We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveller rating
557
280
73
26
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
557
280
73
26
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege suite free upgrade excellent resort house keeping travel desk holiday activities special thanks sofa cum bed activity room special mention front office staff approach road f b kids play area restaurant staff memorable stay excellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 970 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Such an amazing place to be in Ooty, completely out of the hustling and bustling and commercial area of Ooty center which is just 10mins away from this hotel. We were amazed by such a lovely property the moment you drive into this hotel you will know you are at a lovely place.

Staffs are wonderful, courteous and helpful. Free breakfast are great to start your day and then head to sightseeing around Ooty. Hotel travel desk will happily arrange for sightseeing tours. If you are early from your tour, don't hesitate to go for buffet dinner at the hotel, menu and preparations are good enough to satisfy all taste buds.

Rooms we booked (Privileged rooms) were well maintained and spacious enough for a small family of 3 or 4 (extra-bed required) and almost all rooms that i could see have amazing view overlooking the hills. This resort has some amazing places within its premises for you to view and admire Ooty natural wonders, such an incredible view from every point of this property.

Finally, we (group of 8 with 3 kids) were satisfied with our stay here for 3 nights. Everything at this property was good. Only drawback was the wait time for Al-carte menu orders at the restaurant and Wifi connection which does need some improvements.

Room Tip: Privilege rooms were great with awesome view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnikRags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Elk Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Ooty – Elk Hill.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
At Ooty – Elk Hill, we aim to bring together nature and hospitality and we are glad that you could make the most out of it. The breakfast menu is one of our many efforts to make sure that our guests enjoy their stay to the fullest. Thank you for commending our highly rated rooms, they are our way of saying that you deserve only the best. We are sure fellow travelers would find your room tip much handy. Thank you for sharing with us the aspects that we need to improve. We have shared them with the Resort Management Team.
It would be a delight to welcome you again in our resorts located across India.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days, when we checked in at this hotel its took almost 45 minutes to do check in when we asked at reception they told gruop checkin is going on that is the reason its got delayed, never received any welcome drinks, check in got delayed and after 1hr received luggage, most of the time we need to call thrice to get any room service, restaurant food is very good but services are very slow, overall expereince was pathetic at this resort, cehck out day we asked for Hotel manager to give our suggestion for improvement but we couldnt got answer from reception that he is busy with meeting. Top Management please look in to this property other wise will go down this wonderful property in future.......

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank vijai81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Elk Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of Elk Hill, Ooty.

We are deeply concerned that you are disappointed with your stay at our resort. The issues that you faced during the check-in process. Please be assured that corrective action is being taken.

At Sterling, we work hard to deliver the best in class vacations to our dear members and guests and we request you to consider this as an untoward exception to our usual standards. We hope you will choose to holiday with us again at one of our pan India resorts and we look forward to the opportunity of pampering you with our signature hospitality.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This was my first time staying at elk hills.The hotel rooms were very clean.the room service was very good.the view from the hotel was amazing.overall,you can definitly stay in this hotel.breakfast was also really good

Room Tip: Best view from hotel room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank narayanan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Elk Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Ooty – Elk Hill.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We were delighted to welcome you to Ooty – Elk Hill and we hope that you choose to holiday with us again in the future. Our resort is aimed at ensuring that our guests can feel rejuvenated and relaxed in the tranquility of the resort’s serene vicinity. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers. We are sure your room tip would come handy.

It was a delight to welcome you, we await the chance to pamper you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

One the best resorts around Ooty. I had some minor hiccups initially but got resolved fairly quickly. Would stay again.

Pros:
1. Rooms are genrously sized and many of them with balcony.
2. Pricing is acceptable.
3. Excellent views from the Hotel.
4. Super generous staff.
5. Excellent buffet spread.
6. Pretty good offers for day tours.
7. Very good resort facilities like, DJ nights, bonfire etc.

Cons:
1. Other than breakfast, a-la-carte items are below average. Though the menu has numerous items, but not everything is what as it says. For example - if you order any variety of pakoras (mixed veg etc etc), you'll get either plain or max an onion pakora :-)
2. Quite far from the city streets if you prefer to walk down to the local eateries. Its not walkable. You need to take private vehicles/cabs.

One suggestion to the hotel management - When you ready the rooms for the next guests, make sure the room amenities work. For example in my case it was TV not working which was although promptly fixed. But I think it's basic and should be checked.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the valley preferably with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gapsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Elk Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Ooty – Elk Hill.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

It delights us to know that there were several aspects that made your stay memorable. We are sure the view from your room must have left you rejuvenated. Our staff members would be delighted to learn that they could impress you with their hospitality. We apologize for the issue related to your TV set and agree with you that it should have been checked before being allotted to you. We also have shared your valuable feedback with the Resort Management Team and assure that we will surely look into these aspects.

Do visit our website to know about our exclusive plans and offers.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

An amazing place to stay with family leaving city life apart. This is my 2nd visit here. This time i selected family suite which is amazing and u feel like home. Apart from this the food was excellent friendly staff makes this place a must visit when in ooty.... Thanks Sterling for such a wonderful property!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank priyanka777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Elk Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Ma'am,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Ooty – Elk Hill.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay. Our resort is aimed at providing a holidaying experience like no other where our guests can connect, spend time with their loved ones and enjoy the hospitality of the highest standard. Providing the customized services and dishing out gourmet are aspects that we take great pride in and we are elated that you could make most out of them.

It was a delight to welcome you! We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews