We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant and unruly staff. Threatening staff kindly keep away”
Review of Kluney Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kluney Manor
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The most pathetic experience . Two couples with two 10 months infant stayed here for a day. We booked the room for 2 nights. The next day they asked us to shift to some other room other than what was committed to and taken advance for. For 12 noon check out they asked us to check out from 10 am. When we packed our luggages to shift to a new room as promised the previous day at the time of check in. The rooms were not ready and would u believe they are asking us to move to some other room after waiting for 2 hours near reception with the babies. Later when we asked for cancellation they threatened us to pay full amount. We went to a extent of taking POLICE help that gross was the situation. We being outsiders they tried all tricks and even threatened us but we did not budge. I will be initiate legal action against them shortly. Travellers kindly be aware of these frauds.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sumeer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Classic Cottage was good but not value for money. You need to ask frequently to start hot running water. Serves Cold Pale Breakfast. If you ask fresh they would charge extra.
Rustic cottages are like Slum Rooms. TV Did not work. Service Attitude is horrible.
You do get ant resort facilities Food Quality was average.

Room Tip: Claasic Cottage only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank IndianRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights . The food was bad, so many flies around, no regular supply of hot water, room service is lousy. The rooms r capacious. No bottle of water served on chkin. Location is gd but need to depend on own transportation.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank RSY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I went with my wife n baby for 3 night stay. Property was very gud and that's d only gud thing at kluny manor. Everything else was bad. The food, the room service, no hot water, De don't have a house keeping team, I would recommend this property for those who don't want anything other than room. There are better properties in Ooty. Search for them.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jeet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were 2 couples traveled together. We booked 2 rooms (Rustic Cottages) while booking you have to be smart in negotiating. Overall property is nice...but room service is really slow, you have to put many reminders for that.
There is hardly any variety for breakfast, they repeat the same menu everyday...even food is ok, not that great.
But overall a decent place within budget (if you can bargain)

Room Tip: We stayed in Rustic rooms with a Lawn view, those were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noopur05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Excellent property well maintained. Has good garden landscape. One can feel cool breeze in the evening and early morning. Property is steep hill and one has to depend on personal transport especially if you are not used to of Hill stay most often. We reached late in the night and must thank the restaurant staff to wait for us. Food is awesome, seems the hotel has good cooks. Buffet breakfast was complimentary and since the hotel had few guest at that point of time we were served anything we chose to eat. South Indian is no doubt excellent.
One short coming is with regard to Housekeeping. There were no remote to for TV it came 30 mnts late. TV power would not switch on I had to struggle and went to sleep. Morning I request a visit but happened one hour late. There was no hot water took few attempts before someone came and switched on from outside. Actually Housekeeping does'nt exist it is all centralised from reception which is maintained by single staff. The property cuts on manpower cost thats the only regret though its heritage property.
Excellent Scenic view.
Its true road to the property is very bad as reviewed earlier.
Some thought on Housekeeping Must..

Room Tip: Avoid Rustic Cottage they need maintenance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhijitsengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Good value for money, prompt service, good ambience, nice Garden,Food quality is exceptional.
No views from inside the room in any category.Beware of the big potholes or manholes due to septic tank right on the middle of the road near the hotel.My car's front wheel fell in it with a huge thud,luckily no damage.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
555 reviews
1.8 mi away
Treebo Whispering Meadows
Treebo Whispering Meadows
#39 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
43 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,072 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#6 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
533 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sabol Holiday Resorts
Sabol Holiday Resorts
#26 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kluney Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kluney Manor

Address: Ooty | RK Puram, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £27 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kluney Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kluney Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kluney Manor Hotel Ootacamund
Kluney Manor India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing