We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have my recommendation...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ray of Maya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ray of Maya Hotel
Ranked #6 of 192 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have my recommendation...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I was there one night only... Really nice and clean hotel...5 mins to Taj Mahal. Both of us had a stomach problem and Mrs. owner really helped to us - give a treatments, call a doctor and we could stay at room to evening when our train came back to Delhi - everything for free...THANKS a lot to you once more...
There was only one problem (it isn`t a hotel problem)...There was a wedding very close to hotel :) Music, dance, drums...to 6AM :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    156
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
38
161
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lelystad. the Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

On my trip to Agra I stayed one night in the Ray of Maya in Agra, an Oasis of Hygiene in India.
Beautiful showers, hot water, very clean rooms, Taj Mahal visible from two rooms and from the roof terrace. Five star accomodation for a reasonable 2000 Rupees for a single room, 2800 Rupees for a double room with Taj Mahal View. PHG

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valduggia, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at Ray of Maya Hotel one night in January 2012 and I recommend it to everyone who wants to visit Taj Mahal.Agra is not a nice town and the hotels here are quite expensive and often their standard doesnt corresponds to the price you pay.
Ray of Maya Hotel is at a walking distance(five minutes) from the entrance of Taj Mahal.It is a new brand building a few meters away from the noisy road and this will allow you to sleep very quietly.The rooms are wide,modern and very clean ,the bathrooms have shower pannels or steam cabin.The restaurant on the roof was under construction so we had to go to the one of the Hotel Maya (belonging to the same owner) on the opposite side of the road.We ate on a very nice terrace,the food was good and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I would like to recommend the Ray of Maya hotel in Agra. As you probably know it’s not easy to find a good hotel in decent prices in Agra.
But Ray of Maya is a good example that everything can be done only if you want. The hotel is located on the other side of the road in which the original Maya hotel (same management) is located. This time they placed it few buildings behind, so the street noise is not disturbing at all. The windows are also double glazed. The room is decorated in western style, very comfortable, bath very clean and new. (only probelm was the running water that was yellow/brown - hope this was fixed already).
WI-FI was good (free). Even cable LCD TV.
The stuff were very friendly to us. Although they have their own a bit expensive restaurant and asked us to go there, when we decided to go another place, they didn’t push. Same for Agra tours.
We had many hours after checkout time to wait for the train. They let us stay in their comfortable office as much as we like and even offered a no cost bad for my father to sleep at noon time.
Bottom line – very good experience. Price is reasonable
Notes: there were few mosquitoes in the room (not many), make sure you have some anti mosquitoes cream with you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErezR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We originally booked with the Maya Hotel, but upgraded to Ray of Maya in order to have wifi. Unfortunately, we were never able to access wifi during our two night stay. But that was only the start of our problems. Our room was large and the seemingly state-the-art shower looked impressive. But the water in the shower was yellow (yuck!) and the temperature fluctuated dangerously from cold to steaming hot -- we really had to be careful not to get burned.

The location is far from great, across a very busy street from the Maya Hotel where the restaurant is. Plus the Ray of Maya sits back from the road, and you have to walk on an unpaved path to get back there. We are really very tolerant, but we couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshAgra_India, Owner at Ray of Maya Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Hi, thanks for the review. We appreciate the time you took out of your schedule to write this review here.
Let me address the problems you have posted here.
The wifi was not working as the area's telephone network had gone down and while a service call had been placed, nobody had turned up by the time you left.

Regarding the problems you faced with the water supply in the bath, we can assure you that the problem was only temporary and we are already in the process of taking care of that.

We agree that the road leading to the hotel is pretty busy, but that is something you will experience almost everywhere in North India. Besides, wouldn't you agree that being located so close to the Taj Mahal (5 minutes walk) offsets this problem? Regarding the problem of the hotel being set back from the road, it is precisely because of the busy road. We don't want our guests disturbed by the noise of the traffic passing through that road, which is why we have taken additional care in building the Ray of Maya, like double walls and noise-isolating windows.
Thanks
Eeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
169 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Ray of Maya just for one night but it was very comfortable and well decorated. It was generally clean (apart from a few squashed bugs on the wall) and there was hot water in the shower though the temperature varied wildly and was sometimes dangerously hot. Be careful.

Location is great, not far at all from the Taj Mahal and close to the main street of restaurants. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and there is good free wifi in the rooms.

The hotel is located just a bit away from the main road and other Maya hotel which means peace and quiet for a good night sleep. There are plenty of taxis and rickshaws outside waiting to take you anywhere.

I would suggest avoiding the Maya restaurant over the road. Our tour led us there for the first lunch and though the food was decent it was very overpriced. Well over 1000 rupees for a simple lunch for 2 people was over double what we were paying elsewhere.

If you have time take a tour to Fatepur-Sikri. It's about an hours ride outside of Agra but well worth it. An amazing place.

Room Tip: Had the ground floor room which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

When we find this hotel we did not wanted to leave it. First night I stayed at the Maya Hotel and I did not like so we moved to Ray of Maya and it was great. Western rooms with western bathrooms - had the best shower of my whole stay in India while at the Ray of Maya. The location is perfect. There are many restaurants around and the place is quite - you will not listen horns! LOVED IT! Staff is great - very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#20 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray of Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray of Maya Hotel

Property: Ray of Maya Hotel
Address: Fatehabad Road | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ray of Maya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have opposite 2 restaurants at our second property Maya Hotel& Restaurant: One A/C and one roof terrace restaurant. We do have stairs. We do have at Ray of Maya Property: 2 suite rooms: one super deluxe suite with a steam bath cabin and balcony 3200-INR, one super deluxe suite with a steam bath and balcony 4000-INR. We do allow pets and love children. We have limited parking space in front of hotel. We offer airport and railway pick up/drop service. Hotel has free high speed WiFi. At request we serve your meals and orders at your room or on our roof terrace with view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ray of Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing