We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonder in hotels.”
Review of M House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
M House
Ranked #85 of 207 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Its a great hotel. Get enchanted with the view of the Taj from the comfort of this budget accommodation, which is in front of the well-known Maya Hotel at Fatehabad Road. There are five A/C rooms with balconies for guests to choose from. Room service is offered and food is catered from its own, next door restaurant. Corporates are also facilitated with a conference and banquet facility. Accommodation is provided to drivers, who accompany with their car owners.
Guests can relish authentic, local cuisine from the hotel's own restaurant, which is just located next door to it. There is also a conference/ banquet venue present on its first floor, which can accommodate a gathering of 100 guests. Guests are also offered sight-seeing tours of the city, which are arranged on request.
Every facility is very good. Everyone can get comfort in each case.

Room Tip: Try to eat outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Mostafijur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

We phoned up the day before to check availability and prices and had no problem booking a room for two nights. We told them that we would be arriving early as we were arriving on an overnight bus and they were happy for us to come early. We arrived at about 8:30am and were told that they just needed 10 minutes to clean the room which was absolutely fine. We didn't expect to have our room straight away. We made use of the time by having breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, Qaisar Bagh. It was nice food and the service was good.
By the time we had finished, the room was ready. It was very impressive! Immaculately clean, lots of character, huge bed with lovely crisp sheets and plump pillows and a spotless bathroom. There is hot water 24/7 and the shower was excellent. We had A/C in our room which was a relief. There was a balcony that opened out onto the front of the building so it's good for watching the world go by. Fatehabad Road is quite busy but we didn't find it too noisy when settling down for the night.
Toilet rolls, soap and towels are provided and the latter are changed daily.

There are plenty of places to eat nearby and grocery shops across the street. There is an internet cafe next door. There is no problem getting taxis/rickshaws/tuk tuks as there are always loads hanging around outside the hotel. It's easy to get a good price because of how many there are. The south gate of the Taj Mahal and Taj Ganj area is a 15 walk from M House or a 5 minute tuk tuk ride. It is a good location.

The staff here are excellent. Really friendly and always happy to help.

There was nothing bad to report about this hotel. Everything was great and if we come to Agra again we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_HSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I would have rated this above average except for the fact that the power went out constantly, which is no small thing when it's 100 degrees F outside and your a/c turns off. Apparently this was caused by the hotel next door turning on their generator, which they seem to do 3 times a day and during the night. The room doors open to the outside, so it can get noisy even at night (especially when the generator is on). I would recommend ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise at night.

Otherwise, our double room was very clean, comfortable, and cold when the a/c was on. Large bathroom as well. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant, but it was good every time. The hotel can arrange taxis, rickshaws, etc to and from the train station and the sights. The Taj is only 1km away, so a bicycle taxi or walking will suffice, though I wouldn't recommend walking because of the traffic. The location of M House seemed preferable to Taj Ganj, where all of the other budget hotels are located because it was much, much less congested and crowded than Taj Ganj which was more backpacker ghetto-like. You are still going to get hassled outside this hotel but it probably isn't as bad as in Taj Ganj.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very close to the Taj Mahal which was why we chose to stay here. Its really a decent and tidy place to stay at. The rooms are very clean and as they have shown on their website. Both the owner and the staff are very warm and helpful. The food at their restaurant Qaisar Bagh is tasty. Overall we had a very good experience at M House and would love to go back there again with our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_aj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is a nice hotel with very good food served at it's Restaurant and it's close proximity to Taj Mahal makes it one of the best hotels to stay in...The staff is nice and helpful in everything you need.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bourneaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Very close to the Taj Mahal and the lovely park nearby. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and arranged a car for us to go to Fatepur Sikri. There are good restaurants nearby and a view of the Taj from the roof (if you peer round a rather big tree). Avoid the over priced restaurant under the hotel, but the internet cafe just around the corner is nice.

Room Tip: The roof top room has a nice sunny terrace for guests to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abueladefrancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I’ve stayed at Hotel M House during my New Year trip to India. The main reason for choosing this hotel was its excellent location. You can get to the West Gate of Taj Mahal by hike in 5 to 10 minutes and to the Agra Fort in 5 minutes by tuk-tuk. The room was clean (see the photos). It was quite cold outside and inside the hotel, the water was just a little bit warm. The bed clothes, towels were not very clean so do not hesitate to ask guy on reception to change them. The room was quite so no problems with sleeping. The next morning I’ve vistited Taj, took continental breakfast at the hotel and then traveled to Fatehpur-Sikri, Sikandra and Agra Fort. So I’ve got from my stay what I was expected.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s3gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#37 of 147 in Agra
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.4 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 147 in Agra
4,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M House

Address: Fatehabad Road | Purani Mandi, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: £12 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — M House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel M house' with a proud heritage of making guests feel more than welcome. It provides experiences that will help its guests feel like a true local during their stay. Hotel M House also provides the nearest location to the Taj Mahal, just a 5 minutes' walk away. We provide luxurious rooms, unmatched hospitality, for leisure and business travelers' at the most affordable price possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your M House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing