We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Small rooms and No Lift”
Review of Hotel Darshan Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Service, Small rooms and No Lift”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I visited Ooty during the end of August and booked in Hotel Darshan purely because of good reviews and ranking in Tripadvisor. The following aspects were good:
Decent Service, decent breakfast, good service and approachable management.
However, the following were not very good. For one, we did not get the room that we had booked and paid for on the internet - which is very bad. The bedroom size in their suite is actually smaller than their regular room - which itself is rather small. It is a bit away from the city and going anywhere could be a bit of a problem. There is no lift so if you have anybody who find it difficult to climb a lot of steps, this is definitely not the hotel for them.

Room Tip: Do not choose the suite - it is very small. Lower floors may mean you climb lesser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKS_Iyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    261
    96
    34
    40
See reviews for
291
261
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orissa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is my 4th visit to Darshan ,Ooty is one of my favorite place and as usual i always prefer to stay at Darshan Hotels, When ever we reach to ooty from banglore Hotel vehicle Mr Anand will come to receive us at bus stand . a very homely atmosphere in this hotel with extra care and very safe for the family & couples, The room interiors are slightly changed with new Lcd Tv etc etc... about the food only veg with great taste, veg mancho soup is really good over here, over all it was a very good stay as usual special thanks to MR. Giri, with full of new ideas to visit the places on our every visit and Mr. Raja, Mani, Mubarak, David, Ram and New chap Senthil, Kannan. very polite staff and excellent team work Keep it up. see you again on December 30th.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank amrita_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I booked this Hotel as My friend suggested me to stay only in Darshan, i was very surprised to see this picturesque hotel.My room was 503 on 5th floor super deluxe facing lake view, all the round very good staff well maintained rooms and room service, the most lovely is Darshan tasty Food, we really enjoyed it, and thanks to Mr. Raja Front Office exec about travel and sight seeing tips, the vehicle booked was also good and Mr Krishnan a very decent driver helped us a lot to take us to various points. All my regards to Darshan staff to make our stay a very memorable one. and surely to come back again next year. Wish you all the best and thank you for the best service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank alokh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

After reading the review in tripadvisor.com I decided to book this hotel, and i was not treated as a customer but treated as their guest, which i have never experienced any where, i was very happy staying in hotel darshan. They serve veg food which is up to the mark, very good quality food and taste and most helpful is darshan staff very polite the knowledge which i got from them about the sightseeing in ooty is very helpful especially Mr. Giri the guest relation manager.The top most in Darshan is, wounder full lake view from the the room. i will surely suggest to my friends and relatives to stay in darshan only.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank chandra_menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews here. Since I joined TripAdvisor(2009), I book hotel only after reading reviews. I always trust with TripAdvisor. But this time we had completely made wrong decision.

Rooms & Rate:
Rooms are tiny, dark, and unclean without any amenities. Our room’s bath room window glasses were in broken condition. Provided window curtain was bit smaller than the window size; so we are directly visible from outsid. Overall it is not good value for money (I paid 4500 for 2 nights)

Room Service:
I am a diabetic’s person, so I ordered sugar free Tea; every time they big tea added with sugar after 30 minutes… Then I asked to change it... it again took another 30 minutes. On first morning I called room service for tooth brush and paste. They bring it almost 1.30 hours after I made 3-4 calls.

Parking:
They are having very little parking space which can hold only 4-5 cars which is surely not enough.

I am not sure how this hotel is receiving this much of appreciation in TripAdvisor? Still confused! May be reason why I visited in Peak Season (May)!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sundar_amu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I choosed my stay at Darshan Hotel based on trip advisor reviews and I must say that I don't regret the decision. The Hotel location, with unobstructed and panoramic views of the entire Lake. The room is quite decent and clean too.

Food at their restaurant is very delicious. Food quality is excellent and ambience is truly amazing. Small hotel though, the services with smiles makes u feel homely.

The service at the restaurant by Mr.Shendil is really Good..

Room service is good...

Room Tip: Better to take room details,if u r booking online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas_bob2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Hotel Darshan, is a very well located hotel. The staff are good and friendly. The rooms are comfortable but need a bit of upkeep and maintenance. The restaurant serves very good south indian food.

The parking space is also good. Overall experience is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrijughosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
3.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#23 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darshan Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darshan Ooty

Property: Hotel Darshan Ooty
Address: Woodcock Road | Near Lake Boat House, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#12 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darshan Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Darshan, a home away from your home is well known for its hospitality, services and tongue tingling vegetarian cusine. It is located on the best serene location in Ooty just opposite to the Boat House, having an entire view of the Ooty lake from every window. Hotel Darshan is surrounded by virgin greenery escaping from sound and air pollution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Darshan Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darshan Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Darshan Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing