We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #21 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Having stayed in a palace and a boutique hotel prior to arriving at this hotel,it was never going to be as good. Having said that it was functional, rather like a holiday inn style. The second room we were given, the first having no functional a/c was large enough with a king sized bed, but the bathroom was in need of update with a shower ov the bath. Room was tidy and clean. The noise insulation was not particularly good and we heard next doors TV until quite late and the traffic outside could be heard most of the time with the consistent horn honking! Food in the restaurant was fine and to be honest it was too much hassle trying to find another restaurant. Agra is not the best place to wander around looking for restaurants. If you don't get run down, or continually pestered by the locals, you will have done well!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WorldTravellerTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights on a trip to Agra. The hotel is situated a little way away from the main part of town as well as from the major attractions. That said, we had a driver so it wasn't necessarily an inconvenience, but worthwhile noting if you only have a very short amount of time in Agra to explore.

The room was adequately sized and clean. The bathroom was quite large, particularly in contrast to the room. The door was a little shabby, and it was an old large key which provided entrance to the room. That didn't inspire a lot of confidence from a security perspective, but all was good during our stay. The hallways are marble, which looks quite pleasant, but does provide a fair bit of noise and the base for an echo when people are coming and going from their room.

The breakfast was limited, and pretty average. There was not a great range available, and most food felt like it had spent a fair bit of time sitting there.

Overall, the accommodation served its purpose, and whilst there might be better options in Agra, it was not an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdmiller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We took a room with view of the Taj, which you kind of distinguish through the haze in the distance. Reasonable breakfast, clean room, slightly expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glloq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed one night when in Agra. Its location is a little away from the main area of the city, so you need to be aware of that. The room was fine, though rather small. The bathroom was clean. Going to a top tourist location always means that accommodation is bound to be more pricey wherever you choose to stay, and we knew we wouldn't want to stay in a really cheap place here, so we felt the prices at the Raj Mahal were OK if a little on the high side for what we got. The entrance foyer and corridors are very flash, with lots of inlaid marble, but the room furnishings are much more basic.
The food, however, was a different matter: It was the very worst breakfast we encountered in four weeks of travelling in Rajasthan. As is usual most places we stayed, it was a buffet, but the choices were abysmal and we didn't feel that anything much on offer was even remotely appetising. We settled for cornflakes and milk here although in other places we had been much more adventurous. The rotary toaster didn't work very well, and after five trips for the same slices of bread through it (when it was barely warm, let alone toasted) we gave up and had bread and jam instead. Breakfast was included in the price, but wasn't worth eating. You'd be better off going somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Everything was OK - my daughter liked the swimming pool despite it being cold like most pools.Meals were fine. Exchange rate was good. Staff were fine. But overall nothing special.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night during a tour through India with On The Go Tours (Travel Inn Tour Company). The hotel is has a pool, a restaurant and a little store selling souvenirs.

This was, by far, the worst hotel we experienced on our 13-day tour through India. Furthermore, the behaviour of staff would result in this being one of the worst hotels we have stayed at in all of our travels. Avoid this hotel.

A single female travel companion was escorted to her room by a check in staff member who attempted to kiss and restrain her in the assigned room while all other travellers were checking in. The staff member, not a bellboy but a young male who was behind the counter, was calculating and aggressive in his behaviour to the single young woman.

Our own experience with the very same staff member was comical as we requested to change rooms as no hot water was available in the room (a common issue we experienced across India hotels). The staff member accused us of lying and when I demanded he attend the room and run the water with his own hand under it denied it was not hot – it was stone cold! Eventually after continual arguing we were given a new room with hot water.

This hotel is near the Taj Mahal and is frequented by numerous tour companies but I would strongly advise finding an alternative location. On the 3rd level a large number of adolescents were staying in the hotel on the same evening and they ran amok through the whole level ringing door bells, banging doors from 11.30pm until 6 am the next morning. Numerous requests were made to the hotel staff and the response was ‘they are young men, let them be.’ This hotel obviously suffers the same problems we experienced in India – a lack of accountability/responsibility by staff members and it is disappointing that staff are not adequately trained on best practice hotel procedures.

Room details are below:

(+) Positives
+ The hotel was modern in appearance with large screen plasma television
+ Bed was satisfactory
+ Lift service all floors
+ A pool is available, we did not use this and cannot comment on the state of the water, etc
+ Drinking water was provided in the room

(-) Negatives
- Staff. In general the staff are ill trained and the above mentioned harassment of a single female traveller is difficult to believe in such an establishment which has international travellers on a nightly basis
- The free breakfast provided resulted in 3 out of 5 travellers being ill (diarrhea and vomiting), it is assumed due to the unprotected butter placed in melted ice eaten by all 3 travellers
- The rooms are generally clean; we had a gecko to welcome us in the bathroom of the first room

If you have the option of staying in an alternative hotel I would strongly advise this.

Room Tip: Choose an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navman_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Location - Very easy and comfortable location with lots of parking space.

Front office staff was extremely lovely to talk to, were helpful and efficient.

Rooms - Very comfortable rooms with modern amenities.

Restaurant - The restaurant here is great & the staff serves you really well. Very polite & efficient. I was here on the Christmas eve and they had organized a very good DJ. The food was lovely and the staff took really good care of our entire group of travellers. Just fantastic!

Suggestion - Please bring down the volume of the telephones placed at different floors. It should be audible only to the people who are supposed to attend the call and not to the entire hotel.


Would certainly recommend this place to others and would love to come back here again .. Thank you :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solitarytraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.9 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
0.4 mi away
Parador, A Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#29 of 143 in Agra
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 143 in Agra
1,612 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#110 of 143 in Agra
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Taj Nagari Phase II A C | Fatehabad Rd, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Rajmahal Hotel Agra)
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £33 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing