We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
164
384
195
51
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
384
195
51
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages ooty lake room service living room boat house travel desk dining table place to stay children play own vehicle nice location play area hotel is located nice stay railway station main market bus stand
Filter
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and the overall experience was average. The reviews of the hotel raised our expectations only to realise it was hyped up. The cottages are mediocre and irrespective of different categories there is not much to differentiate one from the others. Some good things about the hotel are a)the water heater facility in the room, which believe me is very much needed in a place like Ooty, b) parking facility right in front of your cottage. The hotel staff at the reception are very brash and have a don't care attitude, but the room service was good.
The hotel itself is located away from the main part of Ooty and it costs INR 100 to reach the hotel from the commercial hub by an auto-rickshaw. GIven the location of the hotel, you are forced to eat here unless you are stepping out of the hotel. Unfortunately, the restaurant in the hotel is not up to the mark. We had a lunch and two breakfasts and our experience was bad. The food taste was not good and the dosa we had for breakfast was not cooked properly. And on days where they have high occupancy, you only get buffet breakfast for INR 120 (adult) which has Idly, Upma, Paratha, coffee, tea and juice. The quality of this was really bad (idly was sour, upma was very dry) and was definitely not worth the price.

Overall, we felt nothing great about this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girishab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

our stay in Nov 2012 was good, area is very peacefull gives home stay feeling, service was good but some of the basic facilities are missing, need to ask for each and everything.

Thanks
Abhinav mehrotra and jayshree

Room tip: corner suites are large and sunny
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choose_Stay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have been there for 3 times with my family and every time we enjoyed our stay. Customer service was excellent and its well maintained. YOu can go around in the property just to have a walk after dinner and its beautiful experience.

I recommend this hotel to everyone. Pricing is good.

A good value for money choice! :)

Room tip: "Lake facing rooms are excellent."
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Location: There is nothing as such lake view here.
Checkin: Too slow, some people paid online but hotel was not aware.
Traveldesk: Most pathetic. They do not know anything about tourist places, distance, connectivity, contact details, opening/closing time absolutely nothing.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Deepawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabithaFOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Hotel Lakeview, Ooty.

Hotel Lakeview, Ooty has 123 individual cottages spread across 8 acres of land. Our hotel property begins on the western boundary of the lake, with a lake frontage of around 400 ft.

Guest feedback is of vital importance to us to improve on the services and facilities that we provide to our guests and your constructive comments have already been taken up with the relevant department heads for corrective measures.

We hope that you will stay with us again and again give us another opportunity to provide you with a more positive impression.

Sincerely Yours,

Sabitha,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stepped in this hotel recently and found the hotel to be averagely maintained and okay to spend some nights with an avg budget. They claim to have different categories of accommodation but i found all more or less similar. All are cottages. Service for food and other items takes long time and if you don't know tamil, you might find the delivery boy looking at you with blank eyes. Rooms were clean and don't expect the linen to be very comforting or new. the flush in the toilet was not working properly and i had to fix it on my own. And yes.. the name suggests you will have a view of the lake, but alas! you dont get view of the lake from all the cottages, may be from some 1st row cottages that too partial. it's located a little far from the main market ares.So, overall if you dont expect too much of service and want some good bed to crash away from the hustle and bustle of the ooty market, you are at the right place.

Room tip: Rooms in the middle rows are quiter and you can get a good view of the road and some part of the lake from the front cottages. There is a small area for children to play but not maintained.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhabanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews