We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 days. Awesome experience. The food was good but a bit spicy. We were a group of 100 cyclists and it was fun staying in this hotel.The rooms are spacious and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhishekduta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed in elkhill for 3 nights,it was awSm stay rooms were well maintained clean and the view from the room was jusy outstanding and all the staffs are very good and special thanks to Mr.gosh and team they treated us as like a family member. Wonderfull hospitality,they are ready to help with a pleasing smile.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is our secound vist to ooty in the last six months and this time again they gave us elk hill
Their was lot of changes lobby was looking good with known smiling faces in the reception although we asked for a vally facing but we didnt get as the resort was running full.
Food was good rooms were clean although corridors were little dusty due to the rennovation work happening in the rooms

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayaraan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This is our second trip to ooty and This time we got booking in Elk Hill although we wanted Fernhill,so we were little worried but as soon as we reached Elkhill all this worries were changed into surprise the location of the resort was just out of the world, lobby had a old English authentic look, smiling staff,neat and clean room food was excellent and in short we njoyed our stay and rate Elkhill 5 out of 5

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pecty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A very good place at very good location with excellent service rooms are neat and clean garden is well maintained food is excellent but variety seems to be less and room service takes little too much time.They do a towel folding in the rooms which was new to our kids and they have a very good activity centre and evening games are conducted which was also liked by our children so overall our stay at ooty was very good .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed for two days. Though the stay is just OK, the room service, especially the food service is poor. The location is good. Restaurant is good. Staffs are quiet responsive. Rooms are maintained well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuppuswamy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Elk Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Thank you for taking out the time to share your review of Ooty - Elk Hill.

We appreciate your positive comments about the rooms, restaurant, location, and staff. Though, it disappoints us that you weren’t happy with the food service. Our executive has already got in touch with you to understand your views on the same.

We have noted down your concerns with respect to food service time and your feedback has been forwarded to the Resort Management Team.

We would like to assure you that we are working towards raising our service standards in all respects. We hope that you will be happy with our timely response to your Food and Beverage requests during your next holiday with us.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booking for a one-room apartment in the property was done through online. Immediately after the booking, I contacted the staff at the Resort for confirmation, since then till my departure from the place on actual stay, their cooperation was excellent. The location of the resort is superb. It gave a beautiful view of race course, hilly landscape and mountain train movement as a glimpse. Room design and amenities were good. Children enjoyed the manner the housekeeping staff made animal designs out of towels. Restaurant was good and we still remember the taste of herbal soup served to us on the afternoon of our arrival. The complementary breakfast was having an exhaustive menu. The drivers of the vehicles were provided with bedding materials and blanket on rent, which relieved me a lot as my driver was protected from chill weather. Drivers did have full meals at a nominal rate. I shall be staying in the same Resort during my next visit also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.5 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
549 reviews
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Ooty Elk Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Ooty Elk Hill

Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India (Formerly Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#1 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £45 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Ooty Elk Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Sterling Ooty Elk Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing