We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good home to stay at.”
Review of Pyrenees Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pyrenees Homestay
Ranked #21 of 207 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I arrived at pyrenees after two days in Delhi, i was overwhelmed with skepsis after being conned a cupole of times. Kamar,the hotel manager took the time to calm me down and explain a little bit about India and how to handle some things. My trip went from a hard night mare into a relaxed feeling at home state. The rooms are clean but old and i like the charm. In winter its cold but i got extra blanket and a heater. The food from the resturant was really good and when ever i had an issue the staff was ready to help. This is the first honest experience for me in India, and for me,security and honesty is a lot more value than a piccolo and a fancy minibar. its not a five star so if this is your style, move on. This is an eazy living home stay with uncopettible atmosphere. Thank you so much for this experience. Im ready for India now.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamal297683, Owner at Pyrenees Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank u very much for the writing review about our budget homestay! you're always most welcome to come and stay with us.... thanks regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed five days in this hotel. It's in a safe and relatively clean neighborhood not too far away from Taj Mahal. The owner is very kind and willind to help you in any needs, all the staff is very kind and the food is also great!The rooms are clean with hot water 24 hours!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaak-Sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamal297683, Owner at Pyrenees Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank u very much for the writing review about our budget homestay! you're always most welcome to come and stay with us....
thanks regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Staying at Pyrenees was worth it, immediately because we were received by a tuk tuk after a long ride from an over night bus and then a train ride. Its nice to have stayed in the non touristy part of Agra because you get a nice escape from all the noise.
The food at the restaurant is good but wouldn't recommend having breakfast or black tea there. But the Pokorras are fantastic and Panner Butter Masala is pretty good.
The owner really helped us out on so many things and he was a pleasure to talk to. He was a genuinely nice person. And we appreciated his flexibility.

Room Tip: Try the Pokoras The Tuk Tuk guys they offer were a bit expensive but we didnt have an opportunity t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamal297683, Owner at Pyrenees Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank u very much for the writing review about our budget homestay! you're always most welcome to come and stay with us....
thanks regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

You don't need to spend a lot on a 5 star resort to feel safe or just enjoy your stay in Agra as you can find it right here! For India this is a gem and is well suited for budget travelers, back-packers and foreign tourists. The local Indian traveler should also feel welcome too as it is run by a local Indian who has experience in various developed countries and hence understands what clients really want without any nonsense.
The staff are friendly, exceptionally helpful and most speak fluent English. The cook has great skill in preparing food the way you want and the small rooftop restaurant can be a great place to meet other travelers over a warm fire, in the cold season.
I was especially pleased with the personal assistance shown by the manager in procuring local taxis, buses and tours as this can be stressful to deal with some touts. The owner is also on a winner as he responds directly to suggestions from this site and others as he studies the comments daily to look for improvements. For those that don't live or work here, this is a rarity not a given,
This is probably the best place we have stayed in India and will highly recommend it to friends or anybody going to see the Taj and local archaeological sites.

Room Tip: Ask for a heater in the cold season as Mr. Booa (owner) purchased some on our request as it was gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiercesnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamal297683, Owner at Pyrenees Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for a very warm feedback. It was easy to be accommodating as these guests were very nice, full of love, affection and good humour. It is uplifting to know that we were of help to them. Thank you very much. Look forward to your next visit to India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

After arriving in Agra by a very uncomfortable 4 hour train ride we arrived at Pyrenees home stay which was welcoming and comfortable. We were offered a few rooms which were good for the price we payed and were upgraded free of charge to a nicer room by the owner, a nice man called Kamal. We have had a quite and enjoyable stay here and they have nice food and good service. I recommend to anyone staying in Agua.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamal297683, Owner at Pyrenees Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for the lovely feedback. Indeed, while it was a short stay!!
thanks regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Before visiting Agra, I booked this hotel by reading reviews in tripadvisor.in. I also paid money in advance for booking as per mail from Owner Mr.Kamal. Well though there were some bad reviews, but considering some good reviews, I decided to go for it. However, it turned out to be a nightmare. We weren't expecting luxury, but we were shocked by how run-down the place was.
First of all the hotel is in the residential part of city and is not easy to locate which makes u suspicious that the owner has converted his own home into a hotel. so in short u get exactly that, a home disguised in the form of a hotel. It was more like cheap guest house cum motel but this place should not called homestay by any mean. I request Tripadvisor to take this review very seriously. Its my request please don’t give any dumb rating to any road side hotels as its we the tourist who suffer the most due to this. We reach so called place by Auto by 11 AM and waited 2 hrs for hot water in the room as no hot water found in the bathroom as promised by owner in website. Imagine December morning and you are getting cold water for bath and other daily activities. Rooms look very dusty and not suitable for children & olderly people. After spending half day in the mess for hot water which we never got we were out for city tour at 2’o clock afternoon. The Auto Driver is good but charges are at high and he only know how to earn from tourist and wasting time in traffic as we don’t have any other choice as I was with my wife and 7 month old son. We were into compromising position in the entire day. At night we got the same old story after getting back from 2 hr messy traffic that the hot water machine is not working, so only cold water in bathroom. The bed sheets were not clean, and the sheets weren't long enough for the bed. Next, the toilet and sink wouldn't work. We had to turn on the water for the toilet to work but if we left it on it would leak everywhere. Also the bathroom smelt like sewage.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sujay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamal297683, Owner at Pyrenees Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Guest, You Claim to be that our homestay is situated in suspicious location itself is very
humorous as RKPURAM is one of the most pauce colony in Taj Nagri area. Can Be Verified from any location you Wish. Secondly In The Same Colony there are two more home stay situated and successful because of paucity of location.
Home Stay Licence is Granted By Govt. Tourist Department of India after Meeting Benchmark Standard to be Home Stay.
Your reviews are surely helpful to us for improving our services but I am amazed that you have not decided in what category you will put our home stay in Home Converted Hotel or Cheap guest house cum Motel , When governing body finds our Homestay totally fit for Same. For the same room we are privileged to have best reviews the very next day. it is not our room which made our room dusty and smell like sewage but your 8 suitcase travelling along with you created problem for you (containing home made food more then 4 weeks old it surely smell like sewage) , me and your family and drivers all the way my humble suggestion. Traffic is not our hand some times due to more tourist traffic problem arises but not our fault. Auto driver also have family and work for money giving you extra time till 9 PM made you charge more.

you mishandled our western toilet and make dirty place because you do not know how to use western toilets. we gave you all the time hot water but you demanded very frequently more and more hot water made us confuse what you are doing with that hot water there are many guest coming in our home stay but your demand for hot water was something very abnormal inspite we gave you all the time bouquet of hot water. You were in compromising position all the day because of 10 Suitcases, low budget this is not our fault but your limitation. You Paid Rs 250/- for advance booking Amount and as demanded against Rs 850/- when our booking amount is minimum Rs 500/- inspite I reserved room for you you seems to be thankless, unplanned, careless family man due to your all act. in future i advice you not take your innocent wife and kid to suffer like hell tourism to any tourist place and talk to me before planning any tourism activity for any help...you will surely be delighted... my mobile no is 9897270516.,... DONT ADVICE TRIPADVISOR ABOUT MY PLACE THEY ARE MORE SMARTER THEN YOU INSPITE TAKE ADVICE HOW TO PLAN HASSLE FREE TOUR IN ADVANCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hattsoff to Mr Kamal the owner of this Homestay..
My train was late because of winters and i reached at station at 11PM and i called him, so he facilitate the pickup facility without delay and late night he also surved dinner..
The locality was good and the family treatment given by kamal. The room was good and in this winters the hot water helped me to survive..
TV facility with breakfast and delisious lunch and dinner was available..
If someone wants to learn the Hospitality, shoud come and observe Kamal a person down to earth..
Thanks from my bottom of my heart..Will see u soon and my future visit to Agra will only at your place.

Room Tip: U can choose the double room with balcony on 1st floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamal297683, Owner at Pyrenees Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for the lovely feedback. It is always a delight to be of help to the travellers. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.4 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 147 in Agra
589 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 147 in Agra
505 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#66 of 147 in Agra
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#38 of 147 in Agra
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zostel Agra
Zostel Agra
#1 of 206 in Agra
523 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ajay International Hotel
Ajay International Hotel
#102 of 207 in Agra
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyrenees Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyrenees Homestay

Address: 22 2 R.K. Puram phase - 2 | Taj Nagari, Agra 2820001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: £7 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pyrenees Homestay 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pyrenees is a family run homestay located in Taj Nagari residential area, just a few minutes walk from the busy Taj Ganj and Taj Mahal (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pyrenees Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing