We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort...above average service..”
Review of Kluney Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kluney Manor
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Had a good time at this resort... the cottages are good, spacious...a true experience of victorian style of living. Would like to specially mention about the lawns and flowers...well maintained and thus, add to the beauty of this resort.

Location: This is located on top of a hill, about 1 km from the main bus stand. The pathway is a steep hill slop and most auto drivers ask for about 80 to 100 INR for a one sided journey uphill. However, you may get a bargain at 60-70 INR if you are lucky to find a decent and honest auto driver. The resort has a very peaceful environment with birds chirping and offers exceptional scenic views.

One should go for classic cottage/vintage cottage as they actually offer the true Victorian experience (not the rustic cottage). There are many Victorian paintings which add to the old world charm. Even the furniture appears to be from the same era.

The staff is fine but not that cooperative and proactive. The staff works mostly in reactive mode. The general manager speaks very less. The staff will express their inability with small things.. apart from a few individuals who feel happy to help.
The lady who takes care of the pathways is always smiling and wishes the guests. (Keep up the Good Work lady!!).

Restaurant serves tasty food at decent prices. The service is slighly on the slower side. Can be improved further.

Room service should be improved.

We had a horrible experience during our stay when our room got filled with smoke at night as the chimney serving as the outlet of the fireplace was clogged up. This was a horrible choking experience, after which the manager on duty agreed to change our room but not without 30 minutes of late night argument.!! They should be a little more considerate towards their guests. Accidents happen, but you got to empathize with your guests.

Pros : Peaceful atmosphere, serene views, greenery, beautiful laws, spacious rooms.
Improvement Areas: Service standards, in-room fireplace (one hour only) and room heater are on a chargeable basis !! (Strange for a cool place like ooty),

Overall it was a good experience and would recommend this hotel to others.

P.S.:- Don't go for a rustic cottage unless you have a serious budget constraint.

Room Tip: Go for "The Dutchess" if you are on your honeymoon.. would be an experience in itself.!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vacati0nist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Kluney Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

After quite some research on the Internet and a lot of reviews from Trip Advisor, I took the plunge to experience this place. Our stay was during Mid August for a couple of nights and this has been quite an experience for us. I say "home" because, this is not a thoroughly "commercialised" resort (Read: Swim pools / face-reflecting floorings / bell-boys / Valet parking / etc..; But, they definitely have a Clean housing and a well maintained lawn around. Toiletries were clean and not shabby. Enough space for our kid to play around / dine-in when ordered at the room. Basic Toiletries includes Towels / Soaps (Medimix) / Shampoos (Clinic Plus) / Hair Dryer. Running Hot Water. Room Heater is available at an additional 100 Rupees. LCD TV, InterCom and Hot-Water Kettle are available in the room.

Pros:
+++ Food; Their Chef / the entire Cook-team did a commendable job. Even our 3 years kid had no issues with this place & all items were delicious.
+++ Location & Accessibility: We drove on our private car from Bangalore and this place is well located for similar drive-in guests. Locating them was quite easy; just reach the club Mahindra Holiday resort, Kluney Manor is less than .5 kms upwards from here. Can't comment about guests arriving from Bus / Train though - as they are clearly located up-hills.
+++ Price & VFM: Definitely worth every penny.
+++ Restaurant & Food: Excellent - on all that we tried (6 different meals including 2 complementary Breakfasts and none of the items repeated, not because we didnot like to, but were so confident / comfortable trying new stuff from their kitchen!). Do try their continentals too, worth it.

Cons:
- Room Service needed a couple of calls whenever needed; Staff were all friendly though. Not much to complain.
- Pillow was a little soiled; Pillow cover was neat though. Found it when my son un-wrapped the pillow covers while jumping around. The Bathroom Towels were little unclean too; I guess they need to improvise on their Laundary department. Having said that, I would live with these minor concerns (one star reduced due to these though). I will definitely consider their properties on my next visit to Ooty.

Room Tip: Rustic Cotteges are newly built cotteges with some good city / Valley views. These are not a part of...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manoji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Amazing view from the hotels lawn, heritage property, isolated from sounds and pollution, overall i can say that if some body wants to spend some peaceful and pleasant time, this is the best choice. But you should have your own transportation if you are opting this hotel, because it is difficult to walk, for any small requirement. I stayed here atleast 15 times and i will continue in future also.

Room Tip: Opt for any room, classic cottage category....
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Location: Just within few minutes from the all the main places.

Rooms: Are well maintained, clean, airy but little bit small.

Exterior: Views are good, surrounded by greenery. Lawns/Garden are big and well maintained. Kids prefer this kind of ground.

Food: Good

Staff: Co-operative.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anirban1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

It was very disturbing to see that cottage was a wall facing, there was a big wall in front of cottage and no balcony to see the view of valley. Please inquire about the cottage location before booking.otherwise it will be a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Atul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The property is excellant.

The view from the Room and Hotel is very good. The Garden of hotel is well maintained and is a very pleasent site.

The food is good.

The breakfast which is complimentary is owefull. No options at all.

You need to have your own vehicle as the resorts is on the top of the hill. The Hotel does not have complimentary pick up and drop to the market place which is surprising for the price charged.

The room is big. The room door latch does not work as these are old cotages. They charge extra for the room heater for which no bill is given. The service is ok.

Overall would not recommend this place. Not at all value for money

Room Tip: Do not choose the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KruthiBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

excellent resort ,cooperative staff , good food , perfect place for family stay , not much far from city advisable to have your own vehicle makes convenient your movement , rustic cottage must try overall very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Amit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#23 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#26 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
144 reviews
1.6 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
809 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kluney Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kluney Manor

Address: Ooty | RK Puram, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £27 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kluney Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Kluney Manor Hotel Ootacamund
Kluney Manor India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing