We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with no heating”
Review of Hotel Taj Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taj Resorts
Ranked #17 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“room with no heating”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Quite disappointed with the hotel, since it was very very cold in a room. Heating system was broken however, we were only offered an extra blanket, no heaters were available. It was the first place where I had to sleep wearing a puff jacket, hat and even gloves.

The only positive thing is that the hotel is of the walking distance to Taj Mahal and receptionist who checked us in was very friendly.

Not a place where I would recommend to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yelena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    616
    290
    80
    71
See reviews for
380
583
86
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Not far from the entrance to the Taj. Only a short distance from the very expensive Oberoi. But worth the low prices. There was free wifi a decent breakfast and a nice rooftop full of dinner tables. The night I was there was cool but they were open and had live music. The food was so so but certainly not the worst I've had. My shower was broken (the shower head was cracked and leaked water all over the bathroom and my hair dryer blew a fuse. But I'm sure if I had called downstairs to complain they would have fixed it. I was only there one night so I didn't bother.

Clean enough for India and very friendly. Anyone traveling on a budget would appreciate it.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better. Its next to a new property under construction so the higher floors have bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lyfroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

When we came here to this hotel there was a construction site right next to the hotel largely blocking the view of the Taj Mahal. We only ate there the first night and the food wasn't pretty good (I am a bit fussy). But the hotel on the other hand is lovely. The room we were in was very nice with a bedroom, little lounge room and clean bathroom. the extra bed was also very comfortable. the location was very good, about 300 meters from the Taj Mahal and the centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Completely adequate and great value for the money. We used this hotel for one night (arriving pretty late) in order to see the Taj the next morning at sunrise. It's literally across the street (and a little bit down) to the the ticket office and a short walk to the Taj itself. The room was clean and comfortable. The people were very pleasant and while they weren't exactly helpful (we had some basic questions about getting tickets that they couldn't answer) they were nice enough. Breakfast was pretty good with some decent western and Indian selections. The rooftop restaurant was also pretty decent for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Michael-and-Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshedpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The management should do something about the showers. Judging from the comments in the commentary book, most guests had the same problem. Our room was OK but the shower was a trickle. Impossible to take a shower with such a weak flow of water

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badshah2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We arrived at this hotel at 1 in the morning and only stayed that night so didn't get to experience all the hotel may have to offer but from what we saw the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast in the morning was good, and the hotel is a quick walk away from the Taj Mahal. One thing the bathroom needs is a shower screen. Water just goes everywhere. It was quite odd. But the shower was nice and hot with good water pressure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We just stayed here for one night and it was ok. We were on level -1 so no window and the room was very small and pokey. We had a shower when we arrived in the afternoon following our flight from the UK, but then there was no water the following morning, not even to wash hands and face!! We had some food on the rooftop terrace which advertised a view of the Taj Mahal - the Taj can be seen if you stand in one particular spot on the roof! The food was good, but the general ambience and cleanliness meant I wouldn't eat there again. Breakfast downstairs by reception was distinctly poor compared to other hotels we stayed at in India. It does have a great location for visiting the Taj Mahal though!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 145 in Agra
605 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Resorts

Property: Hotel Taj Resorts
Address: Taj East Gate Road | Eastern gate of Taj Mahal, near Shilpgram, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Agra
#9 Business Hotel in Agra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taj Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just located 550 meters from Taj mahal at Walking distance. 3 Star luxury hotel 34 centrally air conditioned rooms with modern interior design,a multi-cuisine restaurant(Bon-appetit), roof top swimming pool with the great of taj,rooftop restaurant with live music and two banquet hall of (250-300pax) capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Taj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing