We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sai Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sai Home Stay
Ranked #21 of 192 Agra B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like home!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend. Upon arriving, we received a warm greeting from the owner, Rasheev and nice pot of masala tea and breakfast from Rasheev's wife. Breakfast was included and it was a nice gesture having arrived from an overnight train ride. Our room was upstairs, it looked nicer than the pictures online. Nice size, clean, comfortable, had wifi, hot water worked great and we were very happy with our accommodations. Their staff are wonderful, attentive, and do a great job with any requests you may need.
After breakfast, Rasheev helped us plan our itinerary and sightseeing around Agra. We appreciated his suggestions and he also introduced as to another couple staying at the guesthouse. We ended making plans together as a group and splitting the transport costs. Rasheev had his driver, Amit, take us around. Amit was a great driver and we appreciated his services and professionalism. Although we could have done without the stop at the fabric and stone making factory. I know that the drivers get a commission for any sales at these factories, but having been taken to so many of them during our stay in Jaipur we were not interested in purchasing any textiles or stone work.
Dinner was wonderful. Rasheev's wife cooked up a lovely menu for us and all the other guests. It was a great time to talk and get to know the other guests staying at Sai and her food was delicious! Overall, our stay was wonderful and we always felt welcomed and well-taken cared of. Rasheev and his wife are very approachable and we appreciate their warm hospitality and suggestions during our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms directly upstairs from the common area are spacious, comfortable, and gets wi-fi inside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotuschild7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    68
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
39
78
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Greeted very warmly by mr sai who quickly advised us not to go to the taj at lunchtime which we were going to but to see other sights. So we went to the Agra fort and then watched the sunset from the back of the taj at metab barg. As advised we went to the taj early the next morning to miss the midday heat and crowds. We have 3 lovely meals there. When we arrived mrs sai made us a yummy sandwich. Then in the evening we had an amazing curry!! Followed by pancakes the next morning. The only downfall was that the rooms weren't that cosy but we did spend little time in there. There is a cute seating area outside as well. Overall it is a great location, only 15 mins drive from the taj but out of the chaos of Agra. Everyone there was so helpful and it felt like we were part of tier family!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twopeasinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Reading all the positive reviews we were eager to stay here. However, soon after arrival it became clear things were not what we expected. The rooms were not clean at all as there was a thick layer of dust on everything and all sheets and towels were stained. It was repulsive to use yellow stained linens. They have only been open for two and a half years so one would expect better condition of amenities. The washroom was all rusted and smelled like mildew. What's worse we even observed them refold our used towels and place them back in the room for the next guests. Secondly, even though the son that greeted us was quite nice and welcoming he failed to explain to us how any of the things in the room worked. Crucial things like how to turn on the hot water and AC. Everything has a switch on the outside of the room which needs to be turned on by them. If you do choose to stay here make sure to ask about this or you will waste a lot of time figuring things out. As if that were not enough even after switching all the right things on the hot water was still non existent for most of our stay. In fact the water ran out every time we needed it. ( hot and cold) The electricity was on and off throughout our stay (mostly off) and the only explanation we got came a day before leaving. Due to the lack of power and water we had to move rooms three times in four days! It was great that they tried to get us a room with working water and hydro but a huge disappointment to keep on having to encounter the same problems. Honestly for the price you pay a lot better should be expected. Everything from the lack of communication between themselves and us ( the guests) was very disappointing. If you visit Agra I'm sure you can find better accommodations for the same price. This place was not home like at all. We had told them our flight was at 2:45pm and since we were basically the only guests there we hoped they would let us stay in the room until we got picked up by our taxi but instead we were told by the mother and son to check out by 10 am and wait in the living room. Then while waiting in the living room we were made to feel almost like we were in the way and told by the father that if we had told them our flight was later in the day we could have stayed in the room. The lack of communication was awful, even when asking where the toilet was he replied almost annoyed like we should know. Maybe we would have known if we were given a proper tour of the place to begin with. Unless this place does some major changes we would not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SukiTuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altorf, France
Level Contributor
290 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

SAI Home Stay offers a wonderful stop in Agra. it is located very close to the St Mary Church and the Taj Mahal. Zabojad enjoyed its Christmas there and discovered warmth of its tenant. Simple and adequate for short stays it offers excellent value and great Service. Happy Sharing-Happy Inside keeps a marvellous Memory from its time. Thank you to all

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Fl.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Th family was very welcoming. They helped me to arrange transportation to nearby sites. The hosts; Rajiv and Simi took time from their busy day for conversation and made this a wonderful Home Stay experience.The food was good and served in a lovely courtyard. As a single female traveller I felt safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8teful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
268 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for few hours during our day long trip to Agra and Fatehpur Sikri.
We were picked up by the driver Amit from the Agra Cant Railway Station and then transferred to this Hotel free of charge.The owner Rajeev is very polite and helpful. The rooms are very well maintained and spacious with clean bathrooms.
We didnt have any food at the hotel and spent the day travelling and sight seeing in Agra and Fatehpur Sikri. Our driver Amit was a very polite and intelligent guy who took us everywhere we wanted and gave us a lot of information. He dropped us at the Railway Station again at night and didnt even count the money that I gave him.Overall a nice experience in Agra and a special thanks to Rajeev and Amit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The rooms are very basic but probably with the price range we get what we pay. Hot water wasn't running the whole time and we were there in Jan, which is winter. We ate twice in the guesthouse, 3 people, unch and dinner. Food are mainly vegetarian, but we were charged nearly 4,000 rbs. Very surprised. Owner didn't give us any choice or menu. We ate what they prepared and we paid what they charged us. I find this very dishonest and wouldn't it be nicer to tell us the price or choice of food in before hand? Owner behaved very welcoming so it made his proposal hard to refused, but in the end we felt trapped. Tuktuk driver who picked us up from the hotel waited for us while we were checking in, and owner proposed us to take the same tuktuk to do the sight seeing, however the tuktuk charged us a much higher price and asked us for tips at the end of the day. worst tuktuk driver we had during the 3 weeks in India. I assume that there is some sort of commission between the tuktuk and the owner,. Overall feeling was that we haven't been treated very honestly. Advise for traveler, if you have to stay in this hotel, no need to need there. You can find better food in the restaurant and at least you can choose what you want, and pay what you chose.
Good thing is the staff are quite friendly. they don't communicate very well but they are very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caktupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#36 of 145 in Agra
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#65 of 145 in Agra
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#46 of 145 in Agra
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mohini Home Stay
Mohini Home Stay
#3 of 192 in Agra
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zostel Agra
Zostel Agra
#2 of 183 in Agra
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Home Stay

Property: Sai Home Stay
Address: 1 Saipuram | Opp 106 M I G Shaheed Nagar, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sai Home Stay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sai Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing