We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Taj but greedy as hell” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Taj Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Taj Resorts
Ranked #16 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Close to the Taj but greedy as hell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Its location is its main and only strength. It is extremely close to the Taj, just 10 min. walk - but be wise, the ticket shop is exactly in the opposite direction than the monument, so you have to walk up and then back.
We found the place horrible. Though the building is nice and clean, the staff is extremely pushy and greedy: they charge an utterly insane price for taxi (e.g.: 400Rs for a 1.5 km taxi drop off at the station) and the staff expects tip for everything (e.g: when we arrived a guy showed us our room and did not leave until we tipped him).
The Taj is close but there is nothing else in the area to watch or visit (no bar or other sights).
We did not like it at all (but the facilities like shower and toilet are clean and work properly).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. I just want to aware you that Agra fort railway station is 3 km from hotel and we are charging very nominal charges for the drop compare to the others in the city. We are also providing the staff proper training sessions to improve the relation between guest and staff to avoid such problem. We hope to be able to deliver a better stay experience to you, should you stay with us again in the future. Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    590
    284
    73
    66
See reviews for
354
555
82
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Taj resorts is a fantastic budget hotel. The biggest highlight being its location. Just a walk away from Taj mahal. Hotel rooms are clean.Bedsheets are changed everyday while you are away enjoying the view of taj mahal. Hotel food is delicious but expensive.
A quiet dinner experience at the hotel rooftop, with a view of taj dome is pure soothing. Shilpgram is situated nearby where you can buy indian handicrafts and other folk stuff. Beware of the autorickshaw wala waiting outside the hotel just to loot you. Its better and convenienet to hire busses from shilpgram.
All in all my stay was quite satisfactory. I recommended the same to all the trip advisor users. Cheers.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank B0ngtraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snkrdm, Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
This is to thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Taj Resorts during your Agra sojourn. It is our endeavor to put our best foot forward so that our guests get the best of experiences during their stay.

We thank you for your observation in regard to our maintenance of hygiene for the guests, which is the integral part of Hotel Taj Resorts policy.

We shall be too happy to be of service to you in case you happen to visit us.

Thanking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Last week I stayed in this hotel... totally satisfied.... the staff was so friendly, rooms were clean... food was awesome... the pool was so clean..
Most important the hotel was very close to Taj Mahal.... just about 300 mtrs...
Just loved the experience... keep it up..

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank appichaudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snkrdm, Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. On behalf of Hotel Taj Resorts, Agra we sincerely hope that you enjoyed you stay with us. Such encouraging words from our guests elevate us to the next level of satisfaction.

Thanking you once again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on 26 july, the room was clean, though the doors separating the two rooms inside is totally not required. One can hear the conversation from the other room. While the breakfast is free (limited option but good), food is very expensive for the kind of hotel. Most of the reviews here are by foreigners, who may not find it as expensive but Indians will. Otherwise courteous staff. The Taj view is nothing gr8. If u are booking for this, u will be disappointed. The small pool is nice though.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitsaraf03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snkrdm, Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
This is to thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Taj Resort, Agra. Due to heavy occupancy you were allotted an interconnecting set of rooms which we hope that you enjoyed. Menu rates of food that you found expensive are almost at par with the hotels of this category in Agra. It is our effort to provide the quality food with best of tastes to our guests during their stay. For the view of Taj Mahal, there are restrictions to build higher structures than the present ones due to the vicinity of the monument. Hence our inability to provide a better view.

Hope this will not deter you to visit us once again. Thanking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel.
It was a great location to the taj, very friendly, food was delicious and reasonably priced, rooms very comfortable, staff very friendly.
We had to wait for a day before our train after we had checked out and the hotel let us free of charge stay for the day and use the pool, the towels, restaurant etc.
the taj is very close by to the western gate (the less busy gate)
overall I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Joey30222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snkrdm, Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your encouraging words. We sincerely hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will give us an another opportunity to be of service to you.

Thanking you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel... Nice ambience...
Very close to Taj Mahal...
Rooms were clean... Staff was very cooperative... Breakfast was bit average...
Roof top restaurant was also good... A small swimming pool though On the terrace...

Overall we had a great time...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
19 Thank Palak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor.. We are happy to know you have the comfortable stay in the hotel. We really appreciated your comments on service, food, location, and rooms. We also noted your comments on breakfast. We are certain you will experience the difference in your future visits. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Thanks you,
sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Clean and friendly hotel, close to ticket office and East gate of Taj Mahal. Pool was small but nice to relax after sightseeing. Food at breakfast good but food at dinner in rooftop restaurant was excellent. The staff in the restaurants were welcoming and accommodating and made great recommendations - we thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal and lunch the following day prior to departure.

Good choice for short stay in Agra. We liked being on 4th floor as this was same floor as swimming pool. Ticket office for Taj Mahal is literally out the hotel left and over the road - a three min walk where they then take you there for free.

Only suggestion would be email a few days in advance if you want free pickup from railway station - we did it day before and it didn't get organised in time hence we made our own way there. Communication between staff on reception could be somewhat improved - what we had agreed with reception staff in morning re lift to station and settling room bar bill then caused confusion and delays when we were rushing to make train in the afternoon. Also bellboys are very keen to please - sometimes too much though when I am very keen to have my own bag.

Room Tip: We liked 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank jenni0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor.. We are happy to know you have the comfortable stay in the hotel. We really appreciated your comments on service, food, location, and rooms. We also noted your comments regarding the pick up. We are certain you will experience the difference in your future visits. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Thanks you,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#20 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Resorts

Property: Hotel Taj Resorts
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Agra
#9 Business Hotel in Agra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taj Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just located 550 meters from Taj mahal at Walking distance. 3 Star luxury hotel 34 centrally air conditioned rooms with modern interior design,a multi-cuisine restaurant(Bon-appetit), roof top swimming pool with the great of taj,rooftop restaurant with live music and two banquet hall of (250-300pax) capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Taj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing