We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View of the Taj Mahal”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Saniya Palace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saniya Palace Inn
Ranked #92 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great View of the Taj Mahal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The room was small but adequate - the bathroom was minute and the shower water seeped out into the bedroom! The landing is a bit noisy early in the morning and late at night but that's because the place is full of travellers - after a full day sightseeing you'll hardly notice. The roof top restaurant serves excellent food and has one of the best views of the Taj Mahal and has good, friendly waiting staff.

Don't walk to the East Gate to get in theTaj - the ticket office has moved and it's now over 1 km further east - use the South Gate.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charliechariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    136
    83
    92
    137
See reviews for
52
206
85
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

I lost a very valuable camera at the Saniya Palace Hotel in Agra. As you can imagine, With two months of a five mionth trip to go I was in a panic. Staff had handed in the camera and bag with nothing missing. I would highly recmend this hotel fior its honesty, good rooms and food, handy position to the Taj Mahal and great views of the Taj from the rooftop garden restaurant. A very good experience in hassle city.
Jeff

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Saniya palace welcomed us, gave us a choice of rooms to take and had friendly and helpful staff. The internet was frustrating as it came and went temporarily, however there are lots of internet cafes close by for cheaper. The roof top restaurant had the best view of the taj mahal that we saw of all the roof top restaurants in Agra. It had great food, good service and a relaxing, comfortable vibe. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinelang6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stayed here for one night unfortunately. The hotel is in an amazing location, the staff are friendly, and very very helpful. The view of the Taj is outstanding from the rooftop restaurant where the food was great and very reasonable. We had traveled from Bombay then on to Jaipur where our time there hadn't been great but arriving at the Saniya Palace made our trip special. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. And if anyone wanted to know anymore information about this hotel I would happily answer any question. 5* ++++

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

The hotel has a nice view of the roof top of Taj Mahal. The room is nice, but small. Not a problem if you're going to visit the city. In a cosy street with a lot of nice food. Employees are friendly, I could charge my phone at the desk and they arranged a taxi. It was a happy stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda_giesselink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

I only stayed one night at the hotel but it was one of my best nights in India! The hotel is great value for money, best hot water and shower i have had yet! The service was really good, felt at home and very comfortable. The rooftop has an AMAZING view of the Taj! Great stay, i would recommend to any traveler on a budget!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

I've just checked out of this place and feel so strongly about it I have felt the need to write a review immediately. I paid 1,000 Rupees for a 'deluxe' room in this dump. Don't bother. The bathroom stank of urine and was generally filthy and they hadn't even bothered to put toilet paper or towels. The man who checked us in was rude and surly and the pick up from the station involved the driver selling us his services and telling us what we should be doing tomorrow which is just annoying and draining after a long train journey. The path leading up to the hotel has sewage in the drains either side. Avoid looking in the kitchen...it's revolting. The entire place is absolutely disgusting. I'd recommend staying in Baratphur an hour away on the train and seeing Agra in a day trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#87 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#38 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#34 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#68 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saniya Palace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saniya Palace Inn

Property: Saniya Palace Inn
Address: Chowk Kagziyan,South Gate, | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Saniya Palace Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saniya Palace is a perfectly located budget hotel only 2.5km from the Agra Fort train station and only 150m from the South gate of the Tal Mahal.Double Rooms start from 400 Rs with En suite. (from 600 Rs with Breakfast) With pick ups from the station you'll be relaxing in 5 mins watching the sun set with superb views of the Taj Mahal.The good quality roof top restruant provides a great place to discuss the forthcoming trips and sights around Agra, making it the simple, cheap and comfortable place to start your trip in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Saniya Palace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saniya Palace Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing