We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good place to relax”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This is our second trip to ooty and This time we got booking in Elk Hill although we wanted Fernhill,so we were little worried but as soon as we reached Elkhill all this worries were changed into surprise the location of the resort was just out of the world, lobby had a old English authentic look, smiling staff,neat and clean room food was excellent and in short we njoyed our stay and rate Elkhill 5 out of 5

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pecty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    221
    69
    24
    27
See reviews for
390
182
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
alapuzha kerala
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A very good place at very good location with excellent service rooms are neat and clean garden is well maintained food is excellent but variety seems to be less and room service takes little too much time.They do a towel folding in the rooms which was new to our kids and they have a very good activity centre and evening games are conducted which was also liked by our children so overall our stay at ooty was very good .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed for two days. Though the stay is just OK, the room service, especially the food service is poor. The location is good. Restaurant is good. Staffs are quiet responsive. Rooms are maintained well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuppuswamy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Thank you for taking out the time to share your review of Ooty - Elk Hill.

We appreciate your positive comments about the rooms, restaurant, location, and staff. Though, it disappoints us that you weren’t happy with the food service. Our executive has already got in touch with you to understand your views on the same.

We have noted down your concerns with respect to food service time and your feedback has been forwarded to the Resort Management Team.

We would like to assure you that we are working towards raising our service standards in all respects. We hope that you will be happy with our timely response to your Food and Beverage requests during your next holiday with us.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daman, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booking for a one-room apartment in the property was done through online. Immediately after the booking, I contacted the staff at the Resort for confirmation, since then till my departure from the place on actual stay, their cooperation was excellent. The location of the resort is superb. It gave a beautiful view of race course, hilly landscape and mountain train movement as a glimpse. Room design and amenities were good. Children enjoyed the manner the housekeeping staff made animal designs out of towels. Restaurant was good and we still remember the taste of herbal soup served to us on the afternoon of our arrival. The complementary breakfast was having an exhaustive menu. The drivers of the vehicles were provided with bedding materials and blanket on rent, which relieved me a lot as my driver was protected from chill weather. Drivers did have full meals at a nominal rate. I shall be staying in the same Resort during my next visit also.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

1) perfect location (but you need to have your own vehicle to be completely independent)
2) great place for kids (they have a special garden with swings for kids)
3) very helpful and courteous staff
4) food is also good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chandu_baba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We reached late in the night (at about 9:30 - 10:00 pm on 2nd Nov 2013). We did call them and informed in advance that we would be late. We had confirmed reservation for 2 rooms. We were 4 adults and 4 kids (1 infant). The room that we were offered was a stinky room that was probably used as a store room. The moment we stepped in, we felt the smell of the dampness. Even kids complained about it.

We refused to check in to those rooms and asked for some livable rooms. The reception staff was adamant and said that all the rooms were occupied and they had none to offer. We decided to sit in the reception itself. After lot of discussions and negotiations, they finally felt pity and at about mid night they arranged a 2 bedroom room in a nearby resort and shifted us there, promising a better room the next morning at the Sterling.

The room that they shifted the next morning was much better (renovated) room. The front desk staff advised us to book in renovated resorts, so that we do not face similar challenges in future.

If the resort staff knows that not all the rooms are livable, then why should they make bookings for those rooms? Should they not remove those rooms from their inventory? They do overbooking (like airlines) expecting last minute cancellations and then offer whatever they have and helpless folks have to just either accept it or suffer.

Stay away for this place is what I would advise.

Room Tip: Ask for Renovated room and on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aruparel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are deeply concerned about your experience in Ooty – Elk Hill.

We have shared your concern regarding the allotment of rooms and upkeep of the rooms to the Resort Management Team at corporate office. We request you to consider your experience as an unfortunate exception and not a norm at Sterling. We would also like to share with you that we are making considerable progress in renovating our resorts. This is being done in phases. We try our utmost in accommodating all our guests in renovated rooms. We understand from the Resort Team that you were shifted to 2 rooms with lovely views the next day in an endeavour to compensate for our inability to serve you well on the night of your arrival.

At Sterling, we are committed to delivering the best holiday experiences to our members and guests.Unfortunately we were unable to showcase this commitment during your recent visit to Ooty – Elk Hill. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better by staying at one of our resorts soon.


Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Out of the world service. excellent staff.. 10/10 (360 Degrees). would love to visit again. Ooty's climate and the staff service just the right combination. Try finding a deal and it would be every penny's worth.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite..!! Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,008 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
784 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing