We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a one night stopover in agra”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmstay
Ranked #51 of 192 Agra B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
556 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great for a one night stopover in agra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

These guys were very friendly - we had a great dinner and breakfast - only a 10 minute drive from taj - rooms were basic and very clean - good shower.

Agra only worth a day/night - a 6.15am start for taj got us to the gate for a 7.30am opening - there were about 100 in the queue - well worth being early as we got all the photos done without the crowds

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
44
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

This was our first Indian homestay and it exceeded our expectations. The family were all very friendly and gave us some very valuable travel tips. We only spent one night, but I wished we had stayed longer. The room was very clean and comfortable with wifi, tv, and lots of hot water. Breakfast was delicious and the location is great - very close to the Taj!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyRam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have stayed here 4 nights It was through the previous trip advisers recommendations that we came and I can but agree to the positive comments that have been previously made. The family, the standard of cleanliness leave little to be desired. a good example on how to run a homestay...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foggydew910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Spent a night here on our visit to the Taj Mahal on our last night of our 20 day india trip. The room is clean and very basic (with A/C and ceiling fan), clean shower and toilet with hot water. The bed was very hard (not a problem if you like hard mattresses). There's a lot of construction work going on in the area but the nights are quiet.
The family live on the ground four and above are 4 or 5 guestrooms. We were met a the gate by Varun the owner. They immediately brought us coffee and biscuits, and a bottle of water. Varun chatted with us about our Indian holiday and gave us all sorts of advice. In the evening, we wanted something light to eat so he drove us to McDonalds (a 2 minute drive and a 15 minute walk back). McDonalds was a treat after 3 weeks of Indian food. We met Varun's little boy who is the cutest...
The next morning, we went to the Taj at 6.30 and returned for breakfast freshly cooked by Varun's mother. We had great onion and tomato omelettes with toast, butter and jam, and fresh fruit and coffee.This very friendly lady joined us for breakfast and we had an enoyable chat.
If you're looking for inexpensive accommodation with great hospitality, I highly reccommend Palmstay homestay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Varun and his family did everything they could to ensure we had a great time in Agra. They advised us on the best places to go and do what we wanted in Agra avoiding the more frenetic parts of the city. They were kind enough to offer us tea and coffee before we went to the Taj at 6 in the morning and cooked us a very tasty continental breakfast on our return.

We had a late train on our last day and Varun was kind enough to open up a disused room for us to shower after a sweltering day exploring Agra. I also highly recommend staying with the family as you get to know India that little bit better and benefit from their insights on travelling in India, we left with a much greater confidence in seeing the country.

The room was large, spotless with excellent air con, hot water and Wi Fi exactly what we needed after a good day in Agra.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The family were lovely and friendly, made us feel very welcome and provided us with helpful info about Agra e.g. Resturants, rickshaw prices etc. Our room was very clean, with a TV offering many English speaking channels and air conditioning. The location is about a 15 min walk to the Taj and Vern's mum helped us with directions. The homestay is very close to a shopping centre and resturants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Varun and his family could not have been more helpful and informative. We arrived early after an overnight train trip from Amritsar and his wife immediately set about cooking us breakfast which was most welcome. As said before the rooms are clean and accommodating with everything you need for a short stay. As we had visited Agra on a previous trip we only stopped for one night.

Varun drove us to the Red Fort on his way to work and recommended a place for lunch which was excellent. He ordered us a take away that evening as we were really tired, not having slept much the night before, and in the morning walked to the Taj just as the gates were opening.

Our little boy loved playing with their son and all in all it's an excellent choice, especially taking into account the excessive price of hotels in Agra.

A word of warning, when Varun says keep the doors to the balcony closed because of mosquitos, do as he says othewise you will pay the price!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.0 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmstay

Property: Palmstay
Address: 23 Taj Nagri Vip Road | Fatehabad Rd, Behind TDI Mall, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing