We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, comfortable & homely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dayal Lodge - A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #77 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A friend of mine recommended tho hotel. Situated in the city centre the place is exceptionally homely and well managed. Whenever I travel only thing I look for is clean and hyginic bathroom and the place excelled on this front, the bathrooms seem newly built and clean. Food is superb and you must recommend Special Thali. Go experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ShreyaDass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks, place was excellent. Air conditioned, generator for power outages, great food, friendly staff. Very spacious room, made for a very comfortable stay, next time I am in Agra I will definitely stay at dayal lodge again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dmamrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have been visiting Dayal Lodge for the past few years.
Food from 'Family Kitchen' is clean and prepared in a homely manner.Staff is co-operative.Way to go!!! Looking forward to visit again..........

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank Soami Pyari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Things i liked about the hotel:
1- Convenient location, right off the highway connecting delhi airport
2 - Owner (Amol) was really graceful and very accommodating to my needs and highly knowledgeable as well
3- The front office lady was very sweet and answered all my idiotic queries with a smile

For the money i paid, rooms were really good and the facilities were as expected. will recommend this to all my backpacker friends who want to have a convenient and a comfortable stay at a low cost.

Travel Date - March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at Dayal Lodge between August and October'13 for business purposes. It wasnt a continuous stay and I could always count on the staff to keep my luggage safe while I was gone. For starters, it provides an extremely idyllic environment with friendly staff and healthy food. It is a little far away from the tourist area, so if you are thinking about visiting the Taj, you might find its location feasible. It however is situated in one of the up-and-coming areas of the city where most new businesses are located, so thats a plus.

The rooms are OK for a single person and charges are nominal. One major disadvantage is the presence of a single plug point which makes charging your electronic goods simultaneously impossible. The sheets have a yellowish feel to them but apparently they are cotton and environment friendly (this is open to debate...). The bathrooms are nice and fitted with necessary attachments.

The people are really helpful and can accomadate personal requests once in a while. I did lose an important courier during my stay there but the employees tried their best to search for it (I guess we all commit honest mistakes...no complaints there). The food is good to say the least but they could do with more options. There is no non-veg available in their kitchen so keep that in mind. I would suggest to try out the Family Thali for dinner.

It is close to Raja-ki-Mandi station (15 mins by auto) so that is not a problem. It is close to a mall, so you can always hang out there if need be. The TV and the AC worked perfectly, so no complaints there either.

To reiterate:
Pros: Nice location (not if you are a tourist), Food, Service
Cons: Limited menu options, no Non veg, Crowded surroundings

Room Tip: Try for rooms on the First floor; Let the hotel authorities know if you have personal preferances
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnirbanGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

A comprehensive and detailed review:

It was only 950 rupees a night for my wife and I in a double room, AC, cable TV and ensuite. Room service and a selection of food is available. Wifi is also available the signal doesn't quite stretch to your room but works in the communal areas. The room was only just about clean enough, defiantly not sparkling though. They provide you with toilet roll a tooth brush, soap an toothpaste which was a nice touch.

If you're looking for a budget option in Agra, look no further but pay less than we did. We found it hard to get a rickshaw from outside the hotel but i was told there was a taxi rank near by. If you're here to visit the Taj then pay more and stay near the Taj.

This hotel is a 45mins and minimum 150 Rupees Rickshaw ride from Agra Cantt Rail Station in an auto Rickshaw. - getting this price may take some aggressive haggling as Agra is tourist rip off central. The hotel may be closer to the other train stations in Agra, I'm not sure but it might be worth checking before choosing.

Our hotel manager told us it was 70-80 rupees and about 7km to the Taj Mahal from here. With then help of the hotel staff we payed 130 rupees and it took 30 to 40mins to get to the Taj. The staff here are very friendly (especially the older guy who serves food - he was delightful and his smile and hospitality made our stay so much more enjoyable) and it has a nice atmosphere. The food is budget but tasty.

The couple who run the hotel are nice and did try their best to make sure we didn't get ripped off by rickshaws when leaving the hotel, sadly they were unsuccessful. We also had a bad experience as we were in Agra on a Friday, the one day of the week the Tajmahal is closed!!! Totally our fault though. The hotel manager gave us a 141 rupee discount from our bill as we didn't manage to see the Taj and he failed to tell us when we arrived the afternoon before that it would be closed the next day (if he had remembered we could have gone that afternoon).

Bottom line, it's an okay budget hotel, i feel we paid too much for it as it was out of tourist season and is no where near the Taj. If i were to stay in this hotel again there is no way i would pay more than 450 rupees, and judging by trip adviser's page that's how much you should be paying. 450 Rps as there is nothing of any interest near the hotel so you will have to pay for an extortionate rickshaw every time you leave and come back, which adds hundreds of rupees to your bill per day. The road it is on is a main road and felt very unsafe but then so did the whole of Agra, my wife and i witnessed two physical fights the fisrt day we were there and the tourist touts are seriously aggressive.. Everything costs more in Agra due to the Taj.

If I were to visit again I would not stay here, I would stay close to the Taj and I would leave ASAP, or better still visit the Taj and not stay in Agra at all - I didn't find it to be a very nice City. Most people are quite aggressive, we were stalked by Rickshaw drivers for over 30mins at the train station on the day we arrived who still wouldn't leave us alone after we repeatedly walked away from them and asked them to stop following us. It was very intimidating. My wife dresses very modestly even by Indian standards (we should know we spent our first month in India as the only foreigners working in a school in rural Gujurat), my wife wore only modest indian dress the whole time we were in Agra but this didn't stop men from being completely perverted and even riding up next to our cycle Rickshaw and hitting on her in totally degrading and intimidating ways. My presence seemed to make no difference.

If I were to do two things to improve this hotel
One: I would ensure the bed sheets were changed before guests arrived in the room, and make sure that the white sheets (whether clean or not) were not covered in various stains.
Two: I would hire a hotel driver. Who would still make a profit but only charge our hotel guests reasonable prices to ensure the guests do not get ripped off every time they leave. This could even be done by just creating a really good relationship with a local Rickshaw driver and asking guests to book the driver's services in advance.

If Dayal Lodge did both of these things I would have been satisfied with the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pointsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I am Ashish Mali Comming from Ahmedabad and you all know how ahmedabad peoples love to eat tasty food even i also love. and i get superb service from here. i sugest you all to just once stay at here. good service on good price... home make food so u can eat everyday...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaliAshish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Orbit Inn
Hotel Orbit Inn
#81 of 147 in Agra
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shree Residency
Hotel Shree Residency
#85 of 147 in Agra
18 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#66 of 147 in Agra
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Atul Palace
Hotel Atul Palace
#50 of 147 in Agra
11 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#22 of 147 in Agra
358 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#38 of 147 in Agra
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayal Lodge - A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayal Lodge - A Boutique Hotel

Address: Dayalbagh Rd | 25 New Agra, Agra 282005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £14 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dayal Lodge - A Boutique Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Dayal Lodge - A Boutique Hotel was established in the early 60s. Occupying a site near Dayalbagh that reflects Mother Nature's kindness to Agra - the city of Taj Mahal and Capital of Mogul Emperors. Expansion and renovation over the years have maintained the 'Dayal Lodge - A Boutique Hotel' in its place as one of the top budget hotels in the region." Featuring 16 well furnished rooms equipped with all modern basic amenities, guest services include our full-service 24 hr. made-to-order kitchen, activity and tour liaising, in-house laundry facilities, local airport/railway station transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Dayal Lodge - A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing