We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of its kind !!!”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #106 of 143 Hotels in Agra
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of its kind !!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We visited this place in August. The property is structurally magnificent. The first thing you notice as you enter is the warmth of the service team. Very well groomed staff - they made our stay memorable. I strongly recommend this property. Rooms have the concept of villas, different from common 5 star building hotels, gives you a feel like Palace.

Room Tip: Do try their scrumptious chicken sausages in Breakfast Buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akshay910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    406
    242
    155
    214
See reviews for
556
451
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wyndham Grand is a nice hotel but their in room service prices are nonsensically high. The pricing is illogical, unrealistic. They charge INR 700 for a simple plate of steamed rice and plain daal. I do not understand why would a below average butter chicken cost INR 1200. We were so disgusted with it that we had to go out to have some really nice food!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Ena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

No doubt, property is really good. Cozy rooms with garden and pool view. They really need to improve their service, specially @ breakfast time. @ breakfast buffet was over packed, too loud, really slow service but quality of food was nice.

Room Tip: Basic and executive room is almost same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitinsachdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The property is spectacular. One of the best I have seen. Service however was very poor. We were there on the independence day weekend and it seemed they were just not able to handle the crowds. At the time of check out, every single person around us was complaining about poor service.
We ate at the coffee shop, highly over priced. One can eat at a Bombay 5 star hotel for those prices. The area serving breakfast was full and there was a 25 minute wait. They refused to open up any other areas so we were forced to take our food and sit at tables on their lawn in the summer heat. To add insult to injury, breakfast buffet was extremely disappointing.
The hotel offers a free guide to the Taj Mahal. We told the reception desk the night before we wanted to go and instead of making note as a hotel of this calibre should do, he asked us to remind him the next morning. Despite being a bit shocked, we did and still when we were ready to leave, there was no guide. We were told to inform the travel desk and they would see if they could manage one. Only after my husband gave them a piece of his mind did they arrange one but it took 45 minutes and we were unnecessarily delayed.
The rooms were lovely but the bathrooms are nothing to write home about. The toiletries were very limited. Location of this property is superb but I would still choose an ITC or Taj over this the next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGW_1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Wyndham Grand is a well laid out and grand property in the Fatehbad area of Agra. The hotel is well located at a 2 km distance from the Taj Mahal and is a sprawling property complete with fountains, mughal decor and a large pool with a bar. While the hotel has a royal and grand feel and tasteful decor it is badly let down by its poor service and average food that is exorbitantly priced. I just visited the hotel during the independence day weekend with my husband, infant daughter and 2 friends and while we had no complaints with our rooms, we were disappointed with the food and service. Vegetarian lunch (1 dal, 1 mixed veg and raita) for 4 people was for Rs 3366 and it wasn't even appetizing. After that, we decided against having any other paid meals at the hotel. The hotel is not really child friendly - they did not have high chairs for infants. The service was ordinary - housekeeping was difficult to reach and one had to request the reception to send someone for housekeeping requests. Overall the ambience and feel is of a luxury hotel but food and service need to be improved.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manasi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Being the land of the Taj Mahal, Agra sees tremendous footfall all through the year, and consequently boasts of all kinds of accommodation options - from the shady to the budget-friendly to super luxury ones. Wyndham Grand tries to fit into the latter category while staying slightly easier on the pocket than other Luxury Hotels. The result is a Grand hotel with some genuinely impressive sections and beautiful decors, but usually swarming with lot more crowds than what the facilities are meant to effortlessly withstand. While that should take nothing away from the Hotel, which has been done up beautifully, but it can be a bit of a buzz kill. For eg they have a huge full sized pool, but you might not find any nook or corner which isn't already occupied. Similarly the beautiful halls are done magnificently with lovely roofs and royal looking chairs, but you might have to wait for one of the chairs to be vacated ebfore you pounce on it and sit to admire the wonders. This somewhat quells the aesthetic beauty of the place. But aside from that its an excellent property. The rooms as well as halls are magnificent and have subtle inspirations from Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort. The Chandeliers are magnificent and the dining hall is also very well done. All things considered - I would still give this a 5 star - though they should make provisions to cater to more crowds in a classy way.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms on the upper level rather than the lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GautamKaviraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We took 2 rooms at the hotel for a night only as it was long weekend .. The hotel is royal .. Food is awesome .. Staff helpful... We needed assistance in shifting the extra bad from room to another plus few addition things 11.30 at night and it was done without grudge .. The housekeeping staff should be complimented .. Will love to come back again for more nights ...
The location is perfect too ... Right on the mall road ...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pallavikhannaprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 143 in Agra
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing