We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good Agra option”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #81 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very good Agra option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We wanted to indulge and stay at the Amarvilas but it was booked...for good reason I'd imagine. So we decided for the Wyndham. And it served its purpose.
The room (an executive suite) was great. Very comfortable. Bathrooms, beds, cleanliness, staff....all very good.
Sometimes I think people get carried away with such simple complaints.
As for Agra. It's so much more then just the Taj! I really enjoyed my stay

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank awaywardtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    405
    239
    152
    195
See reviews for
539
446
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

stayed at this hotel two nights in Nov13. Location is very central and street is laced with other big brand hotels .Its hop skip from THE TAJ MAHAL. All in red stone the vast hotel with rooms set in unique clusters like mini fortresses that encases a cute courtyard. The set up makes you feel like a Maharaja
rooms are clean , big and indian maharaja like with all modern amenities.
restaurant very good breakfast both for the indian and expat tourist
service is very polite and warm. room service served me a meal at 2 am without fuss with out of menu offering
design is ole mughal -appeals to the senses! hotel is set on many acres of land and gardens that are well groomed.
drive from delhi to agra i insist . the expressway is a joy ride! take a mere 2.5 hours
attended a wedding in the lawns of the hotel -absolutely enticing!
STAY HERE- its a palace!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a overall wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The exterior of the hotel including the gardens are well maintained. Their Superior rooms are awfully maintained. We paid and upgraded to an Executive Suite and the difference was night and day. Our first room had plumbing issues and was last upgraded in the early 90's, there were cracks on the walls that were plastered and painted over, the smell was damp and moldy. The Executive suite was far more updated and comfortable for our standards for a 5 star hotel, the smell was much better. If you can only afford a Superior room, do yourself a favor and check into the Radisson Blu. The hotel staff was helpful. We later found that the hotel is being renovated and perhaps this will improve the room quality. We had breakfast included in our package and it was a good enough breakfast. We spent 15 nights in India (2 nights at the Wyndham) and stayed only at 5 star hotels, this was not up to 5 star standards.

Room Tip: Get an Executive Suite or do not stay here. For the money you pay, you can do much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imaglobaltrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a overall wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. We have already started working on your feedback and will definately ensure a completely wonderful stay for you & our other guests in the future.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We checked in at midnight, arriving by road from Lucknow. First of all, the security guys insisted we furnish a room number before being allowed to enter the hotel. it took 5 minutes of chatting and persuasion to explain that we would only have a room no after check in. welcome to the main porch-- the security guy in his crude fashion says, "gaadi udhar laga lo". No issues if there is no driver at midnight however a little politeness would have nice. Reception looks surprised to receive us, i begin wondering if our booking exists, fortunately he promptly locates the reservation and checks us in. Cross checked if Room service is available, we are told it is. Now is when our real trouble begins. I call to be told that i should only order from the Indian or pasta section of the 24 hr menu as the rest would not be available. Insist on ordering a Fish and Chips from the 24 hr menu along with some indian food. The food arrived in 30 mins---- stone cold. there were NO CHIPS in the Fish and Chips. No pickles, papad or chutneys--standard accompaniments of Indian cuisine were served and the food came in stainless steel entre dishes--COLD. Finally my husband lost his patience and insisted that the entire meal be taken away, as we were not going to partake of a cold offering and pay for it at 5 star prices. The room service staff attending to us took back the entire meal and called to apologise. To their credit they returned with a piping hot meal 45 minutes later. Thats when we discovered, as mentioned by the servers, that the Kitchen cook/ chef on duty was a rookie and did not know how to make the dishes. Since we had protested and threatened to complain to the senor management the service staff had decided to cook a fresh meal for us and appease us. Dinner was finally over at 2 am. In the interim, we asked for additional cans of Fanta as the mini bar only carried one which we had consumed. To our total shock, room service said they donot have any and only housekeeping could replenish it for us. Considering that we would be paying for the same, it was rather strange that room service would not serve a Fanta. to add to ur woes the airconditioning was at a rather hot level. Attempts to lower the temperature did not lead to any cooling as it seemed that the main plant was off and only the ac blowers were working. While it was cool outside the room itself was rather suffocating. In the absence of a fan and an aircon system throwing out lukewarm air, we spent a rather uneasy night. e were at the check out counter at 1030 am despite our long drive and late night the previous day.The true surprise was that the next morning no one approached us to apologise or attempt to explain the previous nights room service debacle. Since we had paid for our meal and not raised a ruckus over bill settlement, the hotel probably thought it is okay with us and does not need to be looked into. The reception of this rather beautiful property carries an award plaque from Brands Academy and NDTV, proclaiming it to be the Best Luxury Hotel in India. The management needs to go back and look into the meaning of Luxury.

Room Tip: a great loaction and architecturally beautiful rooms, if you dont want to eat or drink here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodie-sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Would just like to Thank You for choosing to stay with us & share your negative feedback with us through tripadvisor.

Of course we are appalled and distressed to read your totally negative feedback. Would apologies again but will just assure you that nothing negative was intentional. The feedback has been taken up with the team and we are working on improving on our negatives to ensure a stay beyond your expectations next time.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night and 1 day.
It is a beautiful hotel with well-maintained gardens.
We got a warm welcome while arrival and escorted to our room with helpful tips. Staff was friendly and helpful. They have play area for the kids which was also quite clean.

Rooms were very nice, spacious and have all the comforts. The décor had traditional touch.
The outside lobby of room have sitting arrangement for 4 to 5 people. This was really nice. One could enjoy sitting there and sipping coffee, alone or in group of 3 to 4 people.

They have also formed a Rajasthani village with Rajasthani food and tradition. We went there early in the evening and it was yet to commence for service so could not experience it.

They have three restaurants inside and we had buffet dinner. The menu was not exciting and not offering much variety. The food taste also did not meet our expectations.
Even the Alacarte menu have very basic things to offer.
Food was upsetting.

The proactive approach to help, which usually we experience in such high rated hotels, was missing.

Overall good experience but could not a very good experience.

Room Tip: Food Was not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParikshitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are anguished that we let you down in certain areas and we will definately work on improving in those areas and thereby ensure a completely wonderful stay for you in the future & our other guests.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights and had a lovely experience. We drove down to Agra and didnt have too much trouble finding the hotel. The property itself is nice and grand. We had our room overlooking the pool which was a plus. I know this could be a privacy issue for some but we loved the view. The pool has a nice bar setting in it which was not too great. The food was good and we loved it. The price was a bit much but then 5 star dining doesnt come cheap. The Taj was a good Kilometer away. One suggestion for the hotel is to include free tours to the Taj like Radisson did. Although Radisson is a bit closer to Taj than Wyndham.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbhinavPachauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a overall wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. We will definately work on improving on our negatives and thereby ensuring a completely wonderful stay for you & our other guests.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night, it's a very plush hotel in beautiful gardens, the rooms have a very traditional feel to them.
The hotel on arrival is very impressive and grand, as well as welcoming. The staff are so friendly, polite and cannot do enough to help.

We only ate at the cafe, but the food was superb.

The room itself was really nice, extremely comfortable beds, tea coffee making facilities, cable tv, wifi is chargeable. The decor is very traditional, and in some places could do with being touched up, certainly the bathroom which felt a bit too dates but more so rough around the edges.

The rooms are set outside the main building in small annexes grouped together, each set has it own big wood doors that you walk through in to a smaller garden area, this was a great touch and really lovely environment,

Would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to know that you had a overall wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. We will definately work on improving on our negatives and thereby ensuring a completely wonderful stay in the future for you & our other guests.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing