We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous chain hotel.... Great value for luxury”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #104 of 145 Hotels in Agra
California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous chain hotel.... Great value for luxury”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Agra was the final leg of our trip
After fabulous stays (experiences) at Taj Rambagh Palace in Jaipur and Leela in Udaipur, we were very disappointed at the Hyatt in Amritsar. The initial thought was to blame the chain company Hyatt. But that is not the reality since we have had wonderful stays in other Hyatts. Also both Taj and Leela are not stand alone hotels though I would say are a cut above the Hyatt's Hiltons or Marriott's and maybe even the Ritz Carlton.
So it was with some trepidation we drove to Wyndham Grand. We were not disappointed at all.
It satisfied its five star billing and more.
Pros
It had excellent value for the money
Luxury in public areas
Large size rooms
Great ambience
Excellent service
Great food for formal dinner. We enjoyed the cuisine from Afghanistan in the formal restaurant. The breakfast buffet that came with the room was exceptional
We had nothing to complain about

Best point the value!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation and service.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Taresh Kapahi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    405
    242
    154
    208
See reviews for
550
450
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

After four weeks living in rooms of max 300 rps per person per night, we decided to treat ourselves during our stay in Agra. The lobby was promising and the rooms met the standard of the lobby. Loved the pool, loved the breakfast. The service was good, although not very different from the rest of Agra: polite, but always money-oriented. There were few tourists, I think only 20% of the rooms were occupied, so I am curious what the hotel would be like in high season.
Would recommend this place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarahfromamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation and service.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Taresh Kapahi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed for 3 days with my family here. And it was really grand; the courtyard, gardens, pool and not to mention the breakfast. The only thing that may tick off people is that the restaurant is pretty expensive; so had to arrange lunch and dinner outside but the breakfast kind of made up for more it. Overall a very good value for money for such a royal experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghavan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation and service.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Taresh Kapahi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Beautiful place to stay in Agra and a quick tonga ride to the Taj Mahal. Food is slightly pricey, but well prepared and delicious. Hakka noodles were great! Loved the rooms, very pleasant and comfortable. Doors are a bit thin and you can hear traffic in the halls, but if you request a quieter area I'm certain the staff would oblige. Loved the poolside bar and restaurant. Great lounging area. Spa was deserted and couldn't get a manicure, but didn't really need one anyways!

Room Tip: Get a second floor room. Main floor windows look right onto walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdtGrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation and service.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests. Next time assure you of a manicure, if you need one.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Taresh Kapahi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Impressive wyndham property in Agra. Rooms are spacious for families. Great architecture, gardens and restaurant. Breakfast was good. It is a perfect location for the early morning Taj visit. Very spacious. The reception lounge is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram-chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation and service.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Taresh Kapahi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed at the Wyndham Grand for one night with my mother and my daughter, we were welcomed with a drink whilst checking in, our room was clean and spacious enough with an extra bed added for us, the staff were polite and helpful. The hotel was almost empty of guests but all amenities kept clean, we enjoyed the pool and spa facilities. Supper buffet style was very expensive with no a la carte option available, and we were able to come back after an early visit to the Taj Mahal for breakfast. No free wi fi !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpsonsabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation and service.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward. We do have a'la carte options available in other restaurant but maybe my team members failed to inform you on that, apologies for that.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Taresh Kapahi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a wonderful luxury hotel at Agra, India. We stayed there last May and were very happy for our choice. The rooms are very well decorated and spacious and the furniture is of high quality. It's very clean for indian standards and the breakfast buffet is rich and tasteful. Alltogether, I believe it's a very good hotel and one of the best we've stayed in northern India.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiNeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation and service.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Taresh Kapahi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,900 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing