We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a little rough around the edges.”
Review of Ray of Maya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ray of Maya Hotel
Ranked #7 of 195 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, a little rough around the edges.”
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

First impressions aren't great as you go up a muddy path to what looks like a house. It is about 1km from the Taj So an easy to walk, used hostel world to book and worked fine. Room 8 had a view of the top of the taj although much more smog than my last trip 8 years ago. Wi fi didnt extend to my room and no real lobby to sit and use. The restraunt is at the owners other hotel (100m away) had to pay cash and although our first meal was at our hotel got the feeling the staff weren't too keen to shuttle the food back and forth. Good location, reasonable value they just need to pay a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watto-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    157
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
38
162
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Agra is not an easy city to find reasonabe accommodation in. Every hotel seems overpriced and location is very important, as you wouldn't want Agra's awful traffic to slow down your itinerary. All this being considered, Ray of Maya turned out to be quite a good place to stay.

Pros: Location is fabulous. Very close (walking distance) to the Taj Mahal which makes it easy to go for an early morning stroll to the Taj.
Extremely clean, well furnished rooms. Nice bathrooms with a fancy showerhead. Hot water available.

Cons: Strange blue lighting in the rooms takes a little getting used to.
Approach to the hotel is via a mud road a little away from the main road. (may be quite scary for solo women travellers at night)
Parking is a bit cumbersome, there being limited space since it is on a crowded road.
Food (served at Maya restaurant opposite) is average.

Consensus: Although I have listed more cons than pros, good rooms and bathrooms make it a decent option in a place like Agra.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crypticcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for just one night in my stay in Agra, but overall I was very pleased with the cleanliness, location, and service that this hotel provided. Felt very comfortable with the security and sanitation of the place as well. I would definitely recommend it to someone who is looking for an inexpensive yet a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matsho045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed for 2 nights, and found it to be one of the best rooms I had in India, and definitely with good value for money. My room has the comforts of a upper middle or luxury room, good shower, with large stream of water, good tv, airco, decent internet, back-up generator, kind of a view even, while the prices are upper budget. The location, about 1 km for the Taj, is OK, albeit it isn't a great area for restaurants. As you see in other reviews, the hotel is in a backyard, and a bit hard to find, but that makes the small luxuries all the more pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodeskaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed one night and enjoyed the room alot, which had some luxerious and well-thought interieur like a supermodern shower, a bed embedded very nicely in the corner, a working desk and a minifridge for cooling your own water bottles. Probably the best-equipped room we had so far in India. And also very clean.

The location in a dirty backyard of a mainstreet is not so cool. But at least the Taj is in good walking distance.



  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AngryUbuntuNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshAgra_India, Owner at Ray of Maya Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Greetings and thanks for taking time to post this review. We are glad that you liked the services provided by our hotel and heartily thank you for the favorable review of the hotel.
We acknowledge the issue related to the pathway to the hotel being dirty but that issue arises due to some unfriendly neighbors, including a rival hotel on the main road, who throw their waste out on the pathway to disrupt our business. The fact that the hotel is located right behind the local police camp doesn't help either as the police too, throw their waste on this street. This issue has been raised by us several times, but we are yet to see any cooperation from them. We have also filed a complaint with the municipal authorities and hopefully, they will take the necessary action soon.
Ray of Maya
Owner
Eeva Schult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is pretty good.The room was decently sized and the bathroom was clean. The location is great, it just takes 5 minutes to walk to Taj. The hotel is located in one of the better localities of Agra, so the surroundings were cleaner compared to the other parts of the city.
The staff is helpful although they were strangely unable to book our night ticket for the Taj (for which I had to personally go to the ASI office). Also, I could not pay for the food by card although I could pay for the room by card. This was a little inconvenient.
There was also a faint smell of residual cigarette smoke in the room.
Overall, however it was a good experience.
Mr Khan, who drove us to Fatehpur Sikri also helped us a great deal in dealing with the local touts there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arahant7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshAgra_India, Owner at Ray of Maya Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Greetings and thanks for taking time to post this review. We are glad that you liked the services provided by our hotel and heartily thank you for the favorable review of the hotel.
Our employee did go to the ASI office, taking your passport with him, but the officer issuing the tickets refused to handover the ticket without seeing a proper ID of the employee, which he did not have with him at that time. The bureaucracy in India can be very intimidating to simple folk like him. We hope you understand.
Regarding the food, The Maya Restaurant is a separate identity in terms of bill payments and since Ray of Maya is a separate business as far as billing and accounts are concerned, the food bills could not be paid with card. The same had been explained to you at the time of bill payment too.
Ray of Maya
Owner
Eeva Schult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

There are two properties under the same management, we stayed at the new building off the main road. The access to this property is not great. But rooms and bathrooms were great - wonderful ambience and clean bathrooms were the high points. But don't take this place for Taj View!

Room Tip: Don't over play for Taj view rooms, it is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray of Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray of Maya Hotel

Property: Ray of Maya Hotel
Address: Fatehabad Road | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ray of Maya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have opposite 2 restaurants at our second property Maya Hotel& Restaurant: One A/C and one roof terrace restaurant. We do have stairs. We do have at Ray of Maya Property: 2 suite rooms: one super deluxe suite with a steam bath cabin and balcony 3200-INR, one super deluxe suite with a steam bath and balcony 4000-INR. We do allow pets and love children. We have limited parking space in front of hotel. We offer airport and railway pick up/drop service. Hotel has free high speed WiFi. At request we serve your meals and orders at your room or on our roof terrace with view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ray of Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing