We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5stars is an understatement 10stars is appropriate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5stars is an understatement 10stars is appropriate.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Staff at sterling elk hill ooty.

Bala, naresh, Daniel, Ramesh, harishankar, Kumar fnb,

Front office staff:
Mgr. Sridhar, raj Kumar, Prakash, manjunath, Pradeep, Gowtham, vignesh.

Travel desk,
Radha krishnan.

House keeping,
Sridhar.

Resort mgr,
Mr. Ghosh.
It's is truely an awesome place with the most amazing staff I have ever come across. Even my 16mth old boy was missing them when we left the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for any department whether it's housekeeping or reception or travel desk or restaurant, so much so even Mr. Ghosh the hotel manager took out time from his busy schedule and sat with us enjoying the most amazing tea in that perfect weather. Mr. Ghosh I cannot begin to Thankyou enough for those amazing 5 days at your resort, I would not just recommend this hotel on trip advisor,but every available place I can. It never felt like I was away from home thanks to the family environment which prevailed in the hotel. A big Thankyou to shree dar and the rest of your staff.
A good thing that was recommended to us was the combo offer on our breakfast and either lunch/ dinner or all three.
I cannot wait till my next trip back to this hotel. Absolutely awesome experience.

Room Tip: No rooms or hotels in ooty have either a fan or an air conditioner fitted in the rooms you have to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burjis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    224
    69
    25
    27
See reviews for
400
185
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The resort is under renovation - so avoid it for the near future, if you chose to stay at least watch-out for the hygiene (or the lack of it). You will be sick very sick. While the staff strive to help you but they can only do so much with such a bad property,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluplantevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

it was beautiful place to stay. its away from the market and it's chaos. the view is awesome. the activity room had good options for the kids. the MC got us playing games and we enjoyed a lot. the food is good but could be better. overall very warm welcome and stay at the resort. the staff was very courteous.

Room Tip: ask for valley view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drSRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have been a member of sterling for almost 2 decades now and have visited around 5 of thier properties across the country. By far and most convincingly, Ooty Elk hill was the worst experience ever. Not sure is it the local management, the time of our visit, the property or was it the change in overall management. Leaking faucets, dents on walls, broken door knobs and worst customer service. Just one person at the reception during peak hour of checkin (12pm) does not speak volumes of seriousness & customer service. I understand they were in midst of renovation, but providing third class rooms and even worse support is not what epitomises Sterling. Hope the management does something about this or take a leaf out of thier Kodai-By the lake's staff services. Our family of 6 faced every single problem possible from check in to check out. The local Ops Manager probably needs to work in a roadside hotel with his attitude and language. Agreed it was the peak season but aren't you guys trained and supposed to be competent enough to handle the rush?

Room Tip: Ask for the valley facing rooms and the one in the main building which houses the front office. Anne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gajmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having paid a decent price for the Hotel Booking almost a month in advance, I expected a wonderful experience with this Resort of Sterling on Elk Hill. But, I was surprised to see the way I was treated. First of all I had booked a Jr. Suite (Lowest Grade Room available with them) but when I had checked in I was told that I am being offered an upgraded room i.e. Deluxe Room.

When I checked in I find the Wash Basin totally choked up and the water doesn't drain out. Even the door latch of the Wash Room jammed and couldn't be used. After contacting the concerned person, we had to wait for half n hour for a plumber to come. Since we had already planned a sight seeing we just handed over the room keys to him to sort out both the things before our return.

On our return we saw there is no water in the taps, again a wait for half an hour to get the water started. After a sigh of relief that we shouldn't have any other problem further... we start using the wash basin and to our surprise the drainage water from the wash basin is now leaking from the drainage pipes and within 5 mins it running all over the floor in the room.

When asked for another room, we are told that there are no room vacant. After more then 2 hours of fight with the person in charge we get a room adjacent to our room. We move in to that room to first see it every thing here is alright but not very surprisingly we find the Wash Basin full of stains and an improper Door Lock to the main entrance of the room.

After a lot of fight with the authority we are told that we may be shifted to a better room next morning. Through out our conversation with the authority since the start we are told Mr. Shridhar (The Manager in-charge) would call/meet us and hear out our concerns. But Mr. Shridhar has no sense of responsibility to even call us(forget meeting us in person).

It was only Mr. Phillips who heard us out, showed us some concern and arranged a decent room the next afternoon.

All in All, This premises doesn't seem to be managed well. (Even the lifts stop working abruptly and need to be restarted).

Specially during Crisis there is no person who takes responsibility and quick action.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milinddoshi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 days. Awesome experience. The food was good but a bit spicy. We were a group of 100 cyclists and it was fun staying in this hotel.The rooms are spacious and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhishekduta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed in elkhill for 3 nights,it was awSm stay rooms were well maintained clean and the view from the room was jusy outstanding and all the staffs are very good and special thanks to Mr.gosh and team they treated us as like a family member. Wonderfull hospitality,they are ready to help with a pleasing smile.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,018 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
792 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing