We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #89 of 145 Hotels in Agra
England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We loved this hotel and its beautiful grounds. Our room (superior) was very nice, though it a large damp patch on the wall and the toilet seat was broken. The setting of the rooms around small courtyards was very effective.

The staff were friendly, the food was good though the drinks were very expensive. The pool area and service was excellent. It was a shame that we couldn't order food around the pool but the only place that served lunch was in the coffee shop on the first floor of the hotel which we thought was a bit strange. The coffee shop was nice but several drinks were unavailable - only international gin was available and then they had no tonic!! We were surprised that all the restaurants were almost empty on both the evenings that we stayed the, as was the bar, though we thought that this was down to the prices. We ate in the Indian restaurant which was very good but it was empty apart from us.

We would definitely use this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkielassEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Wyndham Grand Agra!

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your feedback. We have shared your feedback regarding room; bathroom and restaurant experience with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed and also assure you of improvements for your future visits to our hotel.


Look forward to welcome at Wyndham Grand in near future.

Thanks and Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    405
    242
    153
    200
See reviews for
543
449
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

What a great place!!! The hotel and grounds are stunning. The service and food are excellent, and the rooms are big enough with good ambiance. Its around a 5 min car ride from the Taj Mahal and Taj Nature walk is nearby. Good food, rustic village theme open air restaurant, Multi-crusine coffee shop and fine dining Pakhtoon!!! Breakfast was good. Huge property with the biggest swimming pool in Agra, kids pool also available.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brar_harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel is very nice and is quite new. In fact there are parts still being built, although we were not subject to any noise or disturbance. It seemed to lack atmosphere and was quite empty. The food is alright, nothing special, but like other 5 star hotels, very pricey. Also very expensive for a beer! Bufffet breakfast is good. The rooms were very impressive and comfortable. Wi-fi was available and we were not charged. The air conditioning was not optimal. The swimming pool is fantastic, and very refreshing after a few hours walk in the sun around the sights. The staff were all very polite and friendly. A credit to the hotel, in fact. The place is immaculetly clean. It is very convenient for the East Gate entrance to the Taj Mahal. On the downside, the hotel could improve by providing a bit more tourist information. Maybe some maps to help people decide how to plan their day could be considered. Whenever I asked about going somewhere, the solution seemed to be to take one of the hotel taxi's or tours, which were expensive. I did hire a taxi and guide for a day through their travel desk, and this service though expensive was really good. There are also Tuk-tuks outside as an alternative, but it would be good to know exactly where you are, and where the sights are, before you leave the hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms nice and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is without doubt the nicest hotel i have ever stayed in. The hotel and grounds are stunning. The service and food are excellent, and the rooms are out of this world. Its around a 10min car ride from the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

What a great place! The hotel is absolutely beautiful and a haven from the bustle of Agra. The staff are wonderful, the grounds are beautiful, with the biggest (and possibly coldest!) swimming pool in Agra, multiple class restaurants and coffee shops.

It is well located for Taj Mahal trip and well worth staying an extra night or 2 for some R&R!

Only complaint would be quality of Wifi which was a bit up and down.

All that said, well worth the money and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stantonrm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The property is huge and very very beautiful.beaakfast was very good and the spread was lavish.the cafe food was not extraordinary but good.the pool though could have been cleaner and also the hotel does not provide swimwear!but its close to taj and I highly recommend the property!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Karan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

the resort is situated ideally very close proximity to taj mahal and agra fort, wyndham resort has beautiful infrastructure, good layout, designed based on rajasthan and mughal palaces, interiors in the rooms are quite good, good heritage feel, staffs are very cordial, the breakfast is excellent covering up different taste, has good garden swimming pool, the lay out is fantastic

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manojkumarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing