We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service :-)”
Review of Ray of Maya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ray of Maya Hotel
Ranked #7 of 207 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The room was very clean and well furnished, definitely one of the nicest (although also one of the most expensive - you get what you pay for!) in India. Eeva was fantastic throughout my stay. I had a nightmare of a time as my luggage had not arrived when I did in India, Eeva was amazing, constantly on the phone to people at the airline and making me tea, she did everything she could to help and to make me feel better. The location is also perfect for seeing the Taj, only a 5 minute walk. I had no problem with the wifi in the rooms. Eeva was also very helpful booking a bus for me to jaipur and recommending somewhere for me to stay. I could not thank her enough for all her help and support.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadsAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

First impressions aren't great as you go up a muddy path to what looks like a house. It is about 1km from the Taj So an easy to walk, used hostel world to book and worked fine. Room 8 had a view of the top of the taj although much more smog than my last trip 8 years ago. Wi fi didnt extend to my room and no real lobby to sit and use. The restraunt is at the owners other hotel (100m away) had to pay cash and although our first meal was at our hotel got the feeling the staff weren't too keen to shuttle the food back and forth. Good location, reasonable value they just need to pay a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watto-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Agra is not an easy city to find reasonabe accommodation in. Every hotel seems overpriced and location is very important, as you wouldn't want Agra's awful traffic to slow down your itinerary. All this being considered, Ray of Maya turned out to be quite a good place to stay.

Pros: Location is fabulous. Very close (walking distance) to the Taj Mahal which makes it easy to go for an early morning stroll to the Taj.
Extremely clean, well furnished rooms. Nice bathrooms with a fancy showerhead. Hot water available.

Cons: Strange blue lighting in the rooms takes a little getting used to.
Approach to the hotel is via a mud road a little away from the main road. (may be quite scary for solo women travellers at night)
Parking is a bit cumbersome, there being limited space since it is on a crowded road.
Food (served at Maya restaurant opposite) is average.

Consensus: Although I have listed more cons than pros, good rooms and bathrooms make it a decent option in a place like Agra.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crypticcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for just one night in my stay in Agra, but overall I was very pleased with the cleanliness, location, and service that this hotel provided. Felt very comfortable with the security and sanitation of the place as well. I would definitely recommend it to someone who is looking for an inexpensive yet a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matsho045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed for 2 nights, and found it to be one of the best rooms I had in India, and definitely with good value for money. My room has the comforts of a upper middle or luxury room, good shower, with large stream of water, good tv, airco, decent internet, back-up generator, kind of a view even, while the prices are upper budget. The location, about 1 km for the Taj, is OK, albeit it isn't a great area for restaurants. As you see in other reviews, the hotel is in a backyard, and a bit hard to find, but that makes the small luxuries all the more pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodeskaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed one night and enjoyed the room alot, which had some luxerious and well-thought interieur like a supermodern shower, a bed embedded very nicely in the corner, a working desk and a minifridge for cooling your own water bottles. Probably the best-equipped room we had so far in India. And also very clean.

The location in a dirty backyard of a mainstreet is not so cool. But at least the Taj is in good walking distance.



  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AngryUbuntuNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshAgra_India, Owner at Ray of Maya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Greetings and thanks for taking time to post this review. We are glad that you liked the services provided by our hotel and heartily thank you for the favorable review of the hotel.
We acknowledge the issue related to the pathway to the hotel being dirty but that issue arises due to some unfriendly neighbors, including a rival hotel on the main road, who throw their waste out on the pathway to disrupt our business. The fact that the hotel is located right behind the local police camp doesn't help either as the police too, throw their waste on this street. This issue has been raised by us several times, but we are yet to see any cooperation from them. We have also filed a complaint with the municipal authorities and hopefully, they will take the necessary action soon.
Ray of Maya
Owner
Eeva Schult

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is pretty good.The room was decently sized and the bathroom was clean. The location is great, it just takes 5 minutes to walk to Taj. The hotel is located in one of the better localities of Agra, so the surroundings were cleaner compared to the other parts of the city.
The staff is helpful although they were strangely unable to book our night ticket for the Taj (for which I had to personally go to the ASI office). Also, I could not pay for the food by card although I could pay for the room by card. This was a little inconvenient.
There was also a faint smell of residual cigarette smoke in the room.
Overall, however it was a good experience.
Mr Khan, who drove us to Fatehpur Sikri also helped us a great deal in dealing with the local touts there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arahant7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshAgra_India, Owner at Ray of Maya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Greetings and thanks for taking time to post this review. We are glad that you liked the services provided by our hotel and heartily thank you for the favorable review of the hotel.
Our employee did go to the ASI office, taking your passport with him, but the officer issuing the tickets refused to handover the ticket without seeing a proper ID of the employee, which he did not have with him at that time. The bureaucracy in India can be very intimidating to simple folk like him. We hope you understand.
Regarding the food, The Maya Restaurant is a separate identity in terms of bill payments and since Ray of Maya is a separate business as far as billing and accounts are concerned, the food bills could not be paid with card. The same had been explained to you at the time of bill payment too.
Ray of Maya
Owner
Eeva Schult

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 147 in Agra
505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#67 of 147 in Agra
86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 147 in Agra
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.3 mi away
Parador, A Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 147 in Agra
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray of Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray of Maya Hotel

Address: Fatehabad Road | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: £12 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ray of Maya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have opposite 2 restaurants at our second property Maya Hotel& Restaurant: One A/C and one roof terrace restaurant. We do have stairs. We do have at Ray of Maya Property: 2 suite rooms: one super deluxe suite with a steam bath cabin and balcony 3200-INR, one super deluxe suite with a steam bath and balcony 4000-INR. We do allow pets and love children. We have limited parking space in front of hotel. We offer airport and railway pick up/drop service. Hotel has free high speed WiFi. At request we serve your meals and orders at your room or on our roof terrace with view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ray of Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing