We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Priya Restaurant

Priya Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 273 Restaurants in Agra
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Priya Restaurant is a multi-stroyed building having a cover of almost 310 pax is famous for it's quality in food & services. It has 2 centrally A.C. halls and a roof top garden restaurant. Priya is located on the Fatehabad Road ,Near Hotel Trident. Priya has a capacity of 310 pax at a time. It has a well decorated ambiance which is both neat and clean and eye soothing also. The Restaurant is centrally air-conditioned and has generator backup for load shedding periods.We serve Indian, Mughlai, Chinese and Continental cuisine at affordable rates. We also have Beer Bar facility with us.We also arrange live entertainment,e.g., Puppet show,Magic Show,Musical Programme also for your valuable clients.Priya Restaurant is recommended both by the Lonely Planet and the Rough Guide to India . Priya Restaurant has a professionally trained team where utmost care is taken to ensure complaint free service and feedback obtained from every client.
Belfort, Franche-Comte, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My tour guide brought me to this restaurant - they cook all food with mineral water to ensure tourist have a safe & pleasant experience. The food was tasty, authentic, with many regional options.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AUelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    48
    21
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mediacore.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had lunch here, the food was just not to the standard. The dishes had either low salt or high salt in it. The service was slow. we waited 20 minutes for our food. After lunch, we had coffee, the black coffee was horrible. Do order coffee with milk. and ask for strong coffee.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shanthira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but no hospitality”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We been to this restaurant on 15th June just before our time slot to view Taj Mahal during night time. We were left with 30 minutes with us so we ordered bare minimum food and not many items. So after ordering when i asked waiter (with big mustache) to repeat the order he denied saying you didnt order much so what to repeat. I was very angry at the service but next minute i thought i am in different state (Uttar Pradesh) and may be this is the local way of reaction everywhere. However the food was served pretty fast even there were some rotis and parathas included. The food quality was good. Roti and Parathas both were hot and vegetable was tasty. Chicken fried rice was also good. After good food quality i forgot my initial arrogant experience from waiter. Now finally when it came to paying the bill the same waiter deducted 100 Rupees as Tip saying he don't have change money and then settled bill. I was shocked for his behavior. I thought anyway i would have left tip for him anyway. Not to spoil the mood i left the place immediately.
Overall the food quality was good and food was not pricey. Only problem is don't expect any hospitality or smile from staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sameer_Salunkhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“All fine but Taste for the Price is sincerely missing...”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First of all, all good restaurants in Agra, especially in and around its location is costly, compared to many other parts of india and this one is also no exception. The charge premium (for a simple dine-in restaurant) and the facilities provided goes with the charges.

Unfortunately for me, satisfaction was up to this point only.

Location: good.

Facilities: Fine.

Staff: A BIG BANG here. They only look for foreigners from whom they can collect handsome tips. Otherwise very rude (one big fat guy who was attending us refused to take order of certain item because it will take some time (~30 min or so) for them to make even though we were OK to wait. Moreover towards the end there was one untouched item which became too much to consume right at that time and we asked to pack it so that we can take it to the hotel and enjoy it later. Surprisingly the waiter just refused to do say and said 'Kya saab, sab kha liya aur yeah nehi kha sakte, thoda baithke kha li giye kyun ki sirf itna pack nehi kar sakte " (What Sir, You have finished all of the rest and can't have this one. Sit for some time and finish it because it can no be packed). Without any reason, he said it in a rude tone and went to attend another table and packed some 2-3 have finished foods for a foreigner couple. I am not against the foreigners and its good to see that they are at least seeing the good indian hospitality but what a poor experience it was for us.

Now the main part: FOOD:

They know only to prepare certain indian items (especially items popular in north-west india) good.

STAY AWAY FROM THEM FOR BIRIYANI (They are horrible in it especially compared to biriyani of Kolkata and Hyderabad). I am from Kolkata and visited Hyderabad a few times. Being a biriyani lover I have sampled biriyani from different locations of these two cities. Moreover whenever I am in to a new place, I try to sample biriyani of that place (if available) just for comparison. Believe me, biriyani of better quality, compared to this places, is served even at Chennai central station (I have sampled from 3 different places of chennai central just 15 days prior to coming to Agra and all of them were better).

For around Rs. 350-400 they serve you a bowl of dry - masla rice with ~50gm of Garam Masala (mixture of cinnamon, cardamom and cloves - none of them grinded) with some funny fried onion toppings in the name of biriyani. Just Horrible. The Mughols would have preferred to die than eating this. Fortunately they are not here to sample this crap.

Other north indian dishes are OK. Spicy and oily with moderate taste. Should not be a problem for Indians but foreigners who have difficulty with spices can have a second opinion before ordering the indian items.

I have not ordered any continental items. So can't comment on that.

Overall it was not satisfying to pay a huge chunk of money on this restaurant, especially with the taste of the food served by the mean minded peoples working there.


Overall if you dont mind your

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 13it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
331 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Good food cheap prices”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Experience the local Indian, Mugali cuisine at this restaurant. Excellent food and good service. Ask the Waiters to explain the dishes. Can choose the level of spicyness of the food. There is a traditional welcome with the beating of drums.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fjp4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Priya Restaurant also viewed

 
Agra, Agra District
 

Been to Priya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing