestly we had no idea that this booking was done by Go Ibibo as we are using a booking interface Channel Manager. and there were some initial teething issues.There was definitely no intention of cheating you at all.When we realized that it was an automatic confirmation , we paid the difference of amount and put you up in another hotel.The booking you had done was for the lowest category but we paid a higher amount so that your holiday was not spoilt.
As it was the busiest weekend of the year, we were not able to offer your alternate accommodation in one of our properties.In any case we are extremely sorry that you had a bad experience although it was very unintentional on our part.
We hope you will be able to book with us in the future so we can change your opinion of our hotel
With best Regards
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerala
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at kings cliff en route to palakkad from bandipur. Found the hotel with some difficulty....no sign boards. Even the board at entrance can be easily missed. Better to ask for Earl's secret at ooty town to get directions. Check in was smooth. Room was just next to reception. Its a large colonial bungalow. ..so the adjoining room was the restaurant. Won't be making any comments on the room as its not correct to criticise a 150 yr old property. If you want modern rooms with all other facilities like play area, entertainment zone etc look somewhere else. You will get decent food and the fire place is the only attraction. No decent view from the room / resort. Kids get bored due to lack of activities. Staff is very helpful and courteous. The restaurant is their main venture and the rooms are just add ons. Don't expect any thing more than bed breakfast and fire place!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adithya07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've been eating here for about 10 years now, even stayed once. Food is great, limited menu but great taste. Ambience, surroundings, service are all spot on. Rooms are not exactly luxurious but full of antique furniture and quaint.
Would I recommend? Yes, especially for couples looking for a peaceful holiday

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

King's Cliff is an old colonial style property maintained in its old grandeur, under the possible economic constraints.
The approach is through the winding road from Charing cross building up the hill station excitement and leads up to the lawns of this property.
The food here is good served well but the wait period is very high. But you don't mind that as you have come here to relax. It is priced higher than it deserves.
But still worth a visit due to its standing in the history of the station and well cooked and tasty food.
Be careful to find a place away from the kitchen in the dining hall otherwise the smoke and smell will interfere with your dining experience.
Lot of room for improvement.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JK_Chawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.0 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#6 of 78 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Property: King's Cliff
Address: Havelock Road, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing