We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand property but poor service and food was too pricey”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #110 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Wyndham Grand is a well laid out and grand property in the Fatehbad area of Agra. The hotel is well located at a 2 km distance from the Taj Mahal and is a sprawling property complete with fountains, mughal decor and a large pool with a bar. While the hotel has a royal and grand feel and tasteful decor it is badly let down by its poor service and average food that is exorbitantly priced. I just visited the hotel during the independence day weekend with my husband, infant daughter and 2 friends and while we had no complaints with our rooms, we were disappointed with the food and service. Vegetarian lunch (1 dal, 1 mixed veg and raita) for 4 people was for Rs 3366 and it wasn't even appetizing. After that, we decided against having any other paid meals at the hotel. The hotel is not really child friendly - they did not have high chairs for infants. The service was ordinary - housekeeping was difficult to reach and one had to request the reception to send someone for housekeeping requests. Overall the ambience and feel is of a luxury hotel but food and service need to be improved.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manasi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Being the land of the Taj Mahal, Agra sees tremendous footfall all through the year, and consequently boasts of all kinds of accommodation options - from the shady to the budget-friendly to super luxury ones. Wyndham Grand tries to fit into the latter category while staying slightly easier on the pocket than other Luxury Hotels. The result is a Grand hotel with some genuinely impressive sections and beautiful decors, but usually swarming with lot more crowds than what the facilities are meant to effortlessly withstand. While that should take nothing away from the Hotel, which has been done up beautifully, but it can be a bit of a buzz kill. For eg they have a huge full sized pool, but you might not find any nook or corner which isn't already occupied. Similarly the beautiful halls are done magnificently with lovely roofs and royal looking chairs, but you might have to wait for one of the chairs to be vacated ebfore you pounce on it and sit to admire the wonders. This somewhat quells the aesthetic beauty of the place. But aside from that its an excellent property. The rooms as well as halls are magnificent and have subtle inspirations from Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort. The Chandeliers are magnificent and the dining hall is also very well done. All things considered - I would still give this a 5 star - though they should make provisions to cater to more crowds in a classy way.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms on the upper level rather than the lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GautamKaviraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We took 2 rooms at the hotel for a night only as it was long weekend .. The hotel is royal .. Food is awesome .. Staff helpful... We needed assistance in shifting the extra bad from room to another plus few addition things 11.30 at night and it was done without grudge .. The housekeeping staff should be complimented .. Will love to come back again for more nights ...
The location is perfect too ... Right on the mall road ...

Stayed: August 2014
Thank pallavikhannaprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Recently stayed with my friends for a night.Filthy,unhygienic toilets with poor quality of toiletries.The beds are very uncomfortable.Room service and dining is useless.Quality of food is very bad.Will not recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: Will not recommend at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tulika3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Completely dissapointed with the service, facilities and maintenance of the property.
No value for Money...
2-3 hours of waiting is a common phenomenon for check - in, food, housekeeping, language.
We had a good time courtesy good company...
But would not recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chirmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Won't keep it too long, I came here with 3 of my friends and we had booked 2 rooms. As soon as we entered the property, our first reaction was that it looks really nice and was a great choice. I regret those words completely.

The food was pathetic: In spite of us having breakfast and dinner included, we decided to skip both meals on the second day of our trip. The chefs don't know what a ham and cheese omlette is, the fish tasted old and the variety in the buffet is far less than what is expected out of a five star.

In a 5 star you expect the spa services like Jacuzzi and steam sauna to be free. Guess what, it's a whopping 1500 at this place.

We were utterly dissatisfied and would recommend people to go in for the ITC mughal or jaypee.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kartikrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Only book this hotel if you are sure you will be visiting it. God Forbid if you try to cancel the booking one should forget that he / she will be getting a refund. I made a booking (Confirmation No - 140516) which because of some personal issues was cancelled and I was promised a full refund within a week. It has now been a month and have not heard back from them. Irony is when I am dropping them a mail they are even not taking pains to acknowledge it. I can just imagine how customer oriented they are and just cursing myself that I made such a bad decision to spend my anniversary at such a pathetic place where people are full of unprofessionalism.

Would sincerely request everyone to think twice before making a booking and if in case you are even 1% unsure you will not be visiting the place please look for alternatives.

Kind Regards,
Shazin

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SiiddS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
3.6 mi away
The Grand Imperial, Agra
1.7 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £52 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing