We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect Location, Superb Hospitality and Excellent Value””
Review of Ray of Maya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ray of Maya Hotel
Ranked #7 of 197 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Perfect Location, Superb Hospitality and Excellent Value””
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A perfectly priced hotel in such an awesome location. The boutique hotel is so clean. Beautiful views of the Taj from the Terrace.10 minutes from the hotel you will be rewarded with a gorgeous view of Taj. The ever smiling staff and The staff (NAVIN and all) was friendly and ready to help. We had tea together, shared fruits and stories during the hottest parts of the day. & budget prices makes this a perfect place. This is the place I am staying everytime I go to Agra. The only gripe... had a very comfortable stay. food excellent, good value for money.our experience at this hotel has been quite good, and I'll certainly reccommend it to every travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    158
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
38
162
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Such a very beautiful place near Taj Mahal and over view on roof top. Great hospitality and owner of this property is very king. He is running another unit Maya Hotel and Restaurant, Excellent food quality. Really I Recommended this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 51Sanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a really nice hotel, with cleans and confortable and good size rooms.
Greeting was although good.
Taj Mahal view is partial.
For breakfast or restaurant you have to go to the maya s hotel that is just in front of this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itakoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The room is very nice. Interior was cute.
Location was very near to TAJMAHAL .
We can use hot shower.
The staff of hotel was very kind and friendly.
I stayed here very comfortable.
MAYA restaurant is very delicious.
Tandoori chicken was good!
We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aruco0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Location: incredibly near the Taj Mahal, Room: big and clean, Personnel: nice and welcoming
A Plus: free pickup from the train station.
Good value by European standard. Breakfast: OK (Across the road)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place reviews well on most sites. I'm not sure why to be honest. The location is not fantastic on my reckoning and there are other factors that cause me to write this largely negative review.

First and foremost, it is unnacceptable that a hotel at this price in India does not have any water running out of the shower. One sometimes gets a warning about the sporadic hot water, but no water at all! I think not. Not good enough Ray of Maya.

The biggest negative for me was the pack of touts that wait outside the hotel. They can never be avoided and stalk you as you leave the hotel, which is 100m from the road. It's a real turn-off, even for those like me that is very familiar with Asian hassle of this sort. But here, the feeling of being watched and 'teamed' as soon as you exit the hotel is tiresome.

My room was basic. Hard beds and old TV. Compared to other places I stayed in India I actually thought this hotel was certainly over-priced.

The single redemming feature I guess is that from the higher rooms facing the Taj, one can just glimpse the tops of the domes of the Taj. There is a rooftop terrace but when i went up at dawn to access it, it was locked...

All in all, for me at least, this was a hotel to forget.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank balchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fin15land, Owner at Ray of Maya Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear balchino,
thank you taking time for your review

Ray of Maya Retreat is 3 years old building with 24/7 running water. Due a technical problem the hot water supply was interrupted. The intercom telephone can be used inside the room to get immediate help. The mattresses are 8 inch latex, which are soft, the guests praise the sleeping quality.
All rooms are having soundproof windows those keep the noise out of the room., deluxe bathrooms, a LCD screen TV and Tata Sky connection to see English channels and a free of cost Wi-Fi Internet connection.
Our interest is to improve the services contiously.
Eeva Schult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Naveen was very helpful and gave me and my friend a great price on a wonderful room. Good view of the Taj Mahal from the roof and can enjoy a beer there. Staff even went to store and bought us a few beers. Would recommend for anyone visiting Agra!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 144 in Agra
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 144 in Agra
1,534 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 144 in Agra
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray of Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray of Maya Hotel

Property: Ray of Maya Hotel
Address: Fatehabad Road | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ray of Maya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have opposite 2 restaurants at our second property Maya Hotel& Restaurant: One A/C and one roof terrace restaurant. We do have stairs. We do have at Ray of Maya Property: 2 suite rooms: one super deluxe suite with a steam bath cabin and balcony 3200-INR, one super deluxe suite with a steam bath and balcony 4000-INR. We do allow pets and love children. We have limited parking space in front of hotel. We offer airport and railway pick up/drop service. Hotel has free high speed WiFi. At request we serve your meals and orders at your room or on our roof terrace with view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ray of Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing