We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good views but ok food”

Shanti Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #213 of 275 Restaurants in Agra
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Seating
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good views but ok food”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Shanti Lodge is a roof top restaurant just outside the south gate of Taj. It gives an amazing view of the taj so its a perfect place to sit and enjoy the views while sippin on tea coffee or even beer. The food on the other hand is not that great plus it took them an hour to prepare the food and bring it for us when there were only 3 other guests there. Wonder how much time they would take if it was full. Ill just rate it as average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    10
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“View: Awesome. Food: Huge disappointment”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were hoping to find a nice place to sit to view the Taj while we ate; looking at the menu, the food seemed a tad pricy but the view was unbeatable so we decided to have a go. We've been in India for about three months now, and the food here was actually the biggest disappointment for the whole trip. Each dish in the special thali that we ordered (200 rupees) was both extremely bland and incredibly sweet, as though they'd ran completely out of spices so just replaced it all with sugar. The paneer dish somehow tasted a little like Chinese takeout sweet and sour, and I probably would have actually enjoyed the malai kofta had it been handed to me as dessert. We actually had to ask for some green chilies to munch on to offset the sweetness: the server told us that they didn't have any in the whole restaurant which I think perhaps says it all. Definitely a place to avoid if you want to eat anything approaching correctly spiced Indian food.

Nice view though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant, but a bit Costly for me.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The excellence of this restaurant lies in the view of the Taj MAhal from all of its tables. I only had tea, but the tea was the best I had in Agra. In fact I came back at tea time for the tea.

The other food items were a bit pricey for my wallet. However, a breakfast of milk and cornflakes that I took for my daughter was enough for a grown up man. So the portions for the money must be good.

The service was courteous and the staff were helpful. The best part, apart from the view, is that you can get breakfast right at 6 o'clock in the morning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KolkataPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome resturant”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

i liked restaurant of shanti lodge.nice view from the resturant of tajmahel must visit my friends. and very nicely maintained restaurant .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Worth the struggle to find it”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had our lunch here one Friday, because the Taj Mahal is closed on that day. It was cloudy but we were patient and we were rewarded with the stunning view we had hoped for.
Unlike some other posters, we enjoyed our meal and were pleased with the service provided by the waiters.
We also were impressed that there was a wifi hotspot here.
But I was disturbed when I visited the toilet. I suddenly did not need to go any longer.
This is a popular restaurant and I think the manager needs to supervise the cleaning of the toilets more closely.
Fortunately, I had enjoyed my food before I went to check out the loo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanti Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Agra, Agra District
 

Been to Shanti Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing