We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
1 review
“very good hospitality”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Check in process is a little slow. Rooms are good.room service is good. Lot of in house activities. Location is a little far from bus stand. Good hospitality. Restaurant food is over priced. Overall good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sreevathsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    212
    67
    24
    27
See reviews for
369
178
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The resort was good but we were very unhappy with the service, especially the F&B dept. The food was bad and not at all up to the standards. I was very much shocked to hear from the restaurant staff that they were off 'BUTTER'. It was very shocking to have the food that was not at all acceptable. I'd rate my stay as average and the food quality and staff service was very poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjunjadeja_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We are happy to hear your positive comments on our resort. However we are extremely concerned about your disappointment regarding the F&B services and we will look into the issue raised by you.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Welcome at the reception was very very warm and good . We are very much happy and delighted as we felt homely . The cleanliness of the room was also outstanding . At the outset we had a very happy holiday stay at the sterling . Hope the renovation takes place faster !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijaya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Sterling Elk Hill is at very close to the Ooty town but it is on top of a hill so don't feel the busy of the town, Resort looks very neat, rooms are very neat although non renovated are not so good ( so opt for only renovated rooms, they have less number of them) restaurant is small and during breakfast and dinner time it is very congested. Overall we enjoyed our stay and next time also we will definitely choose this resort

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simhuu94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this place for 1 day and 2 nights. This place is situated at a very good location. Staff and service is good . Its about 3-4 kms out of city.One of the best places to stay in Ooty.To our surprise they even got an activity center with lot of activities which unfortunately we didn’t had time to use them as it was a shot trip and we reached Ooty quite late.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawanb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was stay in this hotel for two nights, on of the best hotel in the ooty. service, staff, facility is good. we having a wonderfull expirience in this hotel, i planned my next vacation in the same hotel to stay. thanks to staff to provide us a good hospitility.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAHIDRGANI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneshwar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Excellent staff, friendly - good food and service. Second time in sterling and we could see the changes in service and the product. feels good. hope to come back again. Person like Rajkumar in front office was of good help since we made the booking we were in touch with him. Keep up the good work. our best wishes to the team of Elk Hill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raisa2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing