We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Hotel Raj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Raj
Ranked #110 of 205 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Treated as well on arrival. was offered a nice room and accommodatedas well. very near the Taj mahal and reasonable value. the staff are most helpfull. Strongly recommended for there who are travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rishi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Raj
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

Don´t go! Lonely Planet and Lohse seem to dsecribe another place....did not find anythin corresponding at Raj...!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reisewut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

I have to agree with the other reviewers - in over five months of travelling this was probably the worst place we stayed. The room was awful - disgusting bedding, dirty shower-room, ancient and unfunctioning airconditioning unit - there was nothing good about it!

The guide books claim this place has a great view of the Taj Mahal from the roof terrace, but the view is incredibly obstructed and in any case the roof terrace is unusable as there is no shade up there. The near-by Kamal hotel has a beautiful roof terrace restaurant with far superior views of the Taj and great food - the rooms here also looked good, although we stayed at the Sheela.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InlovewithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed here because we just wanted somewhere to lay our heads for the night and spend as little time in Agra as possible. If we'd just done a little more research we could have found somewhere with an iota of ambience.

The guides say that it has an amazing view of the Taj from the roof. For a start, the view is obscured so it's not amazing at all. Secondly, it's not as if you'd want to sit on the roof of this dive. There are a couple of tables, but overall it's not conducive to "sitting" - plus it took 4 waiters and 15 minutes just to get us a couple of Mirindas. For views of the Taj, just go to one of the nicer roof terraces nearby which have better facilities (eg: seats).

The rooms were stinking. I was amazed to see a cleaner because it was just filthy. There were skid marks encrusted into the loo. It's annoying because it doesn't take much to give a room a decent clean once in a while. Standards are just so low in that place, as they are in the Taj Ganj overall. The pillows were like old bits of sponge that they'd found in a dump, torn into a vague rectangle and covered in someone's old sari. This place could be really nice given a bit of TLC but

Oh, and what the other reviewers say about the noise is true. At night people sit up in reception talking or watching TV and in the morning we were awoken by a fanfare of people hocking phlegm up - all of this echoes through the hotel and it is intensely irritating.

Like most backpackers, we stayed in some right holes when were were in India but this one took the biscuit. The one good thing about this hotel though is that it offers a typical dingy Indian backpacker experience - at least you've got a funny story to tell people. But a pleasure to come back to after a day sightseeing it is not.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nineteenseventynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Of all hotels we've been to during our trip, I was most disappointed by this hotel.
Price/quality is not good at all.
Sheets were not clean, floor was not clean, no light or hot water in the bathroom (although this was fixed rather quickly). Room in general was not nice or comfortable. The rooms at the front are not quiet at all which makes it difficult to sleep. They offered us another room at the back side but that room was even worse as for comfort. I would not have stayed there if they had given us that room in the first place so we decided to stay in our noisy room.
Staff was okay but not extremely friendly. We were picked up at the railway station for free which was a nice service but the man in the car tried to misguide us and take us to places where he would get a commission. At first he was extremely friendly but he became more and more unfriendly when he noticed that we were not going anywhere with him. Although the hotel is at about 20m from the Taj Mahal, I would not recommend staying there. Actually, I would not recommend staying in Agra at all because it's an awful city. Try to stay somewhere else and visit the Taj and the Fort on one day, arriving in the morning and leaving the city again in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marijke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We were traveling to Agra in an extended family group of 21 people. We had booked and prepaid for 7 rooms at this hotel for two nights stay. We had selected this hotel due to some favorable online reviews and especially its proximity to the Taj. When we arrived late at night, we were abruptly told that all our rooms had been given to someone else. First the manager said that he had no record of our prepayment and booking, then he said that he had tried to call us to see if we were indeed still planing to come. Then he offered to allow 21 people including elderly women and young children to stay the night in the lobby of the hotel for an additional fee of 2500 rupees. The arrogance and disrespectful attitude of the management of the hotel - from the owner to the management staff - hit a new low in our experience with India - and even for the state of UP. We tried to go to the local police to report this, but the police were of no help. We sat in the police station for several hoursand experienced first-hand the charades of the Indian justice system. We later learned that several rooms at the hotel were regularly occupied by the police who were treated as special guests by the hotel management.

Unfortunately no other hotel rooms were available anywhere due to the winter holiday rush. In the end we did recieve 5 of the 7 rooms for one night - after spending a cold and restless night at the police station and in the lobby of the hotel. Upon check out there was again a big argument when we requested refund of half of our payment...since we had only actually been able to stay for 1 night. Finally we left in utter frustration - vowing never to return and promising to warn any other unsuspecting travellers. DO NOT STAY HERE. You will be better off sleeping in the street than trying to deal with these crooks.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank born2travelUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

The staff was all very nice and willing to help with anything. The hotel is echo-y and small sounds in the common area end up being loud. We were woken at 6-7AM because of this. The room was VERY basic and was not particularly clean. The free internet is only on the computer in the hotel office and we couldn't even get that to work. We went to the tourism agency just down the road and paid a small fee instead. The food is fairly good, but nothing spectacular. We did get hot water but we had to ask how to turn it on first. It is literally 50 meters from the South Gate to the Taj Mahal, so location is good for that. Overall though I wouldn't want to go back. It's good enough for a quick stop for 2 nights though.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RixiePicklesticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 142 in Agra
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mumtaz Mahal
Hotel Mumtaz Mahal
#80 of 142 in Agra
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 142 in Agra
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#102 of 142 in Agra
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#100 of 142 in Agra
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raj

Address: 2/26, Taj Ganj,South Gate Taj Mahal | South Gate, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: £9 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Raj 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raj bed & breakfast gives a friendly and professional ambiance to its clients that are most important reason why the clients are happy & satisfied at their stay in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Raj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing