We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient guesthouse”
Review of Saniya Palace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saniya Palace Inn
Ranked #90 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Agra, India
1 review
“Convenient guesthouse”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This guesthouse is pretty simple but everything you need is provided .As well as a 24 hour service at the frontdesk ,makes it easier for early departure or arrival at night time.. The rooftop restaurant have a really good view over the Taj Mahal.The staff was really kind and I had no problem during my stay .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John297683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    136
    84
    92
    139
See reviews for
53
209
85
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Having arrived at sunset we were eagerly greeted by the hotel staff and shown up to the rooftop resturant. I was really surprised by the magnificiant view of the Taj Mahal. We were the tallest rooftop around and could see every building surrounding the Taj. Besides the rooms being priced to steal, the food was great and prepared to a high standard. I have nothing but praise for this hotel and the beautiful view it bestows.
Waking up before sunrise and watching the sun hit the Taj Mahal was such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel123097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

we made the mistake to book the saniya palace hotel in advance, because we read the recomendation in the lonely planet. our room was tiny, dirty, the shower didn't work at all, the staff was unfriendly, it smelled like rotten egg and it was quite loud the whole night. Next day we were using the internet, since one of the staff members told us it was free. When we went downstairs to leave, they wanted to charge us for it and insisted on the fact that they'd told us it wasn't free. We caught a late train and left our luggage in the "free and secure luggage room" and found our lockers cracked open. We were lucky because we had locked up everything so well, that they couldn't tkae anything. Other peoples stuff was ripped open and things were taken out.

Room Tip: bring good locks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We came to this place at the recommendation of some travellers we met as they said it was alright...boy were there wrong! The room smelt of damp and the bathroom was one of those places where you try to shower without touching anything! There was two main guys that seemed to work in reception, one seemed to be a genuinely nice guy but his boss was out to rip us off!! There was 3 of us in the group and we were put into a double room and were told an extra matress would be brpught in- it never was and the 3 of us had to share a double bed (but he was more than happy to charge us for 3 people in the room). Then, even though we paid to use the internet, upon check out he accused us of not paying, and then while speaking something in indian he managed to get the fellow staff members to suddenly agree with him!! Even the one who I physically paid cash too suddenly has amnesia and said we didn't pay! Don't stay here!! There is much nicer places in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philipstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

well, it is recommended by LP and we just don´t know why. First thing that happend when we arrived was that the "boss" of the hhotel told us that our booked room ist not available. We booked a cheap room (600Rs). He offered us a room for 1300Rs instead. Later that day I heard him telling the same story to other travellers.
At night we woke up because of a really ugly smell...it smelled like rotten eggs.
And last but not least: they offer internet facilities but the connection is soooo slow that you reaaly have to be patient and do some meditation. It wasnt really working BUT we had to pay for that.
The only nice thing about it, is the roof top restaurant where you really have a nice view (Taj Mahal).
Try to avoid this hostel.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank sassuse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The room was small but adequate - the bathroom was minute and the shower water seeped out into the bedroom! The landing is a bit noisy early in the morning and late at night but that's because the place is full of travellers - after a full day sightseeing you'll hardly notice. The roof top restaurant serves excellent food and has one of the best views of the Taj Mahal and has good, friendly waiting staff.

Don't walk to the East Gate to get in theTaj - the ticket office has moved and it's now over 1 km further east - use the South Gate.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charliechariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I lost a very valuable camera at the Saniya Palace Hotel in Agra. As you can imagine, With two months of a five mionth trip to go I was in a panic. Staff had handed in the camera and bag with nothing missing. I would highly recmend this hotel fior its honesty, good rooms and food, handy position to the Taj Mahal and great views of the Taj from the rooftop garden restaurant. A very good experience in hassle city.
Jeff

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#82 of 145 in Agra
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#68 of 145 in Agra
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#40 of 145 in Agra
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#105 of 145 in Agra
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#73 of 145 in Agra
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saniya Palace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saniya Palace Inn

Property: Saniya Palace Inn
Address: Chowk Kagziyan,South Gate, | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Saniya Palace Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saniya Palace is a perfectly located budget hotel. Taj Mahal is 5 minutes walking distance, Agra fort is 2 KM and 2.5 KM from the Agra Fort train station and from Agra cantt 6 KM, airport 10 KM. We are in Old city of Agra full of tradition and full of mughal culture, even old market of Agra is walking distance from Hotel. We have one of the best terrace with the view of Taj Mahal. We provide multi cuisine. All clients relax on the terrace on their arrival to watch Taj Mahal with some drinks. The double Rooms start from 600 Rs to 1200 rs. We provide free pick up service during the day from the Agra cannt station. We always try to do our best service for our clients. We provide city tour of Agra with our believe persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Saniya Palace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saniya Palace Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing