We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friends Paying Guest House
Ranked #5 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Reviewed 29 January 2014

+ The owners where really nice. The guesthouse is only 15 minutes walk to the Taj Mahal.
- The shower was cold. Besides the Taj Mahal there is nothing much to do around the gueshouse. Also no restaurants closeby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

The guest house is a friendly family run guesthouse, the mother and daughter make yummy food that is clean and nutritious. Our room was clean and little cold due to not having access to direct sunlight. But we didn't spend much time in our room, as the common area was a great place to hang out and meet other travelers to share our experiences of India. Great location, within walking distance to the Taj.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

After a long drive from Delhi, it was nice to find a very homely and interesting home-stay in Agra (especially after the crazyness of Delhi) - and so close to the Taj Mahal.

The family who own the property are lovely, social and very accommodating. The food is lovely too and they are more than happy to help you out with anything. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean.

We loved being able to mingle with the other tourists and swap stories. The Taj is also a very short and interesting walk away.

Thanks again for the lovely stay, gifts, lovely food, help and henna art! We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and may return one day. Thanks so much!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms furtherest from the road are probably the quietest as they have early morning prayer calls goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

The family at this hostel are amazingly helpful and friendly, the food is amazing and the location is 500m from the Taj. The rooms are basic but very clean and it's pretty much all you need for one nights stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaLevin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Only stayed for one night as it's close to Taj Mahal. We are budget travelers, so we've stayed in our share of ordinary rooms. This one is no different. We booked through booking.com, it stated there was a shower in the room, which there was, but with no hot water. We had to go next door if we wanted a hot shower, but the squatter toilet sharing the room stunk. The owner did offer us to shower upstairs, but I was cold and couldn't be bothered.
The rooms are so cold, asked for an extra blanket, but even then, freezing. Had a terrible sleep as the walls are paper thin. Everyone, including the host family decided to get up regularly just to make noise (it seemed)
Wifi worked most of the time, and the host family seemed lovely.
I wouldn't stay here for more than a night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendguesthouse, Owner at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for Feedback friends , This is also Budget Hostel for Backpackers ,
They Booked Standard Room , In standard Room have Cold Shower Inside the Room but Hot Shower upstairs another Toilet , When They Arrive We already Told them . If Any body use Hot shower they always inform us 15 min before because We Turn on Plug of Hot water after they take , But They have No Patience they go before to take shower in the Toilet , Is very Cold Weather In Agra Already . Hot water took time minimum 15 to 20 min . We gave them free Extra blanket too , We know is Cold in Agra Every where not in my hostel only . We Wake up Early because we Serve breakfast in the Morning .

Thank you
Best Regard

Yusuf Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Good experience, nice family run business near taj majal. Wish the rooftop had a better view....It was very foggy when we stayed there so maybe its better when clear. Shared bathrooms in the hallways.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnassau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Rooms are fairly clean for the price. The bathrooms are fairly clean for the price. Location is good. Wi-fi is good. Restaurant is good.

The main thing is that I didnt love the bathroom and rooms, the sheets were'nt crisp and new feeling, which for the price I guess is understandable. But all in all good for the price, and you get to meet lots of travelers staying here in the restaurant which is always nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.4 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#24 of 143 in Agra
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#102 of 143 in Agra
596 reviews
0 mi away
Backpacker Panda Friends - Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zostel Agra
Zostel Agra
#1 of 201 in Agra
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Friends Home Stay Agra
Friends Home Stay Agra
#27 of 209 in Agra
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Paying Guest House

Address: P-6, Taj Nagri | Eastern Gate Taj Mahal, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Price Range: £7 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Friends Paying Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Explore the epitome of love and one of the most visited destinations of the World: Agra, with all home-like comforts and exceptionally customer friendly services..... Backpacker Panda, one of the finest hostels to enjoy and experience the fascinating historical Mughal city, always on its toes to serve you the best! Located just a stone's throw away from jaw-dropping splendid white marble mausoleum, Taj Mahal, one of the seven wonders of world! Just believe! Neat and clean dorms with cozy mattress, a multi cuisine restaurant with finger-lickin' food, well-equipped kitchenette, coffee and tea making facility, fast and reliable Wi-Fi, friendly and immensely helpful crew, clean and hygienic washrooms, safe abode, pure drinking water......Perfect for relaxation after exploring the magnificent city of love! So come, stay and live your backpacking moments! " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Friends Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing