We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed for 5 days at Nahar Hotel Nilgiris. It was a week ago. It was raining heavily. The security would come with an umbrella till the car. Making a call for room service was a pleasure. The voice on the other end was very cordial, willing to listen and the food would arrive piping hot on time. The house keeping staff were very concerned. I asked for a heater it arrived without any reminder services. You get yummy north,south,Italian food. The ajwin roti,Achari paneer, dhal makani,mulgatwani soup ,idly,pure south Indian Coffee , pasta are all cooked so well. Sitting in the lobby one gets the warmth of the hearth. The fish tank tucked at the corner is a treat to the eyes. Above all the wash rooms are clean. Nahar Hotel have a caption "we care for you". This is indeed very true. They really take care. Everything here is exceeding good. When at the Nilgiris don't stay anywhere else but The Nahar. Anitha. S. Bangalore.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1,234,098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Location .. In the heart of the city. Well maintained & well managed hotel.We booked Privilege Three Bedded Room, that was very spacious , neat & clean. Food : Chandan Restaurant - Very good punjabi food, there is a restaurant within the hotel for Pizza, the Pizzas were delicious.staff was cooperative . Service was good . Value for money.....

Room Tip: we booked Privilege Three Bedded Room that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

One of the best hotels in the Ooty for Vegetrians.. Right in the heart of the city, with ample car parking.
Excellent & Good, fast Service service and high quality good..
Good value for food.
Try out thier South Indian Meals. Best of the lot

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rKarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is heaven for ppl seraching for good food in ooty. I tasted north indian dishes, whichever I tried was really good. We stayed for 3 days in ooty and had our dinner only there. They arranged cab drop to mysore also for us. The can was good and driver too, very soft spoken and good driving skills.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ranipChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I had to stay in this hotel as there was some goof up done by my resort where i had to stay for a week, hence this review.
The major advantage of staying in this hotel is its location, bang on the charring cross on the busy commercial road of Ooty. Else there is nothing great to stay in this hotel, the rooms are average, considering the price charged , i feel their tariffs are bit over priced. But i feel the location demands this.
I would not suggest for people to stay during the weekends, as it overcrowded, the parking area is jam packed, the common areas are also full with people, i think this is the least that any one expects on a Holiday in a hill station.
The other advantages are that there are Pure vegetarian restaurants within the same complex, one being Chandan which is open for Lunch & Dinner which basically serves the North Indian fare and the other is the Garden restaurant which is open for snacks.
Overall, it is an average place to stay, don't expect any great service from the staff here during the peak season, such is the crowd who throng this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms away from the parking lot and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The hotel is at the center of OOty ... So not a good place if you are planning your honeymoon... Its very crowded. Its got average rooms. Lots of mosquitoes... If you are planning a short stay at OOty this is fine... There is only one costly vegetarian restaurant by Nahar. Its too costly... There are no better hotels I could find around also

Room Tip: There is a drainage at the other side of the hotel. So ask for a room in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neekrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We arrived in Ooty late without a reservation in the middle of school holidays and family time .
A much more expemsive hotel referred us to the residences attached to this hotel ...but we realised that later.We stayed in the hotel proper.

We managed to bargain the room price down a little as we were short of cash and they said they took credit cards. The room was old but clean although I insisted they change the bedsheets. There was no fan nor air conditioning but at the time of year we were there that was ok.

Staff happily supplied extra towels and soap, and when we couldn't find a close internet cafe because of power cuts, offered the use of the office computer. The shower was hot and the beds comfortable. Although the hotel had a cafe attached we ate in restaurants across the road (where the food was superb). where locals were eating as we wanted the "real Indian" food. The staff also found some other foodstuffs we required.It was an excellent central location.

Room Tip: Request a room away from Indian families who tend to enjoy themselves at full volume.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,224 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sabol Holiday Resorts
Sabol Holiday Resorts
#25 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
215 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hill Country Lovedale
Hill Country Lovedale
#32 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#15 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#24 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holi...
#4 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel

Address: 52-A, Charing Cross,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £33 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nahar hotels has been established in 1978, Renovating and updating the ambiance and amenities to the latest trends has always been our priority. Do visit our Sidewalk cafe which has been featured on Highway on my plate series(on NDTV). Do not miss our Indian speciality restaurant called Chandan and the South Indian coffee shop called the Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing