We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyped up place”
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and the overall experience was average. The reviews of the hotel raised our expectations only to realise it was hyped up. The cottages are mediocre and irrespective of different categories there is not much to differentiate one from the others. Some good things about the hotel are a)the water heater facility in the room, which believe me is very much needed in a place like Ooty, b) parking facility right in front of your cottage. The hotel staff at the reception are very brash and have a don't care attitude, but the room service was good.
The hotel itself is located away from the main part of Ooty and it costs INR 100 to reach the hotel from the commercial hub by an auto-rickshaw. GIven the location of the hotel, you are forced to eat here unless you are stepping out of the hotel. Unfortunately, the restaurant in the hotel is not up to the mark. We had a lunch and two breakfasts and our experience was bad. The food taste was not good and the dosa we had for breakfast was not cooked properly. And on days where they have high occupancy, you only get buffet breakfast for INR 120 (adult) which has Idly, Upma, Paratha, coffee, tea and juice. The quality of this was really bad (idly was sour, upma was very dry) and was definitely not worth the price.

Overall, we felt nothing great about this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girishab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

our stay in Nov 2012 was good, area is very peacefull gives home stay feeling, service was good but some of the basic facilities are missing, need to ask for each and everything.

Thanks
Abhinav mehrotra and jayshree

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choose_Stay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have been there for 3 times with my family and every time we enjoyed our stay. Customer service was excellent and its well maintained. YOu can go around in the property just to have a walk after dinner and its beautiful experience.

I recommend this hotel to everyone. Pricing is good.

A good value for money choice! :)

Room Tip: "Lake facing rooms are excellent."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Location: There is nothing as such lake view here.
Checkin: Too slow, some people paid online but hotel was not aware.
Traveldesk: Most pathetic. They do not know anything about tourist places, distance, connectivity, contact details, opening/closing time absolutely nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Deepawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabithaFOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Hotel Lakeview, Ooty.

Hotel Lakeview, Ooty has 123 individual cottages spread across 8 acres of land. Our hotel property begins on the western boundary of the lake, with a lake frontage of around 400 ft.

Guest feedback is of vital importance to us to improve on the services and facilities that we provide to our guests and your constructive comments have already been taken up with the relevant department heads for corrective measures.

We hope that you will stay with us again and again give us another opportunity to provide you with a more positive impression.

Sincerely Yours,

Sabitha,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stepped in this hotel recently and found the hotel to be averagely maintained and okay to spend some nights with an avg budget. They claim to have different categories of accommodation but i found all more or less similar. All are cottages. Service for food and other items takes long time and if you don't know tamil, you might find the delivery boy looking at you with blank eyes. Rooms were clean and don't expect the linen to be very comforting or new. the flush in the toilet was not working properly and i had to fix it on my own. And yes.. the name suggests you will have a view of the lake, but alas! you dont get view of the lake from all the cottages, may be from some 1st row cottages that too partial. it's located a little far from the main market ares.So, overall if you dont expect too much of service and want some good bed to crash away from the hustle and bustle of the ooty market, you are at the right place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle rows are quiter and you can get a good view of the road and some part of the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhabanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you are looking for a home away from you home where you can enjoy your vacation, then choose HOTEL LAKE VIEW. The cottages with all amenities required for a family to stay. Room service is excellent. Restaurant is full of delicious food to tickle your test bud. The view of the hills from the hotel is awesome. Price is reasonable. I am sure you will love this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitMohapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lake view in ooty is very much with in the reach, neatly furnished cottages with privacy and security. It is very much perfect for honey moon couples. No hidden charges, no unncessary knock at doors, with very responsive service. Its just not a hotel with a compact room and attached bathroom. Its a cottage with fireplace with 2 or 3 rooms with hell a lot of space. And the rate is very reasonable. The taste of the restaurant is also good.

Room Tip: Choose and the bottom of the lake for privacy and quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mechth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
638 reviews
3.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,063 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#28 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,223 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £24 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing