We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel and not worth for the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Darshan Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel and not worth for the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The so-called super deluxe room was dirty. The carpet on the floor was not cleaned. Cockroach smell. No lift available. We need to climb stairs. There was no fan in the room. It started sweating at midnight. Toilet flush was leaking. The room was not clean daily and the bedsheet was not changed daily. Hotel food was good but the service was bad. Overall, it was not worth for the money that we spent for the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank aishwaryagopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    257
    91
    31
    36
See reviews for
277
259
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

i have booked this room on seeing the rating on TripAdvisor as no 9 in ooty and booked the room called the hotel to get confirmation, they said my booking is unconfirmed and said me to pay money on there bank account to get room confirmed by seeing the rating i deposited money.
i left to ooty on 26-5-12 to check in and they made me wait for 20 minutes to give the room
super deluxe room for 2500 + taxes 500 rs was booked by me, it is in 2 nd floor with dirty balcony and they came to the room and asked the cash deposit slip, they could have checked in their account.
(photos attached) standard rooms in the first floor and suites in third floor more you you to walk no lift.it has view of lake when u see from balcony.
room was suffocation no air ventilation i have open the door or big windows without grill for ventilation i was sweating inside the room at such a cold place if i open the door i am getting mosquitoes inside, requested for fan the said it is given to standard room users but i have paid more for deluxe room without fan and they gave a goodnight machine after requests. bed spread full of hairs requested to change but was not changed . they will not have bottled water we have use the drinking water filled by them in jug.
restaurant is veg and food is good. and i have no secured car park only 5 cars can be parked and rest on the road, but they provided for restaurant customers only, so securtiy can make more tips. my overal experience is pathetic and i will be back to ooty but not to darshan, please see the pictures attached.

Room Tip: no rooms are good not worth for money we pay except the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranjith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it’s set a little farther from the hustle and bustle of the main city. However, it’s not that far too. Probably a 15-minute walk from the bus depot. The other good thing is the balcony alongside the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. But those are the only positive things Hotel Darshan has got.
Right from the check-in, things were amiss. We had booked 3 rooms for 3 families for 2 days. On arrival, we were made to wait for an hour and then given just 1 room. The other 2 rooms took 2 hours to be arranged. I was asked to check into a room which I had to vacate the next day and shift to another. So much so for hospitality. Also,our laundry was refused, whereas we saw other guests submitting their laundry much later than we requested. On the top of that, I was charged for the laundry which they had refused. I had to wait endlessly for them to correct my bill.
We decided to have lunch while the room was being arranged. Imagine our shock when we were informed that the kitchen doesn’t get operational till 1.30.
Room service is non-existent or ultra-slow. We had ordered tea twice. After reminding the restaurant over the phone, I was told that the tea was “on-the-way”. The on the way took 25 minutes to arrive. I could have as well gone into the city and had my cuppa.
Every time we visited the reception, there were different people. The earlier attendants never inform of any communication with the guests to the next ones causing problems for guests. Sometimes, the drivers of the guests keep chatting in loud voices disturbing the 1st floor guests.
Cleanliness is okayish.However,my parents room had a leaking bathroom roof and almost all ceilings have flies sticking to them.
One good thing is that they have bus service from Ooty-Mysore and the road is really scenic.But the moment I reached Mysore,I received a call from the hotel manager claiming that I had not paid for the bus trip,whereas I paid the amount upfront in cash.I wasnt even given tickets as a proof. Also,none of the staff has name tags.So the guests ha no way of remembering who he has been dealing with.
If I return to Ooty, I ll love to stay near hotel Darshan, but avoid it.

Note – They have cottages as well. Just hope that the service is better.
Paid 1400 for a standard room + 200 for the Ooty - Mysore drop

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are big and require least climbing.2nd floor rooms have a huge balcony with a swing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniruddha_Anavkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed at hotel Darshan in May 2012 with family and absolutely loved the location & view from my room on 3rd floor.
Pros:
* Breathtaking view of Ooty lake & boathouse from virtually any floor (which you'd miss terribly if staying in a lodge inside the Ooty town).
* Room service was prompt & courteous, and attended to my needs within reasonable time.
* No problem with hot/cold water supply round the clock.
* They arrange decent daily sight seeing trips by mini-bus / cab; I opted for the minibus ride & went around Ooty on two days in this. It worked out cheap and also best for my needs.

Cons:
* This place is about 1.5 km away from the town centre which is no big deal, but if you're travelling without own car/vehicle, it can be tedious to get to the hotel after late evening.
* There are no lifts/escalators which means if your room is on 5th floor you'd climb a good many steps which would exhaust you after a day's sight seeing!
* Hygiene factor was found a tad missing (as I hear is the case with entire Ooty town), there were a lot of house flies all around the place, including inside the room & restaurant. Had to summon room services guys twice for getting the room cleaned on the same day morning, as they only use a broom and not use any mop / disinfectant etc. inside the room.
* Booked a room two weeks prior to my journey and reached this place around 5:30am from Bangalore. Was made to wait about 1 hour in the early morning with my two little kids & wife for getting a room vacant ! They could definitely do better to inform the guests in advance about such waiting time or have some temporary rooms for such contingency purposes.

Neither pro, nor con ! : - Lodge has a vegetarian restaurant in the ground floor which serves decent south Indian fare but felt prices were a bit high. And there's no liquor !

Overall, I would rate this hotel about 4 out of 5. Absolutely loved the scenery from my 3rd floor room. It had ample space in front of every room to relax & laze around if you choose not to venture out also, although there were no independent balconies attached to every room. My two little kids & spouse absolutely enjoyed our stay of 4 days here.

All in all, a good budget hotel if you aren't in the mood to spend on a renowned resort which may offer lots of goodies / amenities far better than this. But then compared to other hotels which fall in the same price band, this had the advantage of a breathtaking location & scenery all around ! And if you travel by own vehicle, no problems about commuting either !

Room Tip: If you are very athletic, opt for rooms on the topmost floor which offers good view of the lake &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisTvpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I loved this place. The rooms could do with a revamp but the fantastic ocation and friendly staff more than make up for it! I would definitely recommend it! :-)

Room Tip: choose one on the top floor with a balcony facing the Ooty Lake.. you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pooja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

One of the best budget hotels.... Me and my girl friend stayed there from 26th april to 29th april.... Let me tell u, it made our trip!
*We booked a mini suite. The room was very clean and far better than what i expected. The room service was excellent. The bathroom was good too.
*The only problem was that i love non-veg and all there was a veg restaurant and there were no other restaurants nearby but the food was good and there was a lot of variety in the menu.
*The main thing was that they were very COURTEOUS.
*Also they arranged for our trips to ooty & conoor and also filmy chakkar trip.
*The view from the balcony is beautiful... lake view as it says... u can sit there and enjoy the view.
* no swimming pool or fitness centre. but who needs one?? its cold :p

The only thing i would say is if i go back to ooty ever i ll be staying at hotel darshan!!

Room Tip: Mini suite was great. Book that but if u can get the luxury suite then may be even better. Best bud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We visisted Ooty in the month of May 2012 and Hotel Darshan offers best view of the Ooty Lake. The ambience in Hotel is very good and clean, the hotel staff are also very courteous. Preferably you have to take rooms in first floor of the hotel as it avoids climbing the stairs. The hotel has a very good veg resturant which offers very tasty food and the atmosphere in resturant is also very hygenic but however you have to have patience to wait as the service is extermely slow.
The road leading to this hotel from the city is poor lit and is bit risky to walk, so be careful if you are walking in street after evening 7 o clock.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alemari104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 79 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
3.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
1.1 mi away
Blue Hills International
1.2 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#12 of 79 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darshan Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darshan Ooty

Property: Hotel Darshan Ooty
Address: Woodcock Road | Near Lake Boat House, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ooty
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#12 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darshan Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Darshan, a home away from your home is well known for its hospitality, services and tongue tingling vegetarian cusine. It is located on the best serene location in Ooty just opposite to the Boat House, having an entire view of the Ooty lake from every window. Hotel Darshan is surrounded by virgin greenery escaping from sound and air pollution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Darshan Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darshan Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Darshan Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing