We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, Acceptable room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saniya Palace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saniya Palace Inn
Ranked #93 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view, Acceptable room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms are reasonable here and prices are fair. However they are nothing to get excited about and if power goes out as it often does they can get oppressively hot. Rooftop restaurnt offers decent food but the real star is the stunning view of the Taj Mahal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    133
    83
    92
    136
See reviews for
51
204
83
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We decided to sty here after seeing it in the Lonely Planet. I find that usually when a guesthouse gets into the LP they tend to let their standards slip a little because they are guaranteed business and i thought this was true with Saniya.

The rooftop view is absolutely amazing and out of this world, I remember being in shock when I first saw it. We got the rooftop room which had a little view of the Taj when the curtains were open. We went at the worst time when the heat was pretty unbearable so needed air-con. The air-con was pretty bad in the room and we felt that it was probably the same as having a fan room. We also didn't like that you had to buy the password for the wifi, every other guesthouse that we had been to gave it for free…especially when after you've paid for the wifi you expect it to work which it didn't most of the time.

But overall it was good. The food on the rooftop was nice and sitting there during sunset with the fairy lights twinkling, the view of the Taj and the call to prayer playing from different mosques around the city is a memory that will stay with me for a long time to come.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geegCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at Saniya Palace for what was supposed to be 1 night in Agra. When we checked in we were shown choices of rooms which was nice so we could pick what we wanted. The price was excellent for the value of the room. The rooftop restaurant patio was the seller though. Great food and the most beautiful views of the Taj Mahal.

What really makes this Inn are the staff members. Ravi did so much for us in terms of travel arrangements and booked train and bus tickets for the next 9 days of travel for us. To arrange the best times and value he spent all evening and into the next morning arranging these details and buying our tickets for us. His commission charge was lower than any I have seen.
I also became very ill while in Agra, not sure what from, but a bad bacterial infection and the staff was very caring and neutering trying to arrange alternative travel details and anything to make me feel comfortable.

The accommodations are basic, and cleaner than a lot of the places I stayed at in Varanasi, but if you are looking for great location and amazing staff then this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

If you are happy to rough it, or are used to Indian accommodation standards, staying here is worth it just for the restaurant. Our room with fan was small and therefore unbearably hot at night. Decor made you feel a little dizzy, sheets seemed clean but blanket certainly didn't. Under bed looked like it hadn't be cleaned in a while and worst of all the shower and toilet were in such a cramped space it smelt like you were washing in a urinal. BUT it was all worth it to be seconds away from a great rooftop restaurant. Being so close to the Taj you get the best view. Food is good, especially the curries and you can get beer, though not particularly cheap. Slightly comically slow service. But the best thing of all, great lively atmosphere with lots of fellow travellers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laj_graffiti_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Go to a chemist (pharmacy) and buy one of those "plug-in" mosquito insecticide devices for your room for Rs 65 so that you don't have to put your muscle into adding to the myriads of mosquitoes that have been smashed on the walls. The A/C in the room at the roof-top terrace level worked fine. The water pressure for the ensuite bathroom varied between non-existing and nearly-non-existing. Still a good value for the Rs 1200 I paid for a May visit, and the view from the rooftop terrace is awesome. Short walking distance to all Taj Mahal gates -- note that the south one opens hours later than the east and west ones. Food pretty average. No beer on the menu, but they'll find you some for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostgravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here about a month ago with a group of friends. when we arrived there were two rooms available for us at a good price 600 for a double. Although the bathrooms were small they were clean as were the bedrooms. The thing that made our stay so good was the view from the roof top restaurant of the taj. We ate there for dinner as was not worth going anywhere else as the view would not be as good. Service was quick and the curries were delicious! recommend the palak paneer. The owner is full of character and was very helpful at organising a tour of agra for us. when visiting agra it's a no brainer to stay here! (5mins walking to west gate)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosiebutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Saniya palace was a prefect place to stay in Agra, the rooftop was great to sip coffee of have a cold kingfisher! The rooms and whole hotel was clean, The staff are very helpful and nice!
Would tell anyone to come and stay enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bungeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#83 of 146 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 146 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#37 of 146 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#32 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#69 of 146 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sai Palace
Sai Palace
#26 of 192 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saniya Palace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saniya Palace Inn

Property: Saniya Palace Inn
Address: Chowk Kagziyan,South Gate, | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Saniya Palace Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saniya Palace is a perfectly located budget hotel only 2.5km from the Agra Fort train station and only 150m from the South gate of the Tal Mahal.Double Rooms start from 400 Rs with En suite. (from 600 Rs with Breakfast) With pick ups from the station you'll be relaxing in 5 mins watching the sun set with superb views of the Taj Mahal.The good quality roof top restruant provides a great place to discuss the forthcoming trips and sights around Agra, making it the simple, cheap and comfortable place to start your trip in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Saniya Palace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saniya Palace Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing