We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chandan-Nahar's Veg restaurant Simply superb!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
266 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Chandan-Nahar's Veg restaurant Simply superb!!!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had been to nahar -Chandan for diner,The food ,service and staff were simply superb.This is one of the best restaurants in ooty.
Even though there were very few restaurants open during diwali holidays,and all the restaurants were busy,we waited for 5 -10 mins and got a seat to sit.The service and food taste was awesome.Special thanks to the service staff(though very limited) handled the show extremely professionally and well.Food came very quickly.
NAHAR SERVICE STANDARDS-FIRST CLASS.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAZZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    67
    38
    20
    22
See reviews for
88
48
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Location...location...location! It could not be better placed, right at the heart of the city and within walking distance of all those shops selling yummy home-made chocolates and bakeries with fresh goodies, and of-course the Botanical Garden too. The lobby is rather dull...could do with a modern touch. Rooms are cozy and clean; clean and spacious bath. Room service is prompt and helpful. The family-sized umbrella hung in the rooms is a nice touch, was very helpful as it rained frequently during our 4-day stay. The travel desk offers many value options for sight-seeing...go for it. The South Indian food is excellent...yummy idlis at breakfast; Chandan serves a great thali too. But - no offence meant - nothing beats Sarvannas at their South Indian snacks, which is also walking distance from the hotel. The feather in the cap is the pizzeria at the front of the hotel with wood-fired ovens.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoulHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel has 2 buildings, one new building and one older building. The hotel management always tries to push us to the older building which is not very clean, service is not very great too.
In the morning when we switched on the bathroom tap, almost brown or red water and we were shocked. When we showed it to the management, there was no much serious reaction from the management and after hours they finally cleaned the tank and gave us some not so clean but not so dirty better water.

Room Tip: Always choose the new building which faces the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinayPradhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed for 5 days at Nahar Hotel Nilgiris. It was a week ago. It was raining heavily. The security would come with an umbrella till the car. Making a call for room service was a pleasure. The voice on the other end was very cordial, willing to listen and the food would arrive piping hot on time. The house keeping staff were very concerned. I asked for a heater it arrived without any reminder services. You get yummy north,south,Italian food. The ajwin roti,Achari paneer, dhal makani,mulgatwani soup ,idly,pure south Indian Coffee , pasta are all cooked so well. Sitting in the lobby one gets the warmth of the hearth. The fish tank tucked at the corner is a treat to the eyes. Above all the wash rooms are clean. Nahar Hotel have a caption "we care for you". This is indeed very true. They really take care. Everything here is exceeding good. When at the Nilgiris don't stay anywhere else but The Nahar. Anitha. S. Bangalore.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1234098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Surat, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Location .. In the heart of the city. Well maintained & well managed hotel.We booked Privilege Three Bedded Room, that was very spacious , neat & clean. Food : Chandan Restaurant - Very good punjabi food, there is a restaurant within the hotel for Pizza, the Pizzas were delicious.staff was cooperative . Service was good . Value for money.....

Room Tip: we booked Privilege Three Bedded Room that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

One of the best hotels in the Ooty for Vegetrians.. Right in the heart of the city, with ample car parking.
Excellent & Good, fast Service service and high quality good..
Good value for food.
Try out thier South Indian Meals. Best of the lot

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rKarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is heaven for ppl seraching for good food in ooty. I tasted north indian dishes, whichever I tried was really good. We stayed for 3 days in ooty and had our dinner only there. They arranged cab drop to mysore also for us. The can was good and driver too, very soft spoken and good driving skills.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ranipChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.4 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#19 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#24 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holi...
#4 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel

Property: Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Address: 52-A, Charing Cross,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nahar hotels has been established in 1978, Renovating and updating the ambiance and amenities to the latest trends has always been our priority. Do visit our Sidewalk cafe which has been featured on Highway on my plate series(on NDTV). Do not miss our Indian speciality restaurant called Chandan and the South Indian coffee shop called the Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing